Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
August 30, 2024
Actual Notice of Cancellation Effective

Cashing Refund Check is Evidence of Receipt of Notice of Cancellation
Post 4863

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/g_Mjh4Qq, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gztgGHti and at https://lnkd.in/gZ-MBvhJ and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4850 posts.

The Supreme Court of North Carolina considered whether Nationwide effectively canceled plaintiffs’ fire insurance policy before their house burned down. Almost two months before that tragic fire, Nationwide mailed plaintiffs a letter explaining when and why it was terminating their coverage. The cancellation date came and went. Afterwards, Nationwide sent plaintiffs a check listing their policy number and refunding the excess premium.

In Nung Ha and Nhiem Tran v. Nationwide General Insurance Company, No. 312A19-2, Supreme Court of North Carolina (August 23, 2024) Plaintiffs contend-and the trial court found-that they never saw the cancellation letter.

But they received, signed, and cashed the refund check over a month before the fire.

BACKGROUND

Plaintiffs Nhiem Tran and Nung Ha have one daughter and three sons. In 2010, plaintiffs moved into a house in Wake Forest, North Carolina.

On 1 April 2015, Mr. Tran filled out an online insurance application after an AAA Insurance policy was cancelled. Mr. Tran arranged for Nationwide to withdraw monthly premiums from his checking account. He later logged into Nationwide’s web portal and signed the policy electronically. Nationwide issued that policy subject to an underwriter’s review.

NATIONWIDE CANCELS PLAINTIFFS’ POLICY

Nationwide dispatched an underwriter to inspect plaintiffs’ property. That inspection unearthed many of the same hazards logged by the previous insurer, AAA- rotten siding, an unfenced swimming pool, and an unsecured trampoline. The latter two conditions were classified as “gross hazards.” Citing those concerns, Nationwide-like AAA-chose to cancel plaintiffs’ policy. The company then mailed plaintiffs a notice of cancellation on 22 May 2015 by first-class mail. The letter listed the three hazards prompting the cancellation. It also explained that plaintiffs’ policy would end on 6 June 2015 unless they fixed the identified risks.

Plaintiffs did not contact Nationwide, and so the company terminated their policy on 6 June 2015-fifteen days after mailing the cancellation letter. According to plaintiffs, they never received that letter. However, everyone agreed that after Nationwide ended plaintiffs’ coverage, it stopped withdrawing monthly premium payments from their bank account.

While funds were withdrawn at the beginning of April, May, and June, plaintiffs did not pay for insurance in July. Two days after the cancellation date, Nationwide mailed plaintiffs a check refunding the excess premium paid for June. The check prominently listed the policy number. Plaintiffs endorsed and cashed that check on 17 June 2015.

On the evening of 24 July 2015, plaintiffs were at church when their home caught fire. The entire structure burned down, consuming the family’s belongings. Plaintiffs later filed a claim with Nationwide-the company rejected it, contending that plaintiffs’ insurance expired before the fire.

ANALYSIS

Insurance companies may cancel insurance policies by: “[G]iving to the insured a five days’ written notice of cancellation with or without tender of the excess of paid premium above the pro rata premium for the expired time, which excess, if not tendered, shall be refunded on demand. Notice of cancellation shall state that said excess premium (if not tendered) will be refunded on demand.”

As the Supreme Court explained almost a century ago, statutory notice requirements are manifestly for the protection of the insured. Mindful that the General Assembly designed notice provisions to give insureds a meaningful chance to avoid coverage lapses. The Supreme Court has explained that the manner in which notice is given is of secondary importance-it is the fact of notice that matters.

In general terms, a person has actual notice when the information “given directly to” imparts clear knowledge of a fact or condition with legal significance. Because Nationwide gave plaintiffs the timely forewarning required by statute it properly canceled their policy.

Though plaintiffs deny receiving Nationwide’s cancellation letter, they were armed with clear knowledge and advanced warning of their policy’s termination. Plaintiffs had actual notice of cancellation and Nationwide duly ended their insurance before the fire.

The Supreme Court found actual knowledge of cancellation because two days after their policy was terminated, Nationwide sent plaintiffs a check refunding the excess premium. Plaintiffs not only received that check, but personally signed and cashed it. The check clearly listed plaintiffs’ policy number. And the amount of the refund equaled the June premium, less the window of coverage until the cancellation date on 6 June 2015.

Continuing to focus on substance over form, the Supreme Court held that plaintiffs had advanced warning of cancellation and were armed with the information necessary for their protection. Because the manner in which notice is given is of secondary importance when clear evidence shows an insured’s actual notice the analysis began and ended with plaintiffs’ direct and palpable knowledge of their policy’s expiration.

Because Nationwide canceled plaintiffs’ coverage well before 24 July 2015, their policy was not in place at the time of the tragic fire.

ZALMA OPINION

The plaintiffs had been cancelled by AAA for the poor and dangerous condition of their property. They did nothing to change the condition and applied for insurance from Nationwide. Nationwide inspected the property and found the same defects that prompted AAA to cancel and did the same. Even if the insureds failed to see the cancellation notice, as they claimed, by cashing the refund check, they had actual notice of the cancellation. If they did not tell Nationwide about the reasons for AAA’s cancellation they had 3 months of insurance until Nationwide inspected the property and cancelled.

(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe or Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gmmzUVBy

Go to X @bzalma; Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg

Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk

00:09:37
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
October 19, 2026
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES Post 4868 In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insura

Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations

Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4868

CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES

In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.

Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).

She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.

THE LAW

Pleading Standard.

To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...

post photo preview
October 22, 2026
John Madden and The US Patent and Trademark Office

Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection

Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma

John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection

BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD

Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”

In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)

The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.

THE LAW

Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.

THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...

post photo preview
October 21, 2026
Supervisory Officials are not Individually Liable

Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers

Post 4866

Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.

After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.

Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.

Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals