Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
September 10, 2024
It's Not Nice to Set Your Ex-Wife on Fire

Domestic Abuse Exception to Intentional Act Exclusion
Post 4888

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/greCfR_2, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gjDDr7gS and at https://lnkd.in/gQh4rP7i and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4850 posts.

Brenda Welch owned a home in Lynnwood, and lived there throughout her marriage to David Morgan. The home was subject to a mortgage held by CitiMortgage Inc. During their marriage, Welch and her ex-husband David Morgan had one child together, K.W.

On May 21, 2014, the court finalized their divorce, awarding Morgan the family home and requiring that he “either sell the property or refinance the debts into his sole name within three (3) years of February 25, 2014.” After the divorce, Welch met a new partner and moved in with him. Still, Welch and Morgan shared custody of K.W., and their parenting plan called for joint decision-making.

On November 16, 2014, Welch went to the Lynnwood home at a prearranged time to pick up K.W. from Morgan’s care. But K.W. was not there. Instead, Morgan attacked Welch, beat her unconscious, doused her in gasoline, and set her and the house on fire. Welch survived but suffered significant mental and physical injuries. The fire destroyed the house.

In Brenda Welch v. Pemco Mutual Insurance Company, No. 85466-6-I, Court of Appeals of Washington (September 3, 2024) PEMCO Mutual Insurance Company denied Brenda Welch insurance coverage for loss incurred after her ex-husband assaulted her and burned down their former marital home. PEMCO determined that the loss was intentional and rejected Welch’s argument that the loss arose from an act of domestic abuse, an exception to the intentional loss exclusion. Welch sued PEMCO. The trial court dismissed Welch’s claims at summary judgment.

THE INSURANCE CLAIM

At the time of the fire, Morgan had not yet sold or refinanced the Lynnwood home. So, the deed still named Welch as an owner and obligor on the mortgage. Welch and Morgan held an all-risk insurance policy on the property through PEMCO. The policy named both Welch and Morgan as insureds. It also listed CitiMortgage as a mortgagee.

The PEMCO policy excluded coverage for “any loss arising out of any act committed by or at the direction of an insured with the intent to cause a loss.” But it has an exception to that intentional loss exclusion for acts of “domestic abuse,” which provides that the exclusion “will not apply to deny an insured’s claim for an otherwise covered property loss if such loss is caused by an act of domestic abuse by another insured under the policy.”

A jury found Morgan guilty of attempted first degree murder domestic violence and first degree arson domestic violence. The trial court sentenced him to 260 months in prison. Welch then sued Morgan for her injuries from the assault. Morgan did not respond, and the trial court entered a default order and judgment against Morgan for $5.06 million. Welch also claimed coverage under the PEMCO policy. And CitiMortgage claimed coverage for the outstanding balance on the mortgage. PEMCO estimated the repair or replacement cost of the damage to the home was $463,732.82.

In June 2016, PEMCO found coverage for CitiMortgage but PEMCO denied Welch’s claim. It explained that the intentional loss provision “precludes coverage not only to the arsonist but to any insured, including Ms. Welch.”

Welch sued PEMCO. The trial court granted in part and denied in part PEMCO’s motion. The court denied PEMCO’s motion on the applicability of the domestic abuse exception. It concluded that Welch and Morgan were not family, so the domestic abuse exception to the intentional loss exclusion did not apply.

ANALYSIS

The Court of Appeals must construe insurance policies as the average person purchasing insurance would. That is, give the language a fair, reasonable, and sensible construction. And the Court of Appeals give undefined terms their plain, ordinary, and popular meaning. The Court of Appeal may turn to the dictionary definition of an undefined term to determine its plain meaning.

Welch’s policy excludes coverage for intentional loss unless “an act of domestic abuse by another insured under the policy” causes the loss. The PEMCO policy language parallels former RCW 48.18.550 (1998), the statute in effect when Morgan tried to kill Welch and burned down the house.

RCW 48.18.550(3) requires insurers to cover intentional loss caused by an act of domestic abuse by another insured under the policy. Modern editions of the dictionary define “family” as “the basic unit in society traditionally consisting of two parents rearing their children,” or “[a] group consisting of parents and their children.” Merriam-Webster Dictionary, (last visited Aug. 20, 2024). Welch meets these definitions because she and Morgan were raising K.W. under a parenting plan that granted them shared custody and called for joint decision-making. As such, they were two parents rearing their child.

An average person purchasing insurance would understand the term “family” under the more modern definition. Because Welch and Morgan share a child that they were raising together, Welch is “family” under the policy’s domestic abuse exception to the intentional loss exclusion. Therefore, the trial court erred by granting summary judgment for PEMCO and refusing to grant partial summary judgment for Welch. Therefore, Summary judgment for PEMCO was reversed and the trial court was directed to enter partial summary judgment for Welch for breach of contract

ZALMA OPINION

The exception to the exclusion was found to apply because – although divorced and no longer married – since Welch and Morgan still had joint custody of a child they fit a dictionary definition of “family” sufficient to allow Ms. Welch to recover her share of the insurance recovery over that paid to the mortgagee. Her ex-husband gets nothing and she will never recover the $5 million judgment she obtained against her ex-husband who will be in jail a long, long time.

(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe or
Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gmmzUVBy;

Go to X @bzalma; Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg

Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk

00:10:29
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
October 19, 2026
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES Post 4868 In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insura

Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations

Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4868

CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES

In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.

Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).

She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.

THE LAW

Pleading Standard.

To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...

post photo preview
October 22, 2026
John Madden and The US Patent and Trademark Office

Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection

Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma

John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection

BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD

Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”

In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)

The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.

THE LAW

Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.

THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...

post photo preview
October 21, 2026
Supervisory Officials are not Individually Liable

Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers

Post 4866

Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.

After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.

Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.

Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals