Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
April 23, 2025
Pro se Litigants are Presumed to Have Knowledge of the Law

Res Judicata Eliminates Second Suit
Post 5056

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gfeiyYgX and at https://lnkd.in/gwH87tHz, and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 5050 posts.

Final Judgment Prohibits a Second Try

JC Robinson, Jr. (“JC”), pro se, appealed the trial court’s summary judgment decision in favor of defendant-appellee, Progressive Insurance Corporation (“Progressive”). In JC Robinson, Jr., et al. v. Progressive, 2025-Ohio-1370, No. 114348, Court of Appeals of Ohio, Eighth District, Cuyahoga (April 17, 2025) the Court of Appeals resolved the dispute.

FACTS

In May 2024, JC sued Progressive on behalf of himself and his minor daughter, E.R., (collectively “the Robinsons”). JC claimed that the Robinsons were involved in a “hit-and-skip,” rear-end, motor vehicle accident in November 2023 (“the MVA”) resulting in property damage, physical and mental injuries, medical expenses, lost income, and loss of enjoyment of life. JC claimed that the Robinsons’ presented to an emergency room after calling 9-1-1 following the MVA and that their medical treatment was ongoing.

Progressive filed a motion to dismiss the C.P. Complaint in its entirety. Progressive argued that the C.P. Complaint was barred by res judicata and claim preclusion, noting that this was the second lawsuit the Robinsons filed against Progressive stemming from the MVA.

The Robinsons previously filed a complaint in JC Robinson, Jr. v. Progressive Ins. Corp., Cleveland M.C. No. 2023-CVI-0013723 (“Mun. Complaint”), which was dismissed with prejudice in March 2024.

Progressive filed a supplemental motion for summary judgment. However, JC argued that Progressive was responsible for 100 percent of the Robinsons medical bills, pain and suffering and loss of wages and those claims had not been settled.

In September 2024, the trial court granted Progressive’s motion for summary judgment “for the reasons argued in the briefs, namely res judicata.” JC appealed.

LAW AND ANALYSIS

Summary Judgment and Res Judicata

JC argued that the trial court erred in granting summary judgment because it was unreasonable, unjust, and unconstitutional to strictly apply the doctrine of res judicata when the Robinsons’ claims were not ripe for review, litigated, or dismissed on the merits.

Pro se litigants are presumed to have knowledge of the law and legal procedures and are held to the same standards as litigants who are represented by counsel. Indeed, pro se litigants are not entitled to greater rights, and they must accept the results of their own mistakes.

One of the principal purposes of the summary judgment rule is to isolate and dispose of factually unsupported claims or defenses. There can be no genuine issue as to any material fact, since a complete failure of proof concerning an essential element of a non-moving party’s case necessarily renders all other facts immaterial

After the moving party’s initial burden is satisfied, the nonmoving party may not rest upon the mere allegations or denials in the pleadings. Rather, the nonmoving party’s reciprocal burden is triggered, requiring it to set forth specific facts showing that there remains a genuine issue for trial. A trial court may consider evidence other than the materials specified in the motion if no objections are raised.

Res judicata ensures the finality and stability of judicial decisions, deters vexatious litigation, and allows courts to resolve other disputes. The doctrine prevents a party from relitigating an issue or claim that has already been decided in a final, appealable order or a valid, final judgment in a prior proceeding and could have been raised on appeal in that prior proceeding.

The Ohio Supreme Court adopted res judicata’s modern application, which includes claim preclusion and issue preclusion. The claims raised in the C.P. Complaint are barred by claim preclusion. First, a court of competent jurisdiction rendered a valid, final judgment on the merits in an earlier action. A dismissal with prejudice is a final decision on the merits. The current case involves the same parties or their privies.

The C.P. Complaint raises claims that were or could have been raised in the Mun. Complaint. JC pleaded the same breach-of-contract, unfair-claims practices, and bad-faith claims, which were previously raised in the Mun. Complaint.

The C.P. Complaint arises out of the same operative facts and evidence as the Mun. Complaint. The MVA and Progressive’s handling of the Robinsons’ claims under JC’s automobile insurance policy. An exception to the res judicata doctrine will not apply when the parties had a full and fair opportunity to be heard on an issue.

After Progressive moved for summary judgment JC’s reciprocal burden was triggered. To survive summary judgment, JC was required to set forth specific facts rebutting the application of res judicata and showing that genuine issues remained. JC has not done so. The record reveals that JC had a full and fair opportunity to litigate the Robinsons’ claims; accepted a settlement from Progressive; voluntarily requested the dismissal of the Mun. Complaint with prejudice; and failed to pursue a direct appeal of the municipal court’s final, appealable order. JC failed to provide any evidence to rebut Progressive’s res judicata argument.

Because the doctrine of res judicata applies and no exception is warranted the trial court did not err in granting Progressive’s motion for summary judgment. The Judgment was affirmed.

ZALMA OPINION

Insurance companies must be treated like any other litigant. Once a suit is settled and a judgment entered, it’s dispute with JC was resolved. Yet JC, acting as his own lawyer, sued again seeking another bite out of Progressive. The Court of Appeals wisely affirmed the trial court.

(c) 2025 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe

Go to X @bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk

00:09:17
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
23 hours ago
Suit Must be Ripe When Filed

A Suit Filed Before the Claim Exists is Fatal

Post 4870

Posted on October 20, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly; Somerset Services, Inc.; And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC, and Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC Nos. 2024-CA-1471-MR, 2025-CA-1366-MR, Court of Appeals of Kentucky (October 9, 2026) Louis Briggs was arrested in 2014 after an incident with police and charged with several offenses, including third-degree assault.

Probable cause was found and an indictment was returned, but the charges were eventually dismissed. His attorney, Shaun Wimberly, then filed a federal civil rights suit for Briggs in a United States district court, which also asserted state-law claims. The district court dismissed most of the claims and declined to exercise jurisdiction over the remaining state-law claims. Briggs blamed Wimberly for the result, fired him, and appealed to the Sixth Circuit.

While the federal appeal was pending, Briggs filed a legal malpractice action against Wimberly in the Jefferson Circuit Court. The Sixth ...

post photo preview
October 19, 2026
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES Post 4868 In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insura

Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations

Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4868

CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES

In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.

Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).

She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.

THE LAW

Pleading Standard.

To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...

post photo preview
October 16, 2026

Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs

Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs

Post 4867

In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND

Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.

Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals