Roof Damage Insurance Disputes Resolved
Post 4836
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gfuR4YEC, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gXVGAZ-9 and at https://lnkd.in/ghHHwcM3 and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4800 posts.
Roof damage insurance disputes are common. April Point South Property Owner’s Association, claims that the insurer, Third Coast Insurance Company, owes over $1.8 million to repair hailstorm damage to 31 separate buildings in a condominium project. Third Coast investigated the claim and denied coverage. April Point disputed the denial. Both parties retained adjusters and experts. After the parties failed to reach resolution, April Point sued.
In April Point South Property Owner’s Association, Inc v. Third Coast Insurance Co., Civil Action No. H-23-2654, United States District Court, S.D. Texas, Houston Division (July 15, 2024) the USDC resolved competing motions for summary judgment.
ANALYSIS
Third Coast did not pay anything under the policy in the year after the storm damage. April Point has presented evidence that Third Coast’s coverage denial deprived April Point of the funds it needed to make the repairs. Although April Point may recover on a replacement cost value despite the one-year deadline, subject to the limitations discussed below, April Point must make the repairs in order to obtain coverage on a replacement value basis.
The Age of the Roofs
Third Coast also argues that April Point can recover no more than the actual cash value of the repairs because the damaged roofs are over 15 years old. The policy states that “[a]ny damage to existing roof coverings that have been in place . . . for more than fifteen (15) years and one (1) day will be valued at ‘Actual Cash Value[.]’”
April Point asserts that that it can show that at least two roofs were replaced within the 15 years before the date of loss and therefore qualify for replacement cost value. Third Coast responds that while it does not dispute that 4,400 square feet of the damaged roofs are less than 15 years old, April Point has not shown that the other 186,400 square feet of the roofs are under 15 years old. The court agreed.
Coverage for Cosmetic Damage
The policy excludes payment for “cosmetic loss or damage” which it defines as damage “that alters only the physical appearance of any such item . . . but does not result in the failure of the item to perform its intended function for the remain[d]er of its original, useful life.” The parties agree that cosmetic work is not covered. April Point may not seek cosmetic damages to replace dented but functional parts of the property.
Replacement Cost as of the Date of Loss
The policy provision limiting Third Coast’s obligation to pay repair costs to the prices at the date of loss is unambiguous. Third Coast is entitled to summary judgment limiting the damages to the costs of repair as of the date and place of loss.
The Exclusion of General Contractor Overhead and Profit
The Third Coast insurance policy excludes recovery of “General Contract Overhead and Profit” for the “roof system or any component thereof[.]” Since neither party has submitted or pointed to evidence as to whether the “roof system or any component thereof” includes HVAC units or lattice work the court denied summary judgment because, while the policy excludes recovery for the general contractor’s overhead and profit for the “roof system or any component thereof,” the present record does not show what costs or work this policy language excludes.
The Exclusion of Loss from the Diminution of Value
The insurance policy states that Third Coast “will not pay for loss to Covered Property due to any ‘Diminution in Value[.]’” April Point may not recover damages for diminution of market value based on the appearance of the roofs after repair as opposed to replacement.
The Extracontractual Claims
Texas law imposes on insurers a common law duty to deal fairly and in good faith with its insured in the processing and payment of claims. The record shows that Third Coast’s inspector initially reported evidence of hail damage to the property and recommended payment of the claim. After the initial investigation, Third Coast brought in independent engineering and weather consultants who disagreed with the inspector’s determination. April Point has not submitted or pointed to evidence that these consultants made their findings in an unobjective or unfair matter. A bona fide controversy is sufficient reason for failure of an insurer to make a prompt payment of a loss claim. The evidence shows a bona fide controversy between various experts as to whether the damage was covered, precluding liability for bad faith. The extracontractual claims were dismissed.
CONCLUSION
Third Coast’s motion for partial summary judgment was granted to limit recovery to the actual cash value for roofs except the 4,400 square feet that were less than 15 years old and to the costs of repair as of the date of loss, and to exclude coverage for diminution of value and repair of cosmetic damage. The court also granted summary judgment on the extracontractual claims. Third Coast’s motion was denied as to the work covered by the general contractor overhead provision. The court granted summary judgment that the policy excluded coverage for cosmetic damage and diminution of value.
ZALMA OPINION
Insurance policies that contain provisions that are clear and unambiguous will always be affirmed and applied by a trial court. This court worked for fairness applying some of the insured’s arguments and applied some of the insurer’s position. Importantly it rejected the bad faith claim because the insurer’s position was fairly debatable.
(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe or Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gmmzUVBy
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg.
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/gRthzSnT; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers
Post 4866
Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.
After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.
Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.
Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations
Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4868
CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES
In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.
Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).
She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.
THE LAW
Pleading Standard.
To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...
A Suit Filed Before the Claim Exists is Fatal
Post 4870
Posted on October 20, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly; Somerset Services, Inc.; And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC, and Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC Nos. 2024-CA-1471-MR, 2025-CA-1366-MR, Court of Appeals of Kentucky (October 9, 2026) Louis Briggs was arrested in 2014 after an incident with police and charged with several offenses, including third-degree assault.
Probable cause was found and an indictment was returned, but the charges were eventually dismissed. His attorney, Shaun Wimberly, then filed a federal civil rights suit for Briggs in a United States district court, which also asserted state-law claims. The district court dismissed most of the claims and declined to exercise jurisdiction over the remaining state-law claims. Briggs blamed Wimberly for the result, fired him, and appealed to the Sixth Circuit.
While the federal appeal was pending, Briggs filed a legal malpractice action against Wimberly in the Jefferson Circuit Court. The Sixth ...