Medicare Supplement Plan Properly Discontinued by City
Post 5108
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gfHSn7nx, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/g-hkvd3h and at https://lnkd.in/gcN7BP5u, and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 5100 posts.
New York’s Highest Court Approves Change in Medicare Plan
The City of New York decided to discontinue its Medicare supplemental plan, Senior Care, and enroll all retirees in a custom-designed Medicare Advantage Plan (MAP) managed by Aetna Life Insurance Company. Petitioners, consisting of nine retirees and one organization, initiated legal proceedings to prevent the City from eliminating their existing health insurance plans. They argued that the City had repeatedly promised to provide and pay for a Medicare supplemental plan upon retirement, and that they relied on these promises when making financial, employment, and retirement decisions.
In the Matter of Robert Bentkowski, et al. v. City of New York, et al., 2025 NY Slip Op 03690, No. 57, New York Court of Appeals (June 18, 2025) ruled in favor of the city.
The Trial Court
The Supreme Court ruled in favor of the petitioners on their promissory estoppel cause of action and their cause of action under Administrative Code of the City of New York and the Appellate Division affirmed. The City appealed.
The primary issue before the Court of Appeals was whether petitioners were entitled to judgment on their promissory estoppel cause of action. The Court of Appeals concluded that petitioners were not entitled to judgment on this cause of action, as they failed to establish the existence of a clear and unambiguous promise of Medicare supplemental insurance coverage for life.
Promissory Estoppel:
1. The Court found that the Summary Program Descriptions (SPDs) provided by the City were descriptive and for informational purposes only and did not constitute a clear and unambiguous promise of Medicare supplemental insurance coverage for life.
2. The affidavits submitted by the petitioners, including those from Lilliam Barrios-Paoli and hundreds of retirees, were based on the SPDs and did not establish a clear and unambiguous promise.
Administrative Code § 12-126 (b) (1):
The petitioners contended that the City was required to provide and pay for a Medicare supplemental plan under Administrative Code § 12-126 (b) (1). The Court rejected this contention, stating that the requirement prohibits the City from passing any portion of the cost up to the statutory cap on to its employees and retirees, but does not require the City to fund health insurance without the benefit of federal subsidies.
Conclusion:
The Court reversed the order of the Appellate Division and remitted the matter to Supreme Court for further proceedings in accordance with its opinion.
DISCUSSION
Respondents answered, arguing, among other things, that the City’s statements in the SPDs did not constitute “a clear and unambiguous forward-looking promise sufficient to support a promissory estoppel claim.” Furthermore, respondents stated that the Aetna MAP was the product of negotiation between the City, Aetna, and the Municipal Labor Committee (MLC), which represents over 100 municipal unions in the collective bargaining process. According to respondents, the Aetna MAP would allow the City to access federal subsidies, creating $500 million in savings to be allocated to a Health Benefits Stabilization Fund to provide sufficient reserves for future health benefits.
Any inference of a lifetime promise derived from the SPDs is even less plausible in light of the prefatory language employed therein and the mayoral cover letters. Because there is no clear and unambiguous promise in the SPDs, the affidavits of Barrios-Paoli and the hundreds of retirees likewise fail to establish the existence of such a promise.
The parties stipulated to the completeness of the record. On that record, petitioners failed to introduce sufficient evidence to establish that the City’s decision to shift retirees to the Aetna MAP constitutes a diminution in retiree benefits or the City’s contributions for those benefits.
The order of the Appellate Division reversed with costs, and matter remitted to Supreme Court, New York County, for further proceedings in accordance with the opinion herein.
ZALMA OPINION
Promises to provide health insurance coverage and Medicare Supplement Coverage must be clear and unambiguously to provide such services for the life of the employee or retired employee for a court to compel the city to keep the promises. The promises of coverage were not kept because they were not made to be a “forever benefit.” Shifting benefits from one program to another did not diminish the benefits promised.
(c) 2025 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk.
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
No Breach of Contract no Bad Faith
Post 4568
Posted on October 23, 2026 by Barry Zalma
A Party Cannot Designate One Witness While Submitting An Undifferentiated Product Of That Witness And An Undesignated Collaborator.
Post 4568
In Dustin Cain; Amanda Cain v. State Farm Fire and Casualty Company, No. 25-60442, United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit (October 16, 2026) Dustin and Amanda Cain sought homeowners’ insurance benefits after a tree fell on their Mississippi home on August 27, 2022. State Farm concluded that the tree caused only a roof puncture and that other damage resulted from excluded long-term conditions. It paid $10,042.90 and later an additional $3,130.08.
The Cains relied on an engineering report and contractor estimate asserting substantially greater damage, sued for breach of contract and related relief, and designated Sean Fee as their sole expert. Fee’s report and a later repair estimate were jointly authored with Jim Irmiter, but neither document identified which opinions, work, or ...
Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection
Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma
John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection
BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD
Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”
In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)
The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
THE LAW
Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.
THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...
Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers
Post 4866
Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.
After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.
Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.
Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...