Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
June 28, 2024
Concealment of Prior Act of Sexual Abuse Excluded

Never Lie or Conceal Potential Claims From Insurer

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gJkzeXBc, shttps://lnkd.in/gJkzeXBc and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4800 posts.

Post 4823

Plaintiff CMGK, LLC, doing business as Massage Envy, appealed from an order granting summary-judgment to defendant Certain Underwriters at Lloyd’s, London Subscribing to Policy Number ME10XXXX, and dismissing with prejudice plaintiff’s claims. Plaintiff sought coverage under a Sexual Acts Liability Endorsement of a claims-made-and-reported policy issued by Lloyd’s to plaintiff. The court found plaintiff was not entitled to coverage and granted the motion.

In CMGK, LLC d/b/a Massage Envy v. Certain Underwriters At Lloyd’s, London Subscribing To Policy Number ME10XXXX, No. A-1836-22, Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate Division (June 13, 2024) the appeal was considered based on the facts established by the motions.

FACTS

CMGK operated a Massage Envy Spa franchise located in Mays Landing. Emad Gus Khalifa was the sole member of plaintiff and was familiar with its operations. In 2013, plaintiff hired April Pippin as a general manager to assist Khalifa with the day-to-day management of the facility. Pippin and Khalifa performed management functions for plaintiff.
The Application for Insurance

Khalifa executed on behalf of plaintiff an application for the policy at issue. “This Claims Made policy applies only to those claims arising from covered incidents which occur on or after the stated retroactive date. In addition, the claim must first be made and reported to the company during the policy period or applicable extended reporting period.” (Emphasis in the policy).

The Policy

Defendant issued its Specified Medical Professions Professional Liability Insurance Policy to plaintiff for the policy period March 9, 2018, to March 9, 2019, and subject to a Retroactive Date of March 9, 2014. The policy included a Sexual Acts Liability Endorsement.

The Sexual Acts Liability Endorsement. Prior to the effective date of the policy, the Insured represented that it had no knowledge of a Sexual Act or any fact, circumstance, situation or incident involving a Sexual Act which may result in a Claim under this policy.

In 2016, plaintiff hired Steffon Davis as a massage therapist. According to plaintiff’s client M.N., Davis sexually assaulted her during a massage he performed on her on September 23, 2017. Two days later, M.N. reported the alleged assault to Pippin. On September 26, 2017, M.N. went to the Township of Hamilton police station and told a police officer about the incident. According to the officer, M.N. told her “[Davis had] placed his finger between her vagina lips and cupped her breast during a massage.”

M.N. eventually sued. On September 5, 2018, plaintiff tendered the suit to defendant for coverage who refused to defend or indemnify the Plaintiff who sued Lloyd’s claiming Lloyd’s had breached the policy and seeking a judgment declaring M.N.’s claims fell within the coverage provided by Lloyd’s.

Finding the language of the prior-knowledge clause to be “clear and unambiguous,” the trial court rejected plaintiff’s attempt to interpret it in a manner where an honest belief in the futility of a claim negates actual knowledge of allegations of wrongdoing. The court found the police decision not to file criminal charges does not support a reasonable belief that M.N. would not file a civil lawsuit.

Khalifa’s assumption or hope, purportedly based on the officer’s decision not to file a criminal complaint or M.N.’s decision not to file a civil complaint sooner, that M.N. wouldn’t file a claim is not enough to defeat summary judgment. Adopting plaintiff’s interpretation of the policy language would have the effect of rendering meaningless the prior-knowledge clause. To avoid the application of the clause, an insured could simply assert it did not believe – in the face of all evidence to the contrary – a claim might be filed.

The reasonableness of excluding claims based on prior conduct that the insured could reasonably have foreseen might serve as the basis for a future claim was apparent to the appellate court as it would be to anyone involved in the business of insurance. The Appellate Division, therefore, affirmed the order granting defendant’s summary-judgment motion.

ZALMA OPINION

An application for insurance is a request to an insurer to make an offer of insurance. The insurer relies on the good faith of the proposed insured to accurately respond to all the inquires including any information available to the insured at the time the application is presented, of any acts that could result in a claim. Such an act, sexual abuse of a customer by a massage therapist, known to the insured but not yet grown into an actual suit must be disclosed to allow the insurer to make a well reasoned decision to offer to insure the proposed insured.

(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe, & Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gmmzUVBy.

Go to X @bzalma; Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg.

Go to X @bzalma; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk

00:08:50
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
8 hours ago
Suit Must be Ripe When Filed

A Suit Filed Before the Claim Exists is Fatal

Post 4870

Posted on October 20, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly; Somerset Services, Inc.; And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC, and Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC Nos. 2024-CA-1471-MR, 2025-CA-1366-MR, Court of Appeals of Kentucky (October 9, 2026) Louis Briggs was arrested in 2014 after an incident with police and charged with several offenses, including third-degree assault.

Probable cause was found and an indictment was returned, but the charges were eventually dismissed. His attorney, Shaun Wimberly, then filed a federal civil rights suit for Briggs in a United States district court, which also asserted state-law claims. The district court dismissed most of the claims and declined to exercise jurisdiction over the remaining state-law claims. Briggs blamed Wimberly for the result, fired him, and appealed to the Sixth Circuit.

While the federal appeal was pending, Briggs filed a legal malpractice action against Wimberly in the Jefferson Circuit Court. The Sixth ...

post photo preview
October 19, 2026
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES Post 4868 In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insura

Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations

Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4868

CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES

In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.

Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).

She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.

THE LAW

Pleading Standard.

To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...

post photo preview
October 16, 2026

Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs

Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs

Post 4867

In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND

Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.

Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals