Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
July 11, 2024
Common Law Right Eliminated by Statute

No Right to Rescind Workers’ Compensation in Mississippi

Post 4831

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/g3sf4v5f; see the full video at https://lnkd.in/giTV6SEa and at https://lnkd.in/g3fFfbbv and https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4800 posts.

The Supreme Court of Mississippi answered in the negative the inquiry from the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit that certified the following question to this Court: “Does the Mississippi Workers’ Compensation Act (MWCA) allow an insurer to void ab initio a workers’ compensation policy based on a material misrepresentation?”

The decision came in American Compensation Insurance Company v. Hector Ruiz et al, No. 2023-FC-01160-SCT, Supreme Court of Mississippi (June 27, 2024) the Supreme Court answered the question in the negative.

THE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION STATUTE

The MWCA is silent with regard to the equitable remedy of rescission as are most statutes that have no reason for a statute to deal with equitable remedies.

The statutory contractor (who will be on the hook if the subcontractor’s insurer is permitted to void the policy) argued that, because the MWCA does not provide for rescission-only cancellation and nonrenewal – then rescission is not an available remedy. The insurer (who will be on the hook for millions of dollars if not permitted to void the policy) argued that, because the legislature opted not to address rescission in the MWCA, reasonably argued that the common law remedy of voiding the policy ab initio is available.

The Mississippi Supreme Court noted that a workers’ compensation policy is different. Not only is it governed exclusively by statute, but also it exists to pay benefits to the injured worker.

Because the MWCA makes no provision for an insurer to void a workers’ compensation policy based on a material misrepresentation and because the MWCA exists to ensure injured workers are compensated, the Supreme Court concluded that the MWCA does not allow insurers to void ab initio a workers’ compensation policy based on an employer’s material misrepresentation.

BACKGROUND FACTS

The employer is Hector Ruiz, doing business as Los Primoz Construction. Ruiz was performing work as a subcontractor for contractor Jesco, Incorporated, when his employee Raul Aparacio fell more than fifteen feet and severely injured himself.

Ruiz had a workers’ compensation insurance policy with the American Compensation Insurance Company (ACIC). ACIC initiated a declaratory action in federal court seeking to retroactively void the policy. ACIC alleged that Ruiz materially misrepresented in his application that his company did not perform work more than fifteen feet above ground. ACIC asserted that, had Ruiz been truthful, ACIC would not have issued the policy. It argued that since the statute did not change the common law right to rescind a contract it was entitled to rescind.

The Mississippi Workers’ Compensation Act (MWCA) Controls

The Mississippi Workers’ Compensation Act (MWCA) represents a wide departure from common law by providing compensation to employees accidentally injured during the course and scope of their employment, regardless of fault. This right to recovery comes at the exchange or abrogation of the common law right to recovery from a potentially negligent employer.

RESCISSION IS INCONSISTENT WITH THE STATUTE

Rescission is a retroactive remedy and renders a contract unenforceable from the outset. In the workers’ compensation context, however, the Supreme Court found that allowing rescission is tantamount to allowing an insurer to retroactively cancel a policy rather than the common understanding that a rescinded policy never existed.

The Supreme Court concluded that in Mississippi, voiding the policy ab initio is inconsistent with the “purpose” of Section 71-3-77(1)-which is to provide assurance to the commission that eligible employees are protected under the act.

Finding the MWCA precludes a common law rescission action, the Supreme Court does not hold that an insurer like ACIC has no remedy against an employer who allegedly makes a material misrepresentation. The sole question is whether the MWCA permits the remedy of voiding a policy ab initio based on an employer’s material misrepresentation. And to this question, the Supreme Court answered “no,” it does not.

COLEMAN, JUSTICE, DISSENTING:

Justice Coleman noted that Mississippi has recognized and followed a robust common-law of contracts since well before the State adopted its Workers Compensation Law in 1948 and there is nothing in the Workers’ Compensation Law generally, and nothing in Section 71-3-77 specifically, that abrogates the common law of contracts principle that a contract based on a material misrepresentation is void ab initio. Justice Coleman disagreed with the majority’s holding and answer to the Fifth Circuit’s question because, according to well-settled law, a clear statement of intent, not silence, is required to abrogate the common law.

ZALMA OPINION

Mississippi, like almost every state, applies the common law and its equitable remedies. One of those remedies is called rescission that finds it is unfair to require a person to fulfill the terms of a contract that is obtained as a result of a misrepresentation or concealment of facts material to the acceptance of the contract and treats such contracts as if they never existed. That common law right can only, in my opinion, be eliminated by a direct and specific action of the Legislature. By allowing rescission, the employer instead of the insurer must pay for the workers’ compensation benefits owed to the injured employee, and allowing rescission might deprive that employee of the benefits does not support forcing the insurer to pay millions of dollars of benefits it would not have owed had the insured been truthful. I understand why the court did what it did but believe Justice Coleman was more in line with the law since the Legislature could have included in the statute the elimination of the right to rescission. It did not.

(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe or Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gmmzUVBy

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg.

Go to X @bzalma; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk

00:10:39
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
November 05, 2026
Convicted of Felony Fraud You Lose the Right to Vote

Payment of Fines & Completion of Probation Reinstates Right to Vote

Post 4576

Posted on November 5, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Restore Voting Rights The Felon Must Pay Fines of $546.00

In Florida Supreme Court Mediator Ethics Advisory Committee, ETH F-26-377, No. F-26-377 (October 29, 2026) citizen unnamed and to Ron Desantis Governor, Cord Byrd the Secretary of State Florida Division of Elections provided an advisory opinion to a convicted felon about his right to vote:

To: [redacted] We received your request for an advisory opinion. You indicate that you have one or more felony convictions and request whether you are eligible to vote, including whether you have any outstanding legal financial obligations under section 98.0751, Florida Statutes, and, if so, a statement of the amount that must be paid to make you eligible to vote, and an explanation of how the amount was calculated.

The Division hereby responds to your request pursuant to its legal authority under section 106.23(2), Florida Statutes, and Florida ...

November 04, 2026
Castro Valdez Had an Available Administrative Appeal and Failed to Establish a Ground for Excusing

Administrative Review Permits the Agency to Apply its Expertise

Post 4574

In Erwin Jordan Castro Valdez v. Warden, Otay Mesa Detention Center, No. 26-cv-06147-BAS-JLB, United States District Court, S.D. California (October 30, 2026) Castro Valdez, a Cuban national paroled into the United States, was arrested on June 23, 2026, for alleged insurance fraud, grand theft, and making a false report to law enforcement. In his first habeas action, the district court ordered a bond hearing within fourteen days to determine whether the changed circumstances justified revoking his parole.

An Immigration Judge subsequently denied bond because of his pending state criminal case. Castro Valdez filed a second petition under 28 U.S.C. § 2241, challenging that determination and requesting immediate release without first appealing to the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA).

LAW

According to the supplied text, § 2241 does not expressly require administrative exhaustion, but courts impose exhaustion as a prudential requirement. ...

November 03, 2026
Jury Found Prudential to be the Victim of Fraud

Insured’s Ordered to Pay Insurer for Fraud by the Insureds

Post 4573

Posted on November 3, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In The Prudential Insurance Company Of America v. Carol Gardina and George Gardina, No. 6:23-cv-1125-JSS-DCI, United States District Court, M.D. Florida, Orlando Division (October 22, 2026).

THE JURY TRIAL AND VERDICT

Plaintiff sued Defendants for numerous causes of action stemming from its allegations that Defendants fraudulently collected benefits under their long-term care insurance policies. Plaintiff's case proceeded to a nine-day jury trial, after which the jury found Defendants liable for fraudulent misrepresentation, fraudulent concealment, and civil conspiracy.

The jury also found Defendant Carol Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $1,930,129 in compensatory damages and Defendant George Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $12,496 in compensatory damages and $20 in punitive damages. Thereafter, the court entered judgment in Plaintiff's favor and awarded Plaintiff $1,930,129 in compensatory damages from...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals