Insurer’s Exclusion for Claims of Assault & Battery is Effective
Post 5250
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gBzt2vw9, see the video at https://lnkd.in/gEBBE-e6 and at https://lnkd.in/gk7EcVn9, and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 5250 posts.
Bar Fight With Security is an Excluded Assault & Battery
In The Cincinnati Specialty Underwriters Insurance Company v. Mainline Private Security, LLC, et al., Civil Action No. 24-3871, United States District Court, E.D. Pennsylvania (December 16, 2025) two violent attacks occurred in Philadelphia involving young men, Eric Pope (who died) and Rishabh Abhyankar (who suffered catastrophic injuries). Both incidents involved security guards provided by Mainline Private Security, LLC (“Mainline”) at local bars. The estates of the victims sued the attackers, the bars, and Mainline for negligence and assault/battery. The insurer exhausted a special limit and then denied defense or indemnity to Mainline Private Security.
INSURANCE COVERAGE
Mainline had purchased a commercial general liability policy from The Cincinnati Specialty Underwriters Insurance Company (“CSU”), which included a specific exclusion limiting coverage for claims arising out of assault and battery to $250,000. This coverage was exhausted, and CSU sought a declaratory judgment that it was not obligated to defend or indemnify Mainline or an additional insured (Mikey II) for the lawsuits.
Claims:
The lawsuits against Mainline and the bars were based on both negligence and assault/battery. CSU argued that all claims fell within the assault and battery exclusion of the policy.
LEGAL ANALYSIS\
Policy Exclusion:
The key legal issue was whether the negligence claims in the underlying lawsuits were covered by the assault and battery exclusion in CSU’s policy. The exclusion was broad, covering not only direct assault and battery but also failures to prevent such acts, failures to provide adequate security, and negligent hiring, supervision, or training of employees involved in assault/battery, all of which were within the ambit of the exclusion.
Pennsylvania Law:
The court applied Pennsylvania law, which interprets insurance contracts according to their plain meaning and enforces clear and unambiguous language. The court found the exclusion language to be clear, unambiguous and comprehensive.
Causation Standard:
Under Pennsylvania law, “arising out of” in policy exclusions is interpreted as “but for” causation—if the injury would not have occurred but for the assault/battery, the exclusion applies.
Negligence Claims:
The court reviewed the specific negligence allegations and found that all were causally linked to the assault and battery incidents. The exclusion covered not only intentional acts but also related negligence, such as failure to provide adequate security or properly train staff.
CONCLUSION AND JUDGMENT
Summary Judgment:
The court granted summary judgment in favor of CSU, holding that all claims in the Pope and Abhyankar lawsuits fell within the assault and battery exclusion. Since the $250,000 coverage limit had been exhausted, CSU had no further duty to defend or indemnify Mainline or Mikey II.
Illusory Coverage Argument:
The court rejected this, noting that CSU was not required by law to offer the coverage and that the policy did provide coverage in other circumstances.
IMPORTANT CONCLUSIONS
Assault and battery exclusions in liability policies can encompass related negligence claims if the injuries are causally connected to assault/battery. Courts will enforce clear and unambiguous exclusion language under Pennsylvania law. Once the specified coverage limit for excluded claims is exhausted, the insurer’s duty to defend or indemnify ends.
Because all the claims in the Pope and Abhyankar lawsuits are covered by CSU’s assault and battery exclusion, CSU’s duty to defend and indemnify Mainline and Mikey II is limited to the $250,000 supplemental coverage. And because this $250,000 has been fully eroded through the payment of defense costs and settlements from other claims CSU has no duty to defend or indemnify Mainline or Mikey II for the Pope and Abhyankar lawsuits.
The $250,000 limit in coverage for these claims has been exhausted, and therefore CSU is not obligated to defend or indemnify Mainline or Mikey II in the Pope and Abhyankar lawsuits.
ZALMA OPINION
Since the first liability insurance policy was written – perhaps in clay tablets in ancient Sumeria, insurers limited the limits of the insurance to fortuitous acts, accidents. Assault and Battery causing injury are always, by definition, intentional acts. To avoid argument insurers wrote into their policies clear and unambiguous assault and battery exclusions, as did CSU. CSU provided an extra coverage agreeing to insure against claims of Assault and Battery up to $250,000 of expense and indemnity payments. Once the $250,000 was exhausted coverage stopped and the insureds are left to defend themselves and pay any judgments from their own assets.
(c) 2025 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the InsuranceClaims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk. uranceClaims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk.
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection
Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma
John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection
BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD
Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”
In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)
The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
THE LAW
Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.
THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...
Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers
Post 4866
Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.
After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.
Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.
Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...
A Suit Filed Before the Claim Exists is Fatal
Post 4870
Posted on October 20, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly; Somerset Services, Inc.; And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC, and Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC Nos. 2024-CA-1471-MR, 2025-CA-1366-MR, Court of Appeals of Kentucky (October 9, 2026) Louis Briggs was arrested in 2014 after an incident with police and charged with several offenses, including third-degree assault.
Probable cause was found and an indictment was returned, but the charges were eventually dismissed. His attorney, Shaun Wimberly, then filed a federal civil rights suit for Briggs in a United States district court, which also asserted state-law claims. The district court dismissed most of the claims and declined to exercise jurisdiction over the remaining state-law claims. Briggs blamed Wimberly for the result, fired him, and appealed to the Sixth Circuit.
While the federal appeal was pending, Briggs filed a legal malpractice action against Wimberly in the Jefferson Circuit Court. The Sixth ...