Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
August 11, 2025
Piecemeal Litigation is Inefficient and Risks Inconsistent Judgments

Interrelated Acts Constitute a Single Claim
Post 5165

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/geriBpJT and at https://lnkd.in/gJxi77kg and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 5150 posts.

In Yonah Rothman v. Complete Packaging & Shipping Supplies, Inc. and Mitchell Mankosa, Complete Packaging & Shipping Supplies, Inc. v. Arch Insurance Company, No. 22-CV-2821-SJB-ST, United States District Court, E.D. New York (August 4, 2025) dealt with the issue of parties seeking a partial judgment to be resolved on appeal.

Complete Packaging & Shipping Supplies, Inc. (“Complete”) and Arch Insurance Company (“Arch”) litigated disputes about coverage in relation to the Rothman employment discrimination action.

THE KEY ISSUES

Background:

Yonah Rothman filed a lawsuit against Complete and Mitchell Mankosa, alleging employment discrimination, underpayment, and wrongful termination. Rothman claims he was retaliated against for participating in a separate lawsuit brought by another employee.
Insurance Coverage Dispute:

Complete sought defense and indemnification from Arch based on their insurance policy. The policy covers conduct between December 5, 2021, and December 5, 2022, and includes an “interrelated claims” provision.
Court’s Decision:

The court dismissed Complete’s third-party complaint seeking defense and indemnity from Arch. The dismissal was based on the finding that the Rothman Actions arose from the same interrelated acts, constituting a single claim made in 2020, which was outside the policy’s coverage period.

Rule 54(b) Motion:

Complete filed a motion for entry of a partial judgment under Rule 54(b) to appeal the dismissal order.

Judicial Concerns:

The court highlighted concerns about the immediate appeal of indemnity issues, which are related to liability and may require the appellate court to address factual issues still being litigated.

ANALYSIS

Complete filed a Third-Party Complaint against Arch, seeking defense and indemnification in the Rothman Action based on an insurance policy between them (the “Policy”). The Policy provides coverage to Complete for conduct between December 5, 2021, to December 5, 2022.

The Policy also contains an “interrelated claims” provision that provides that all claims arising from the same facts are considered a single claim and deemed to have been brought on the date of the earlier claim.

The USDC noted that the employment discrimination actions arose from the same interrelated acts-the alleged retaliation by Complete against Rothman for his assistance with another lawsuit against Complete. Judge Merchant held that the two Actions constituted a single claim made in 2020, outside of the Policy’s coverage. Judge Merchant, therefore, granted Arch’s motion to dismiss.

The USDC concluded that the long-standing policy against piecemeal appeals required that the court’s power to enter such a final judgment before the entire case is concluded. The USDC noted that permitting an aggrieved party to take an immediate appeal, must be exercised sparingly.

Complete offers no alleged hardship or injustice for the Court to consider. Complete seeks judgment on both parts of the Arch dismissal, i.e., a resolution of both defense and indemnity obligations under the contract. The district court certified as final judgments its orders holding the insurers liable to provide a defense and allocating defense costs amongst the insurers. Final judgment was not entered with respect to the insurers’ duty to indemnify, however.

Although indemnity and liability issues are in some sense separate and distinct, they are nevertheless related. Indeed, by its very nature indemnity is collateral to and dependent upon a finding of liability. But even as to defense obligations, there is no blanket requirement that such issues be certified for partial appeal. Rule 54(b) judgment (and appeal) imposes a more demanding standard than the parties’ own assessment that it would be efficient to allow these appeals.

To that end, a defense claim (even against a third-party insurer) must be extricable and separate from the other claims being litigated. Were the Court to certify the dismissal for appeal, the Second Circuit could be forced to make an insurance coverage decision that would be undermined or superseded by a subsequent ruling in the underlying litigation.

Piecemeal litigation is not only inefficient but raises the risk of inconsistent judgments in coverage litigation that is appealed while underlying merits are resolved.

The motion for entry of a partial judgment under Rule 54(b) was denied.

ZALMA OPINION

Insurance coverage disputes are seldom easy. In this case the court found a duty to defend one part of the litigation seeking defense from the insurer, Arch, but found that both cases were based on a single cause that occurred before the Arch policy became effective. Seeking an Appeal of the issue of duty to defend or the duty to indemnify before a decision was made on the one issue sought to piecemeal the appeals, stretching the litigation beyond efficiency, which was properly refused.

(c) 2025 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe

Go to X @bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk.

00:08:27
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
October 16, 2026

Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs

Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs

Post 4867

In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND

Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.

Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...

post photo preview
October 15, 2026
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter – October 15, 2026

ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM

Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma

THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL

Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.

ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.

It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.

Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme

Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.

RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered

Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...

post photo preview
October 14, 2026
District Court has Wide Discretion in Sentencing

Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions

Post 4863

Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.

The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.

Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals