Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
February 28, 2024
Ignore Court Orders at Your Peril

Frivolous Litigation and Frivolous Appeal Causes Default to Be Entered

Barry Zalma
Feb 28, 2024

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gPeferTP, sd at https://lnkd.in/gf-priVr and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4700 posts.

Post 4744

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gPeferTP, sd at https://lnkd.in/gf-priVr and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4700 posts.

PROOF OF FRAUDULENT CLAIM REQUIRED SUIT

Transamerica Life Insurance Company (“Transamerica”) sued Akop Arutyunyan and his daughter Anahit Arutyunyan for allegedly engaging in a conspiracy to defraud Transamerica into paying benefits under a long-term care insurance policy.

In Transamerica Life Insurance Company v. Akop Arutyunyan; Anahit Arutyunyan, No. 22-55199, United States Court of Appeals, Ninth Circuit (February 22, 2024) Transamerica sued to avoid paying benefits to a fraudulent disability claim.

FACTS

In March 2016, Transamerica issued a life insurance policy to Anahit, which covered her father, Akop, as the “Insured.” The policy included a “Comprehensive Long Term Care Insurance Rider,” that generally agreed to “pay a Monthly Long Term Care Benefit when the Insured has incurred expenses for Qualified Long Term Care Services.”

Akop filed a claim for benefits under the rider. Transamerica, unsure about the claim, conducted surveillance of Akop and an inconclusive IME and paid while conducting further surveillance showed that Akop was continuing to engage in activities that were inconsistent with his claimed level of impairment.

ABUSE OF TRIAL COURT ORDERS

Concluding that Defendants had repeatedly failed to obey court orders, the Ninth Circuit found it was abundantly clear appellants arguments were wholly without merit.

The multiple misstatements by counsel requred an order to show cause that may ultimately call for the application of “Hanlon’s Razor”: “Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity.”

The Ninth Circuit found a default judgment as a sanction was appropriate and that the appeal was frivolous.

ZALMA OPINION

Transamerica was the victim of a blatant fraud. Surveillance established that the disability claimed by the defendant did not exist and so Transamerica sued to end the payment of benefits to the defendants only to be met with recalcitrant defendants and defense lawyer who refused to obey any court order, lied to the trial court and to the Ninth Circuit and may find criminal charges pending and a law license in jeopardy. The actions of Transamerica actions should be emulated by every insurer faced with a fraudulent claim and the California Bar should take action against the lawyer if he cannot show good cause for his actions and the US Attorney should consider the criminal conduct.
Transcript
This is Barry Zalma speaking for Claims School Incorporated's blog, Zalma on Insurance.
Today we're going to speak about why ignoring a court order is done at the peril of the client and the lawyer and why a frivolous litigation and frivolous appeal causes a default judgment to be entered against the parties.
Proof of fraudulent claim is
Received by Transamerica Life Insurance Company required it to litigate with its insurers.
Transamerica Life Insurance Company sued a cop, Artunian, and his daughter, Anahit Artunian, for allegedly engaging in a conspiracy to defraud Transamerica into paying benefits under a long-term care insurance policy.
In Transamerica Life vs. the Artunians, the United States Court of Appeal for the Ninth Circuit on February 22, 2024 sued to avoid paying benefits to a fraudulent disability claim.
In March of 2016, Transamerica issued a life insurance policy to Anahit
which covered her father ACOP as the insured.
The policy included a comprehensive long-term care insurance writer under which Transamerica generally agreed to pay a monthly long-term care benefit when the insured is incurred expenses for qualified long-term care services.
One of the requirements for triggering this long-term care coverage was that the insured qualified as a chronically ill individual.
In December of 2018, ACOP filed a claim for benefits under the Rider alleging that he had torn his left rotator cuff and suffered from spinal arthritis.
The following month, a nurse conducted an on-site assessment of ACOP at his home in order to determine whether ACOP was eligible to receive benefits under the Rider.
Anahit also provided written confirmation to Transamerica that
He had hired Mr. Brinskian as his caregiver.
In light of the information provided by the defendants, Transamerica approved the claim and began paying ACOP benefits.
Over the next several months, because of suspicions, Transamerica conducted surveillance of ACOP in order to determine whether the representations made in support of the claim for benefits were accurate.
The surveillance revealed that Priskin never visited ACOP's home, in spite of the fact that on each date of surveillance ACOP represented to Transamerica and signed and certified proof-of-law statements that he received between three and eight hours of care services from Mr. Priskin in his home.
Based on the initial surveillance, Transamerica invoked its rights under the rider to require ACOP to submit to an independent medical exam.
The doctor who performed the evaluation, Dr. Molinar, examined ACOP in April of 2019, and because the IME determination was sufficient to support ACOP's continuing claimed eligibility for long-term care benefits, Transamerica continued paying benefits to him.
Further surveillance allegedly confirmed that Pritzkin did not provide care to ACOP on the dates represented by ACOP to Transamerica.
Transamerica's further surveillance also purportedly showed that ACOP was continuing to engage in activities that were inconsistent with this claimed level of impairment.
Transamerica sued seeking an order that it did not owe ACOP.
The court concluding that the defendants had repeatedly failed to obey court orders related to the discovery process, the district court ultimately entered default judgment against the Artoonians.
Defendants have timely appealed the judgment, but the Ninth Circuit concluded that their arguments in the court
We're Frivolous.
Moreover, when called upon to defend his disregard of the district court's orders, defendants counseled an oral argument in the court, made multiple blatantly false statements about his and his clients' responses to the court's orders.
In May of 2020, Transamerica sued the defendants, alleging that they had obtained insurance benefits through fraud.
Specifically, Transamerica asserted monetary claims based on fraud, civil theft, civil conspiracy, and restitution.
The defendants filed their response to the order to show cause on September 13.
Three days late, defendants challenged the district court's ultimate decision
To Enter a Default Judgment as a Sanction for a Defendant's Violation of Court Orders.
The District Court applied a measured and gradational approach in responding to the defendant's noncompliance with the court's order and the local rules.
The Ninth Circuit found it is abundantly clear that the result is obvious and the appellant's arguments were wholly without merit.
Moreover, at oral argument for the appeal, Defendant's counsel repeatedly minimized, if not misrepresented, his lack of compliance with the district court's orders in this case.
For example, at one point during argument, counsel asserted that, quote, in terms of our compliance with the court's order, at no point did we ignore or flout our responsibility to respond to discovery, close quote.
It may well be that when it comes to evaluating these multiple misstatements, this case may ultimately call for the application of what has been called, quote, Hanlon's razor, close quote, which provides, quote, never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity, close quote.
In view of the frivolous nature of the appeal,
and the multiple misstatements made by counsel at oral argument.
The Ninth Circuit ordered the defendants and their counsel by separate order filed contemporaneously to show cause why the court should not impose sanctions against them.
Defendants' counsel was likewise ordered to show cause why this court should not refer the matter to the State Bar of California.
The Ninth Circuit upheld the District Court's order deeming defendants' objections to certain items of discovery to be forfeited in requiring production of those items.
By failing to present any sufficient argument in their opening brief as to why the District Court's stated grounds for that decision were erroneous, defendants forfeited any challenge to that order on appeal, and in addition, it held that the District Court did not abuse its discretion in entering a default judgment as sanctions for defendants' violation of the Court's order.
Finally, the Ninth Circuit held that the appeal was and is frivolous.
In my opinion, Transamerica was the victim of a blatant fraud.
Surveillance established that the disability claimed by the defendant did not exist and so Transamerica, after giving him every benefit of the doubt, sued to end the payment of benefits to the defendants and for reimbursement and damages only to be met with a recalcitrant defendants and defense lawyer
who refused to obey any court order, lied to the trial court and to the Ninth Circuit, and may find criminal charges pending and a law license in jeopardy.
The actions of Transamerica should be emulated by every insurer faced with a fraudulent claim, and the California Bar should take action against the lawyer if he cannot show good cause for his actions, and the U.S.
Attorney should consider the criminal conduct.
Of the Defendants.
This video was adapted from my blog, Zalma on Insurance, which is available free to anyone who clicks on the URL zalma.com slash blog and subscribes.
If you subscribe, you will be provided with notice of every blog post, usually five, sometimes six a week, and access to the more than 4,700 blog postings.
You can also subscribe to these videos
at rumble.com and on youtube.com and if you do I'd appreciate it if you click on the thumbs up button at rumble or the like button on youtube and please tell your friends and colleagues about the blog and the videos and let them also subscribe to help them in their profession
And if you're interested in more detail about insurance, insurance claims, insurance fraud and insurance law, please consider for a very small fee subscribing to my Substack publication.
Thank you for your attention.

(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g

Go to: X @bzalma; Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/gV9QJYH; the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g

Go to: X @bzalma; Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/gV9QJYH

The Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk

00:09:49
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
October 19, 2026
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES Post 4868 In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insura

Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations

Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4868

CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES

In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.

Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).

She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.

THE LAW

Pleading Standard.

To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...

post photo preview
October 22, 2026
John Madden and The US Patent and Trademark Office

Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection

Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma

John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection

BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD

Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”

In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)

The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.

THE LAW

Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.

THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...

post photo preview
October 21, 2026
Supervisory Officials are not Individually Liable

Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers

Post 4866

Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.

After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.

Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.

Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals