Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
August 22, 2025
Clear & Unambiguous Exclusion Effective

Death by Self-Administered Dialysis is Excluded
Post 5173

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvp3bKQF and at https://lnkd.in/gWWeqD7s, and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 5150 posts.

Clear & Unambiguous Exclusion Effective

Dana Kleinsteuber died while administering her own dialysis at home. MetLife now agrees that tragedy was an accident but refused to pay because of an exclusion for losses caused or contributed to by the treatment of a physical illness.

In Charles M. Kleinsteuber v. Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, CIVIL No. 23-3494 (JRT/DTS), United States District Court, D. Minnesota (August 19, 2025) the USDC was faced with the interpretation of an exclusion in an ERISA plan.

KEY FACTS:

Dana Kleinsteuber’s Death:

Dana Kleinsteuber, diagnosed with end-stage renal disease (ESRD), was self-administering dialysis at home when she suffered acute blood loss and died. The cause of death was listed as ESRD and natural causes.

Insurance Claims:

Charles Kleinsteuber, Dana’s husband, filed claims for both life insurance and accidental death and dismemberment (AD&D) insurance. MetLife approved the life insurance claim but denied the AD&D claim, stating that the death was not accidental and was caused by the treatment of ESRD.

Legal Action:

Charles Kleinsteuber filed an ERISA action to recover the AD&D benefit, arguing that Dana’s death was accidental.

LEGAL POINTS:

Policy Exclusion:

The AD&D policy excluded coverage for losses caused or contributed to by the treatment of a physical illness. MetLife argued that Dana’s death fell under this exclusion because it was related to her dialysis treatment.

Court’s Analysis:

The court applied the abuse of discretion standard to determine if MetLife’s interpretation of the policy exclusion was reasonable. The court considered several factors, including whether MetLife’s interpretation was consistent with the goals of the plan, whether it rendered any language in the plan meaningless, and whether it conflicted with ERISA’s substantive or procedural requirements.

To determine whether MetLife abused its discretion in denying the claim, the Court performed a two-step analysis, asking (1) whether the insurer’s interpretation of the Plan language is reasonable, and (2) whether application of that interpretation to the facts is supported by substantial evidence.

The Policy excludes coverage when “treatment” of a physical illness “contributed to” the insured’s “loss.” MetLife interprets that language to mean that a person who accidentally bleeds out from an open port during self-administered dialysis is excluded from coverage.

When determining reasonableness of an ERISA policy interpretation, courts will interpret consistently with the goals of the Plan. When an administrator has offered a reasonable interpretation, courts may not insert their own interpretation because under an abuse of discretion review, courts are not tasked with determining the best or preferable interpretation.

The primary goal of an AD&D plan is to provide an employees’ benefit and welfare plan for its members. When paired with life insurance the goal is to increase the amount of recovery over the face amount of the policy when death is from an accident.

MetLife adequately explained the specific reasons for the denial in its initial denial letter. In that letter, MetLife explained that the death was not accidental because Dana’s Death Certificate listed her death as resulting from ESRD and natural causes. It also stated that even if the death were an accident, the policy exclusion applied because the police report showed that Dana passed away from a medical emergency involving a dialysis machine.

MetLife, therefore, complied with the regulation requirements in issuing its initial denial.As long as there is substantial evidence to show that Dana’s dialysis treatment contributed to her death, MetLife did not abuse its discretion in denying Kleinsteuber’s claim.

CONCLUSION

The USDC found that MetLife did not abuse its discretion in determining that the dialysis treatment contributed to Dana’s death, which triggered a policy exclusion. Therefore, the Court denied Kleinsteuber’s Motion for Summary Judgment and granted MetLife’s Motion for Summary Judgment.

The court found that MetLife did not abuse its discretion in denying the AD&D claim, as there was substantial evidence that Dana’s dialysis treatment contributed to her death.

ZALMA OPINION

ERISA is a program created by federal law and is interpreted by federal courts. When there is a legitimate, clear and unambiguous requirement that the Accidental Death policy required that the death is accidental and the loss was not caused or contributed to by the treatment of a physical illness. Since dialysis is the treatment of an illness and contributed to the death the exclusion applied.

(c) 2025 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe

Go to X @bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk.

00:08:58
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
16 hours ago
Convicted of Felony Fraud You Lose the Right to Vote

Payment of Fines & Completion of Probation Reinstates Right to Vote

Post 4576

Posted on November 5, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Restore Voting Rights The Felon Must Pay Fines of $546.00

In Florida Supreme Court Mediator Ethics Advisory Committee, ETH F-26-377, No. F-26-377 (October 29, 2026) citizen unnamed and to Ron Desantis Governor, Cord Byrd the Secretary of State Florida Division of Elections provided an advisory opinion to a convicted felon about his right to vote:

To: [redacted] We received your request for an advisory opinion. You indicate that you have one or more felony convictions and request whether you are eligible to vote, including whether you have any outstanding legal financial obligations under section 98.0751, Florida Statutes, and, if so, a statement of the amount that must be paid to make you eligible to vote, and an explanation of how the amount was calculated.

The Division hereby responds to your request pursuant to its legal authority under section 106.23(2), Florida Statutes, and Florida ...

November 04, 2026
Castro Valdez Had an Available Administrative Appeal and Failed to Establish a Ground for Excusing

Administrative Review Permits the Agency to Apply its Expertise

Post 4574

In Erwin Jordan Castro Valdez v. Warden, Otay Mesa Detention Center, No. 26-cv-06147-BAS-JLB, United States District Court, S.D. California (October 30, 2026) Castro Valdez, a Cuban national paroled into the United States, was arrested on June 23, 2026, for alleged insurance fraud, grand theft, and making a false report to law enforcement. In his first habeas action, the district court ordered a bond hearing within fourteen days to determine whether the changed circumstances justified revoking his parole.

An Immigration Judge subsequently denied bond because of his pending state criminal case. Castro Valdez filed a second petition under 28 U.S.C. § 2241, challenging that determination and requesting immediate release without first appealing to the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA).

LAW

According to the supplied text, § 2241 does not expressly require administrative exhaustion, but courts impose exhaustion as a prudential requirement. ...

November 03, 2026
Jury Found Prudential to be the Victim of Fraud

Insured’s Ordered to Pay Insurer for Fraud by the Insureds

Post 4573

Posted on November 3, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In The Prudential Insurance Company Of America v. Carol Gardina and George Gardina, No. 6:23-cv-1125-JSS-DCI, United States District Court, M.D. Florida, Orlando Division (October 22, 2026).

THE JURY TRIAL AND VERDICT

Plaintiff sued Defendants for numerous causes of action stemming from its allegations that Defendants fraudulently collected benefits under their long-term care insurance policies. Plaintiff's case proceeded to a nine-day jury trial, after which the jury found Defendants liable for fraudulent misrepresentation, fraudulent concealment, and civil conspiracy.

The jury also found Defendant Carol Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $1,930,129 in compensatory damages and Defendant George Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $12,496 in compensatory damages and $20 in punitive damages. Thereafter, the court entered judgment in Plaintiff's favor and awarded Plaintiff $1,930,129 in compensatory damages from...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals