Breach of Contract is not a Tort
It Doesn’t Pay to Over Charge a Suit Against an Insurer
Post 5116
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/geM76MRe, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gRWJRk9u and at https://lnkd.in/gVfRpfA5, and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 5100 posts.
In Kole Westwood and Keeley Westwood v. The Travelers Home And Marine Insurance Company and Aaron Harrigfeld, No. 2:24-cv-00719-JNP-DBP, United States District Court, D. Utah (June 30, 2025) the case against the engineer failed completely and the case against Travelers was limited to the claim that the insurance contract was breached.
CASE BACKGROUND
Plaintiffs Kole and Keeley Westwood are homeowners in Utah whose home was damaged in a severe winter storm. The roof buckled under the weight of snow and ice, causing water damage to the house.
Their insurer, Travelers, denied their claim based on an engineering inspection report prepared by Defendant Aaron Harrigfeld. The Westwoods allege that the report contained false representations about the history and condition of their roof.
LEGAL CLAIMS
The Westwoods filed a lawsuit seeking a judgment for the amount needed to restore their house to its pre-storm condition, along with various damages. Their complaint included two contract claims and three tort claims: negligent misrepresentation, conspiracy to commit fraud, and fraud. Mr. Harrigfeld moved to dismiss the three tort claims against him, and Travelers moved for judgment on the pleadings as to those same three claims.
COURT’S DECISION
The court granted both motions, dismissing the tort claims against Mr. Harrigfeld and Travelers. The court found that no party relied on the misrepresentations in Mr. Harrigfeld’s report, which is a necessary element for claims of negligent misrepresentation and fraud. The court also noted that the dispute is fundamentally about an alleged breach of contract, not tort misrepresentation.
REMAINING CLAIMS
All claims against Mr. Harrigfeld were dismissed, and Travelers prevailed on the tort claims against it. Only the contract claims against Travelers remain live.
ANALYSIS
Utah courts consider a claim for intentional misrepresentation as essentially a claim for fraud. As the court saw it, all theories suffer from a fatal defect: no one who received Mr. Harrigfeld’s flawed report – not Travelers, not the Westwoods – relied on the misrepresentations in that report. That is, no one took the misrepresentations about preexisting damage to be true and then suffered harm as a result of taking those misrepresentations as true.
To understand this defect, consider the elements of negligent misrepresentation and fraud. Under Utah law, negligent misrepresentation occurs when:
(1) a party carelessly or negligently makes a false representation expecting the other party to rely and act thereon,
(2) the [other party] actually relies on the statement, and
(3) [the other party] suffers a loss as a result of that reliance.
In addition, fraud requires a plaintiff to show:
(1) that a representation was made
(2) concerning a presently existing material fact
(3) which was false and
(4) which the representor either (a) knew to be false or (b) made recklessly, . . .
(5) for the purpose of inducing the other party to act upon it and
(6) that the other party, acting reasonably and in ignorance of its falsity,
(7) did in fact rely upon it
(8) and was thereby induced to act
(9) to that party’s injury and damage.
The parties’ dispute here concerns Travelers’ purported obligation to pay the Westwoods’ claim – a subject matter already covered by their insurance contract laying out the conditions under which Travelers is and is not obligated to pay a claim. The suit was limited to the claim that Travelers breached its contract.
ZALMA OPINION
Whether an insurer owes a claim under an insurance policy is a question of contract, not tort, not fraud, only contract terms. The Westwoods took a simple contract suit and tried to expand it into a tort claim, a fraud claim, but did not have the facts to support the tort claims. If their loss is covered by the Travelers policy they will be paid and if not, their attempt to make it a big tort suit failed.
(c) 2025 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims ibrary – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk.
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
A Suit Filed Before the Claim Exists is Fatal
Post 4870
Posted on October 20, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly; Somerset Services, Inc.; And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC, and Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC Nos. 2024-CA-1471-MR, 2025-CA-1366-MR, Court of Appeals of Kentucky (October 9, 2026) Louis Briggs was arrested in 2014 after an incident with police and charged with several offenses, including third-degree assault.
Probable cause was found and an indictment was returned, but the charges were eventually dismissed. His attorney, Shaun Wimberly, then filed a federal civil rights suit for Briggs in a United States district court, which also asserted state-law claims. The district court dismissed most of the claims and declined to exercise jurisdiction over the remaining state-law claims. Briggs blamed Wimberly for the result, fired him, and appealed to the Sixth Circuit.
While the federal appeal was pending, Briggs filed a legal malpractice action against Wimberly in the Jefferson Circuit Court. The Sixth ...
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations
Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4868
CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES
In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.
Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).
She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.
THE LAW
Pleading Standard.
To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...
Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs
Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma
To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs
Post 4867
In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND
Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.
Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...