Read the full article at See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gWb_AWHW and at https://lnkd.in/gXUrxVYT and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gWb_AWHW and at https://lnkd.in/gXUrxVYT and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4750 posts.
Failure to Provide a Proper Standard for Damages Reduced Judgement
Post 4758
In Malcolm Wiener v. AXA Equitable Life Insurance Company, No. 3:18-cv-00106-RJC-DSC, United States District Court, W.D. North Carolina, Charlotte Division (March 8, 2024) Wiener obtained a $16 Million jury award that the Fourth Circuit required the USDC to address AXA's argument for post-trial relief challenging the amount of damages AXA argued that the jury rested its $16 million award on an improper standard, and thus, that the award lacks a basis in substantial evidence.
BACKGROUND
In 1986 and 1987, Malcolm Wiener purchased three life insurance policies from AXA Equitable Life Insurance Company with a total face value of $16 million. In December 2013, each of the three policies lapsed for nonpayment of premiums. Wiener sought reinstatement, but AXA denied his application.
The current case relates only to AXA's negligence in coding Wiener's medical history. In January 2018, Wiener filed the present action alleging, among other things, that AXA was negligent in “failing to adequately read, understand and verify and accurately report Plaintiff's medical history, conditions and events to third parties." According to evidence introduced at trial, Wiener sought new insurance coverage from at least eight carriers but two denied him coverage altogether and those that offered insurance made only preliminary, revocable offers for $10 million policies at double the standard rate. Wiener's history of atrial fibrillation and monoclonal gammopathy was the basis for the refusals.
The Fourth Circuit addressed the causation issue, holding that “[a]mple evidence supported the jury's verdict for Wiener.” “But because AXA's argument for post-trial relief challenging the amount of damages . . . was neither raised nor briefed before [the Fourth Circuit],” the panel remanded that narrow issue back to the USDC.
DISCUSSION
AXA contended the jury based its award on an improper standard (the $16 million death benefit from his lapsed policies); and second, that, even if the $16 million death benefit was an appropriate measure, Wiener failed to provide necessary evidence of future premiums to offset that $16 million award.
Under North Carolina law, the party seeking damages must show that the amount of damages is based upon a standard that will allow the finder of fact to calculate the amount of damages with reasonable certainty.
Here, the jury awarded Wiener actual damages of $16 million before deducting $8 million for his own failure to mitigate. The jury's award, AXA argued, relied upon an improper standard because this action sought compensatory damages for AXA's negligence in coding Wiener's medical history, not reinstatement of Wiener's previous policies.
The Court found that Wiener's lapsed $16 million death benefit is an improper baseline of damages. Because Wiener offered no baseline to support the jury's $16 million award, the award lacks a sufficient evidentiary basis.
Throughout this case, Wiener has offered no expert testimony or other evidence of the damage caused by his effective uninsurability. And the record makes clear that, even absent the erroneous MIB codes, Wiener was effectively uninsurable or uninsurable at a reasonable cost. The Court found that “no substantial evidence” supports the jury's $16 million actual damages award.
Even extending Wiener “the benefit of all reasonable inferences” and resolving all disputed facts in his favor, the Court found that no jury, viewing the evidence in the light most favorable to the winning party, could have properly reached the conclusion reached by this jury on compensatory damages. The Court found that the damages award was against the clear weight of the evidence and conditionally granted a new trial in the event that the Order is vacated or reversed.
AXA Equitable Life Insurance Company's Renewed Motion for Judgment as a Matter of Law, was granted. The jury verdict was set aside, and Plaintiff Malcolm Wiener is instead entitled to an award of nominal damages in the amount of one dollar ($1).
ZALMA OPINION
Nothing is certain in the law. The $16 million verdict was overturned because, although the jury felt bad for Mr. Weiner, the reason his insurance policies lapsed was that he did not pay the premium and when he tried to reinstate them his health conditions had changed and he was uninsurable. The jury rewarded him with the cash value of the policies that would have been available if he had paid the premium which had no relationship to the actual alleged tortious conduct. The big verdict became nothing more than a piece of paper that counsel could frame and hang on a wall but will not result in cash to the plaintiff.
(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg.
Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/gV9QJYH; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Payment of Fines & Completion of Probation Reinstates Right to Vote
Post 4576
Posted on November 5, 2026 by Barry Zalma
To Restore Voting Rights The Felon Must Pay Fines of $546.00
In Florida Supreme Court Mediator Ethics Advisory Committee, ETH F-26-377, No. F-26-377 (October 29, 2026) citizen unnamed and to Ron Desantis Governor, Cord Byrd the Secretary of State Florida Division of Elections provided an advisory opinion to a convicted felon about his right to vote:
To: [redacted] We received your request for an advisory opinion. You indicate that you have one or more felony convictions and request whether you are eligible to vote, including whether you have any outstanding legal financial obligations under section 98.0751, Florida Statutes, and, if so, a statement of the amount that must be paid to make you eligible to vote, and an explanation of how the amount was calculated.
The Division hereby responds to your request pursuant to its legal authority under section 106.23(2), Florida Statutes, and Florida ...
Administrative Review Permits the Agency to Apply its Expertise
Post 4574
In Erwin Jordan Castro Valdez v. Warden, Otay Mesa Detention Center, No. 26-cv-06147-BAS-JLB, United States District Court, S.D. California (October 30, 2026) Castro Valdez, a Cuban national paroled into the United States, was arrested on June 23, 2026, for alleged insurance fraud, grand theft, and making a false report to law enforcement. In his first habeas action, the district court ordered a bond hearing within fourteen days to determine whether the changed circumstances justified revoking his parole.
An Immigration Judge subsequently denied bond because of his pending state criminal case. Castro Valdez filed a second petition under 28 U.S.C. § 2241, challenging that determination and requesting immediate release without first appealing to the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA).
LAW
According to the supplied text, § 2241 does not expressly require administrative exhaustion, but courts impose exhaustion as a prudential requirement. ...
Insured’s Ordered to Pay Insurer for Fraud by the Insureds
Post 4573
Posted on November 3, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In The Prudential Insurance Company Of America v. Carol Gardina and George Gardina, No. 6:23-cv-1125-JSS-DCI, United States District Court, M.D. Florida, Orlando Division (October 22, 2026).
THE JURY TRIAL AND VERDICT
Plaintiff sued Defendants for numerous causes of action stemming from its allegations that Defendants fraudulently collected benefits under their long-term care insurance policies. Plaintiff's case proceeded to a nine-day jury trial, after which the jury found Defendants liable for fraudulent misrepresentation, fraudulent concealment, and civil conspiracy.
The jury also found Defendant Carol Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $1,930,129 in compensatory damages and Defendant George Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $12,496 in compensatory damages and $20 in punitive damages. Thereafter, the court entered judgment in Plaintiff's favor and awarded Plaintiff $1,930,129 in compensatory damages from...