Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
April 12, 2024
Fairly Debatable Action by Insurer

Reasonable & Arguable Reason to Deny Claim not Bad Faith

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gP9dTb2F, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/g_7BfJJC and at https://lnkd.in/geHsBqV7 and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4750 posts.

Post 4778

William A. Lemons, Jr., M.D., a doctor who specialized in obstetrics and gynecology (“OB/GYN”), sued Principal Life Insurance Company (“Principal”) for breach of contract and bad faith for its refusal to pay him disability benefits under a “regular occupation rider” provision contained in his insurance policy with the company. A jury returned a verdict in favor of Lemons on the breach of contract claim and in favor of Principal on the bad-faith claim.

William A. Lemons, Jr. MD v. Principal Life Insurance Company, No. 22-12064, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (April 5, 2024)

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Lemons decided to open his own OB/GYN practice, which he called Covenant Gynecology & Wellness, P.C. (“Covenant”). In October 2015, during Covenant’s business development phase, Lemons worked for Blue Cross Blue Shield (“BCBS”) as an insurance claims consultant. A few months later, in February 2016, he began working at the Birmingham Metro Treatment Center, an opioid addiction treatment and recovery facility. A month later, he started working at the Fritz Clinic, another opioid treatment clinic.

In April 2016, Lemons opened Covenant and started seeing patients. He did not deliver babies or otherwise engage in obstetrics, and he did not submit any insurance claims for any obstetrics-related work. Eventually, Lemons devoted most of his time and resources to Covenant, and he reduced the number of hours at his other jobs to concentrate more on his OB/GYN practice. Lemons’ solo medical practice was unsuccessful. On July 15, 2016, he closed Covenant because he was not seeing enough patients. Lemons’s deteriorating health also played a significant role in his decision to close Covenant. Beginning in 2013, Lemons started developing hand tremors and was officially diagnosed with a neurological condition in March 2016.

In November 2016, Lemons completed a disability claim form and reported that, as of July 15, 2016, he was totally disabled and could no longer work as an OB/GYN. Lemons was interviewed and stated that he was working at BCBS approximately 15 hours per week, at Birmingham Metro approximately 12-18 hours per week, and at the Fritz Clinic 4 hours per week. He maintained that, at the time of his disability, his regular occupation was as an OB/GYN and, therefore, Principal should approve his claim under the “regular occupation rider.” The claims person responded that because Lemons was working other non-OB/GYN jobs when he became disabled, Principal could not just look at his occupation as an OB/GYN and would need to consider his other jobs in evaluating his claim.

Principal eventually approved Lemons’ claim under a “loss of earnings” provision in the policy based on the reduction to Lemons’s income as a result of his disability. A few weeks later, on February 9, 2017, Principal denied Lemons’s claim for benefits under the “regular occupation rider” provision. Principal explained that, because Lemons regularly worked at BCBS, Birmingham Metro, and the Fritz Clinic prior to the onset of his disability, he was not “totally disabled from all occupations that [he was] engaged in prior to [d]isability” as the regular occupation rider required.

ANALYSIS

The Supreme Court of Alabama has made clear that mental anguish damages are unavailable for breach of contract claims related to long-term disability insurance policies. Therefore, the Eleventh Circuit affirmed the district court’s ruling as to Lemons’s recoverable damages.

The “Benefit Update Rider” Claim

Lemons acknowledges that he did not specifically plead a separate claim related to the “benefit update rider” provision. It is undisputed that Principal sent letters to Lemons regarding the “benefit update rider” provision in 2004, 2007, and 2010. The 2004 letter explained that his benefits had increased to $10,000 per month, and the subsequent letters informed him that his benefits had been capped at that amount.

The Bad-Faith Claim

The Eleventh Circuit concluded that the district court did not err in denying Lemons’ motions. At trial, Lemons testified that he spent most of his time working at Covenant prior to the onset of his disability. He admitted that he did not derive any income from his practice at Covenant and did not submit any insurance claims for OB/GYN services to patients. The jury also could have found that Principal had an arguable reason for not issuing Lemons benefits pursuant to the “regular occupation rider” policy provision because the evidence showed that Principal gathered-as part of its decisional process-information suggesting that Lemons’s regular occupation was not as an OB/GYN.

The verdict in this case was not against the clear weight of evidence given the genuine issue of fact as to whether a breach of contract occurred. The Eleventh Circuit affirmed the district court’s judgment.

ZALMA OPINION

Lawyers representing people whose claim was rejected in whole or in part will always include a cause of action for the tort of bad faith and seek exemplary as well as tort damages. However, if, as in this case the insurer honors the claim that was available to the insured and refused to provide benefits related to his specialty of OB/GYN because he tried but never acted as an OB/GYN and admitted he made no money from the failed practice. They paid what they owed and there was neither a genuine dispute about the coverage nor were the actions of the insurer fairly debatable.

(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Go to X @bzalma; Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg.

Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk. 

Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g

 Go to X @bzalma; Go to Newsbreak.com https://lnkd.in/g8azKc34; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/gV9QJYH; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://lnkd.in/g2hGv88. Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk. 

00:08:57
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
1 hour ago
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES Post 4868 In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insura

Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations

Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4868

CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES

In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.

Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).

She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.

THE LAW

Pleading Standard.

To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...

post photo preview
October 16, 2026

Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs

Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs

Post 4867

In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND

Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.

Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...

post photo preview
October 15, 2026
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter – October 15, 2026

ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM

Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma

THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL

Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.

ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.

It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.

Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme

Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.

RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered

Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals