Rejection of UIM Cover by Agent Valid
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gH_jX9bZ, se the full video at https://lnkd.in/gFP5pPHU and at https://lnkd.in/gv-zXXTW and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4750 posts.
Post 4786
IBrandon Lawrence appealed the trial court’s order finding Progressive Northern Insurance Co. (Progressive) made a valid, meaningful offer of underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage to his agent, Ashley Outlaw.
In Progressive Northern Insurance Co. v. Brandon Lawrence and Ashley Outlaw, No. 2024-UP-127, Appellate Case No. 2020-001245, Court of Appeals of South Carolina (April 17, 2024) the Court of Appeals explained the law of agency and its relationship to insurance.
FACTS
From 2008 to 2013, Lawrence and Outlaw lived together in the same house with their son; they never married. They split the household expenses, but Outlaw paid the bills and took care of any insurance needs. On August 19, 2009, Outlaw purchased an insurance policy from Progressive to cover Lawrence’s motorcycle; however, Lawrence did not discuss obtaining UIM coverage with Outlaw, nor did he read the policy, did not have any involvement in obtaining the policy, and did not have any contact with Progressive.
The application for the insurance policy was mailed to Lawrence and Outlaw. It listed Outlaw as “Married” and as an “Insured” and Lawrence as “Married” and as Outlaw’s “Spouse.” On September 5, 2009, Outlaw signed the application form and rejected Progressive’s offer of UIM coverage. Outlaw paid the premium for the policy, and Lawrence reimbursed her.
In May 2013, Lawrence was involved in a motorcycle accident. On August 12, 2016, Progressive filed a declaratory judgment action and sought a determination that UIM coverage was offered to Lawrence through his agent, Outlaw, and that Lawrence was bound by Outlaw’s rejection of UIM coverage. The trial court found Lawrence was bound by Outlaw’s rejection of UIM coverage because Lawrence appointed Outlaw as his agent to obtain the policy. Lawrence testified in his deposition and at trial that he knew Outlaw was getting insurance; that he asked her to do so; and that she had his permission to do so.
LAW, ANALYSIS, AGENCY
The Court of Appeals noted that it is well-settled that the relationship of agency between a husband and wife is governed by the same rules which apply to other agencies, and no presumption arises from the mere fact of the marital relationship that one spouse is acting as agent for the other. An agency relationship may be, and frequently is, implied or inferred from the words and conduct of the parties and the circumstances of the particular case.
Therefore, the Court of Appeals held that an agency relationship existed between Lawrence and Outlaw and that Outlaw’s rejection of UIM coverage bound Lawrence. Lawrence stated he assumed Outlaw would purchase UIM coverage, he did not discuss such optional coverage with her, read the policy, check to see if the policy included UIM coverage, or have any contact with Progressive himself. Lawrence gave Outlaw the authority to obtain the insurance policy, and he is bound by Outlaw’s rejection of UIM coverage. To hold otherwise would allow Lawrence to benefit from Outlaw’s procurement of the policy but not be bound by her rejection of UIM coverage.
MEANINGFUL OFFER OF UIM COVERAGE
Automobile insurance carriers must, by statute, “offer, at the option of the insured, underinsured motorist coverage up to the limits of the insured liability coverage . . . .” S.C. Code Ann. § 38-77-160 (2015).
Progressive’s application included the words “Underinsured Motorist Coverage” and several paragraphs that explained what such coverage entailed. Additionally, the information about UIM coverage offered by Progressive was not found in a separate form, the UIM information and rejection form was included within the main application that Outlaw received and signed.
Progressive made a meaningful offer of UIM coverage to Lawrence’s agent, Outlaw.
Progressive’s offer of UIM coverage was made through a form it sent to Lawrence by mail. Progressive’s offer of UIM coverage specifically outlined the limits. Progressive intelligibly advised Outlaw, who acted as Lawrence’s agent, of the UIM coverage.
Outlaw had experience purchasing insurance in the past by regularly handling the insurance needs of the household.
ZALMA OPINION
It’s sad that Lawrence was injured by an underinsured motorist and could not recover from his motorcycle policy because his “wife” rejected Progressive’s offer of UIM coverage as his agent for the motorcycle policy and other insurance policies for their “family.” The case ignored the fact that she lied on the application about a material fact claiming that Outlaw and Lawrence were married, when they were not. If that was a fact material to the decision of Progressive to issue the insurance it could have declared the policy void for material misrepresentation of fact or rescind the policy. Not necessary because there was no UIM cover.
(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg.
Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos. Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gmmzUVBy; Go to X @bzalma; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk; Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/gV9QJYH.
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions
Post 4863
Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.
The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.
Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...
Title Insurance Only Insures Real Property
Posted on October 13, 2026 by Barry Zalma
When a Seller Advised it Could Not Obtain Title to the Home Fraud Can’t be Proved
A Manufactured Home is Personal Property Until it Becomes Real Property
Post 4862
In Dale Johnson and Rose Johnson, Husband and Wife v. Stewart Title Guaranty Co., and Lennar Mortgage, LLC; Low Va Rates, LLC; Sandpoint Title Insurance, Inc.; Village Capital & Investment, LLC; and David Cassel, Engineer Agent; and Unknown Does 1-50, inclusively, No. 53126, Court of Appeals of Idaho (October 9, 2026) Dale and Rose Johnson purchased Idaho real property in 2012 with a manufactured home on it. Their purchase addendum acknowledged that the seller could not obtain title to the home, that evidence of title and an ALTA-7 endorsement might not be available, and that they accepted the home “as is.”
In 2020, after a HELOC application was denied, the Johnsons learned that the home had been wrecked and decertified in 2004 and that its 2006 conversion to real ...
Denial Of Mental Health Diversion And Probation Condition Were Affirmed
Posted on October 9, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4860
In The People v. Nicholas Daniel Stiles, A173483, A173646, California Court of Appeals, First District, Second Division (September 29, 2026) Nicholas Daniel Stiles pleaded no contest to one count of insurance fraud arising from his purchase of automobile insurance after a June 2021 collision, and to grand theft arising from an April 2024 incident at a 7-Eleven.
In both cases, the trial court suspended imposition of sentence and placed him on two years’ probation. Before the pleas, Stiles sought mental health diversion in both matters and filed a written motion seeking substitute appointed counsel. The diversion applications were denied, and the court never held a hearing on the motion.
LAW
Penal Code section 1001.36 permits pretrial mental health diversion when a defendant is eligible and suitable and the proposed treatment will meet the defendant’s specialized needs; denial is reviewed for ...