False Swearing & Fraud in Claim Presentation Voids Policy
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gXTmBN9m, See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gt8Qd6hB and at https://lnkd.in/gzuf8PWP, and at https://zalma.com/blog.
NEVER LIE TO YOUR INSURER ABOUT THE EXTENT OF DAMAGE
Post 4833
An insurance coverage dispute that arose from a pipe burst in the historic Pittsfield Building in downtown Chicago. On December 17, 2016, two pipes burst on the tenth floor of the Pittsfield Building, causing water damage to the first ten floors. After the loss event, the Pittsfield Entities filed a claim for the damage with their insurer, The Travelers Indemnity Company (“Travelers”) and could not agree on the extent of damage.
In Pittsfield Development LLC, et al. v. The Travelers Indemnity Company, No. 18CV06576, United States District Court, N.D. Illinois (July 3, 2024) the USDC resolved the action and Travelers’ claim of fraud in the claim presentation discovered during discovery in the plaintiffs’ breach of contract suit.
After initial motion practice and discovery, Travelers amended it answer to assert a counterclaim for breach of contract. Travelers asserted that the Pittsfield Entities intentionally misrepresented their alleged damages by more than $1.1 million, and that the misrepresentation renders the policy void.
BACKGROUND
At all relevant times, Robert Danial acted as the sole managing member of the Pittsfield Entities with authority to direct the activities of all three entities. The Policy contains the the standard Concealment, Misrepresentation, or Fraud condition that declares the policy void if established.
The Water Loss Event and the Pittsfield Entities’ Insurance Claim
The Pittsfield Entities hired Joseph Sabbagh, a licensed public adjuster to assist the Pittsfield Entities with submitting their claim and preparing their own estimate.
Sabbagh inspected the damage at the Pittsfield Building on June 12, 2017, spending about five hours at the property, and then used a computer program called “Xactimate” to draft an estimate. Sabbagh estimated the total ACV of the repair and replacement work caused by the water damage at $8,593,200.40. Sabbagh’s estimate included as a line-item a “Bid Item from Bluestone Environmental” for “Lead Paint & Asbestos Removal.”
Travelers estimated the total loss as a result of the water damage at $401,537.95. After accounting for the $100,000.00 deductible, Travelers ultimately made payments on the claim totaling $301,537.95.
Travelers’ Counterclaim and the Disputed Bluestone Environmental Bid
In the Complaint, the Pittsfield Entities alleged that Travelers failed to pay the actual total amount of damages owed under the Policy for the water-loss event, which they contend was $8,592,961.40.
The plaintiffs’ pleading notably includes Sabbagh’s estimate as an attached exhibit. Danial testified that Sabbagh’s estimate formed the basis of the Pittsfield Entities claim for damages and that he believed it accurately stated the amount they were owed under the Policy, less anything that Travelers had already paid.
Travelers also deposed Sabbagh who testified that this was an oral estimate received over the phone from an employee of Bluestone Environmental, later identified as Tonia Williams. Deposition testimony and declarations from Bluestone Environmental employee Tonia Williams, as well as Bluestone Environmental’s president and owner David O’Dea stated that while ballpark or rough estimates were occasionally given verbally, she had “not heard of” a verbal estimate ever being given for $950,000, and that the largest over the phone estimate she could recall was in the $20,000-$25,000 range.
It was undisputed that Bluestone has no written record of ever providing a quote, bid, or estimate, written or oral, for the Pittsfield Building. Sabbagh testified that, if the Pittsfield Entities had asked him whether to attach his estimate to their complaint to prove their damages, he would have told them to get a second opinion.
The Pittsfield Entities disclosed Stephen Harmon,was submitted as an expert on damages. Harmon based his opinions on his review of Sabbagh’s estimate, conversations with Sabbagh and Pittsfield, and his review of photographs and other documentary evidence of the damage. Although Harmon could not recall the details of the bid item in his deposition, he reaffirmed that he “looked it over,” and that, in his opinion, the Pittsfield Entities were owed $1,235,000 by Travelers for that line item.
DISCUSSION
Travelers’ counterclaim for breach of the insurance Policy is governed by the same general standards applicable to any claim for breach of contract under Illinois law.
The phrase “intentional misrepresentation of material fact” does not incorporate the elements of common-law fraud and does not require a showing of such things as reliance or prejudice. Instead, all that matters is whether the misrepresentation was calculated to discourage, mislead or deflect the insurer’s investigation on a topic on which a reasonable insurer would undeniably attach importance.
The Pittsfield Entities Intentionally Misrepresented Their Damages
The Court concluded that the Pittsfield Entities did in fact make an intentional and material misrepresentation as a matter of law. The Pittsfield Entities’ repeated reliance on that figure as part of their overall damages was a material misrepresentation about their claim. The $950,000 oral estimate from Bluestone Environmental was not an actual bid or proposal for work that needed to be done in connection with the water loss event.
Critically, when asked for their “proof” of that figure, the Pittsfield Entities claimed that they “have a proposal from a contractor that says it.” Danial’s statement that the Pittsfield Entities “had a proposal” substantiating that they were owed $1,140,000 is simply false. The Pittsfield Entities misrepresented their damages by boldly and repeatedly asserting that they were entitled to $1,140,000 under the Policy for asbestos removal.
The Pittsfield Entities’ use of this illusory figure to misrepresent their damages did not stop there. Harmon’s statements are deeply misleading. The obvious implication from the contention that he “reviewed the estimate” is that there was some written estimate or proposal for asbestos removal work to review. But there was not, because the estimate, if given at all, was given orally.
This testimony that the figure reflects necessary work is simply false.
In sum, the Court found the Pittsfield Entities misrepresented their damages by claiming they were owed $1,140,000.00 under the Policy for asbestos abatement as a result of the water loss event in December 2016. An insured that willfully makes false statements about their loss with the intent to deceive the insurer is not entitled to recover any amount under their policy.
The Pittsfield Entities simply had no basis to cite the Bluestone Environmental “quote” as proof that they were entitled to payment of over $1 million for asbestos removal based on the water damage. The only conclusion that can be drawn from the Pittsfield Entities’ repeated presentation of this hypothetical quote as proof of their damages, despite the fact that it had no factual connection to work that actually had to be done, is that the Pittsfield Entities submitted that false number with the intent of deceiving or misleading Travelers into paying that amount. The USDC concluded that all Plaintiff had as proof of their claim was an illusory estimate that they never bothered to verify.
Travelers’ motion for summary judgment was granted in full and the Pittsfield Entities’ motions were denied. The Court concluded that the Pittsfield Entities violated the terms of the insurance policy by materially misrepresenting the extent of their damages. Travelers was entitled to summary judgment in its favor on its counterclaim as a matter of law, which also requires judgment in favor of Travelers. Travelers was awarded damages in the amount of $301,537.95, plus interest and costs.
ZALMA OPINION
Every lawyer learns that clients sometimes, if not often, lie to their lawyer. When a lie is established a lawyer has two choices, withdraw as counsel or amend the litigation to fit the real facts. After the testimony of Bluestone, Sabbagh and Harmon is should have been clear to Plaintiffs’ counsel that there was no estimate for removal of asbestos and lead and the plaintiff could not prove a right to that money. Instead, they insisted on an entitlement to the imaginary and unprovable loss and continued pursuing its demands which were fraudulent when first presented to Travelers and continued with two “experts” presented to prove the amount of loss and the testimony of the Insured Danial. The court had no choice but to find that the Plaintiffs submitted a fraudulent claim for more than a million dollars based on a short phone call that was neither a bid nor evidence of damage.
You can find a permanent public version of the document here: https://public.fastcase.com/
H1P9uiW3J20SFp%2bGCG%2bxLfZG6JhN6pf%2foW3GKQEdmHxyncoYbpeciHUq9Jt5Y5lJb41MjTcv7zX0%2fFc8dtgVOA%3d%3d
(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe; orSubscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gmmzUVBy;
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg.
Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations
Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4868
CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES
In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.
Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).
She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.
THE LAW
Pleading Standard.
To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...
Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection
Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma
John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection
BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD
Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”
In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)
The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
THE LAW
Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.
THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...
Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers
Post 4866
Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.
After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.
Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.
Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...