Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
September 17, 2024
For Want of a Union Mortgage Clause Lender Gets Nothing

Loss Payable Clause Limits Recovery Only if Insured Can Recover
Post 4892

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gEGkSsDZ, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gE_4qtbJ and at https://lnkd.in/gTF-dpW7, and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4850 posts.

Following a fire that damaged a malt beverage store owned by A Maxon Company, LLC (AMC), Acuity Insurance Company asked the Supreme Court of South Dakota to determine a question of coverage under the terms of an insurance policy, which listed Greg and Tammy Weatherspoon as additional loss payees. At trial, the circuit court granted Acuity’s motion for judgment as a matter of law with respect to the Weatherspoons’ counterclaim based upon the court’s determination that the terms of the insurance policy prevented the Weatherspoons from recovering damages unless AMC successfully asserted a claim for coverage.

In Acuity, A Mutual Insurance Company v. A Maxon Company, LLC, and Greg And Tammy Weatherspoon, 2024 S.D. 53, No. 30463-a-MES, Supreme Court of South Dakota (September 4, 2024) the Supreme Court interpreted the policy wording.

THE JURY FINDING

The jury ultimately determined that AMC principal, Russel Maxon, had intentionally started the fire, which, in turn, meant that coverage was excluded under AMC’s policy. The Weatherspoons appealed, challenging the court’s decision to grant the motion for judgment as a matter of law as well as two evidentiary rulings made during trial.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

The Weatherspoons originally owned and operated T-Spoons, a malt beverage store in McLaughlin, South Dakota. In July 2017, they entered into a contract for deed to sell T-Spoons to Russel and Tracy Maxon. The Maxons purchased the property through their company, AMC, and began operating T-Spoons. Pursuant to the contract for deed, the Maxons were required to insure the property and list the Weatherspoons as “loss payees.” AMC purchased property coverage under a commercial general liability insurance policy issued by Acuity in August 2017 and listed the Weatherspoons as loss payees.

On April 15, 2018, the T-Spoons building was damaged by a fire that originated in the basement. Acuity hired Chris Rallis to investigate the fire who concluded that the fire was intentionally set and believed Russel had started it because Russel was the only person who had access to the building immediately prior to the fire. Rallis reasoned, though not noted in his investigation report, that Russel had a motive to start the fire because AMC was struggling financially. Beer distributors had stopped delivering to T-Spoons because the Maxons had written bad checks, and Russel had supplied T-Spoons with inventory by purchasing beer from a retail source. Special Agent Derek Hill of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms (ATF) also conducted an investigation and determined the fire was intentionally started by Russel.

Following the fire, the Weatherspoons filed a proof of loss with Acuity in an effort to claim damages relating to the T-Spoons fire. Acuity denied the claim, reasoning that the Weatherspoons’ ability to collect, as loss payees, was dependent on whether AMC could make a compensable claim. After Acuity denied the Weatherspoons’ claim, it sued for declaratory judgment naming the Weatherspoons and AMC as defendants.

THE TRIAL

The case was tried to a jury. Acuity presented the testimony of Special Agent Hill via a videotaped trial deposition. special Agent Hill testified that he is a certified fire investigator and related his training, education, and experience regarding fire investigations. He is also a federal law enforcement agent. Special Agent Hill was able to determine that the fire had started in the basement and had originated in multiple locations. He also found plastic water bottles in the basement that contained gasoline. Following his investigation, Special Agent Hill determined that the fire had been intentionally started. He also believed Russel had been responsible because “there was nobody else present” in the building before the fire started.

Acuity’s fire investigator, Rallis, testified he spoke with Russel who said that he had been in the building doing laundry in the basement before the fire started, that there were multiple points of origin for the fire, starting “near the back door, down the stairway and into the basement area and throughout the basement area.” Rallis also determined the fire started and was spread using “a trailer and booster technique[.]” Rallis concluded the fire was intentionally started. Rallis also believed that Russel had a “[f]inancial motive” to start the fire.

Following its deliberation, the jury returned a verdict in which ten of the twelve jurors found it was more likely than not that Russel intentionally started the fire.

ANALYSIS

The Weatherspoons are not parties to the AMC-Acuity contract. They are loss payees whose ability to assert a claim is governed by a key provision of the contract, an endorsement entitled “Loss Payable Clauses.”

The “Loss Payable” clause listed in the schedule as the “applicable clause” provides as follows: “[We] Adjust losses with you; and b. Pay any claim for loss or damage jointly to you and the Loss Payee, as interests may appear. The circuit court determined that “jointly,” as used in Paragraph 1(b), restricted the Weatherspoons’ ability to collect to the extent that AMC could collect.

The Loss Payable Clause only permits payment for loss jointly between the insured and the loss payee. As loss payees the Weatherspoons were only permitted to collect if and when AMC collected, and, consequently, the circuit court did not err when it granted Acuity’s motion for judgment as a matter of law.

The jury returned a verdict that found Russel had intentionally started the fire at T-Spoons on April 15, 2018. Pursuant to the dishonesty or criminal acts exclusion within the insurance contract, AMC was therefore precluded from collecting loss damages. The circuit court’s decisions regarding judgment as a matter of law were not in error, and therefore, are affirmed.

The Weatherspoons’ ability to recover under the AMC-Acuity policy as loss payees depends upon AMC’s ability to recover. Because the jury found that Russel intentionally started the fire, AMC was precluded from receiving loss benefits. Therefore, Acuity could, and did, properly deny the Weatherspoons’ claim for loss damages.

ZALMA OPINION

The reason the Weatherspoons’ recovered nothing is because their contract only required AMC to list them as loss payees rather than as lenders under a Union Mortgage Clause ISO form 438.BFU which allows the lender to collect even if the named insured may not because of fraud or other intentional act while the loss payable form (required by their contract) only allows them to collect jointly with the named insured.

(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe or Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gmmzUVBy

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg

Go to X @bzalma; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk

00:10:22
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
5 hours ago

Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs

Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs

Post 4867

In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND

Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.

Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...

post photo preview
October 15, 2026
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter – October 15, 2026

ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM

Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma

THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL

Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.

ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.

It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.

Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme

Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.

RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered

Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...

post photo preview
October 14, 2026
District Court has Wide Discretion in Sentencing

Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions

Post 4863

Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.

The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.

Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals