Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
January 03, 2024
Failure to Reside at Dwelling Eliminates Coverage

FOR COVERAGE TO EXIST ON A HOMEOWNERS POLICY THE INSURED MUST RESIDE AT THE RESIDENCE

Barry Zalma
Jan 3, 2024

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gfgekMeA and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gK_FSwTv and at https://lnkd.in/gGHwurJK and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4700 posts.

The USDC was asked to grant dueling motions for summary judgment: (1) Motion for Summary Judgment filed by Defendant Nationwide Mutual Fire Insurance Company (“Nationwide”); and (2) Motion for Partial Summary Judgment filed by Plaintiff Maurice Heh, substituted by Perry Rutter and Mary Jane Urbanec, Executor and Executrix of Heh’s Estate (hereinafter collectively referred to as “Heh”).

In Perry Rutter And Mary Jane Urbanec, Executor And Executrix Of The Estate Of Maurice Heh, Deceased v. Nationwide Mutual Fire Insurance CompanyP, Civil Action No. 20-1581, United States District Court, W.D. Pennsylvania (December 22, 2023) the USDC resolved the dueling motions.

BACKGROUND

Heh owned a home at 206 Parklane Drive in Braddock, Pennsylvania. At all times relevant to this case, Nationwide insured the risks of loss to the structure and contents of the home.

NATIONWIDE INSURANCE POLICY

Heh’s Nationwide Homeowner Policy names Heh as the insured and lists the Property on its Declarations under “Residence Premises Information.” At Page A1 of the Policy, under “Insuring agreement,” Nationwide avers that coverage is contingent on “compliance with all the policy provisions.” Coverage A (Dwelling) is described as coverage of “[t]he dwelling on the residence premises used mainly as your private residence, including attached structures and attached wall-to-wall carpeting.” Coverage C (Personal Property) is described as the coverage of “personal property owned or used by an insured at the residence premises.”

The term “residence premises” is defined as the “one, two, three or four-family dwelling, other structures and grounds located at the mailing address shown on the Declarations unless otherwise indicated.”

THE PROPERTY

Heh purchased the Property in 1990 and resided there with his wife until her passing. On January 1, 2019, Heh agreed to rent the Property and he and tenants entered a leasing agreement. There were indicia in the record that the agreement between Heh and his tenants provided for the possibility that the tenants would rent to own. There were also indicia in the record that Heh included his furniture-either for the tenants’ use during their occupancy or for the tenants to own-in the agreement.

After Heh leased the Property he moved to Point Pleasant Retirement Community. Once he moved into Point Pleasant, it is undisputed that Heh did not at any point move back to the Property.

FIRE AT THE PROPERTY

On February 3, 2020, before the tenants had fully moved out of the Property, there was a fire that resulted in significant physical damage to Heh’s home and the personal property inside of it. After the fire Nationwide investigated the cause of the loss and denied coverage “based upon the policy provision related to the occupancy of the dwelling.” In its investigation, Nationwide determined that Heh “had not resided in the residence premises for an extended period and had not notified Nationwide that the property was rented to tenants.”

Heh sued Nationwide and alleged that an adjuster had determined that the loss caused by the fire resulted in damages over the Policy limit of $172,400.00.

DISCUSSION

Nationwide, in its summary judgment motion, argued the Policy predicates coverage under both coverage provisions on the insured residing at the Property. Nationwide established that there was no factual debate about whether Heh was living at the Property.

Coverage A (Dwelling)

Nationwide argued that Heh’s failure to reside at the Property was an appropriate basis for denial of Coverage A (Dwelling). Because there was no dispute Heh did not reside at the Property at the time of the fire or for a significant amount of time prior thereto, Coverage A (Dwelling) was unambiguously unavailable to him. Such coverage was only available for the dwelling on the residence premises that is used “mainly” as the named insured’s private residence. Since the terms of Coverage A (Dwelling) are not reasonably susceptible to an interpretation that would entitle Heh to coverage where the Property was not being used “in the principal respect” or “more than anything else” as his private residence the Court granted Nationwide’s motion with respect to Heh’s allegation of breach of contract for failure to provide coverage under Coverage A (Dwelling).

Coverage C (Personal Property)

When the Policy is read as a whole and its meaning construed according to its plain language, Coverage C (Personal Property) is conditioned upon the named insured’s residence at the residence premises.

While the Court was not unsympathetic to Heh’s protestation that he should benefit from coverage when he lived at the Property and paid insurance premiums for decades before the 2020 fire, the Court concluded that it was required to give effect to unambiguous language of the Policy.

Nationwide’s Motion for Summary Judgment was granted and Heh’s Motion for Partial Summary Judgment was denied.

ZALMA OPINION

Anyone who reads a homeowners policy – as did the USDC – will see that it only provides coverage if the insured actually lives at the property that is the subject of the insurance. Heh left the residence and moved into a retirement facility. He did not tell his insurer of his move or attempt to obtain coverage for the property as a rental property that is commonly available. As a result of his decision to move Mr. Heh paid for insurance that provided no coverage for the loss to the property although it did provide liability coverage. I, as was the court, am not unsympathetic to the loss incurred by Mr. Heh, he has no one to blame for his loss but himself.

(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01

Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – http://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gus8Mzkq to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYkxD.

00:10:46
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
November 05, 2026
Convicted of Felony Fraud You Lose the Right to Vote

Payment of Fines & Completion of Probation Reinstates Right to Vote

Post 4576

Posted on November 5, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Restore Voting Rights The Felon Must Pay Fines of $546.00

In Florida Supreme Court Mediator Ethics Advisory Committee, ETH F-26-377, No. F-26-377 (October 29, 2026) citizen unnamed and to Ron Desantis Governor, Cord Byrd the Secretary of State Florida Division of Elections provided an advisory opinion to a convicted felon about his right to vote:

To: [redacted] We received your request for an advisory opinion. You indicate that you have one or more felony convictions and request whether you are eligible to vote, including whether you have any outstanding legal financial obligations under section 98.0751, Florida Statutes, and, if so, a statement of the amount that must be paid to make you eligible to vote, and an explanation of how the amount was calculated.

The Division hereby responds to your request pursuant to its legal authority under section 106.23(2), Florida Statutes, and Florida ...

November 04, 2026
Castro Valdez Had an Available Administrative Appeal and Failed to Establish a Ground for Excusing

Administrative Review Permits the Agency to Apply its Expertise

Post 4574

In Erwin Jordan Castro Valdez v. Warden, Otay Mesa Detention Center, No. 26-cv-06147-BAS-JLB, United States District Court, S.D. California (October 30, 2026) Castro Valdez, a Cuban national paroled into the United States, was arrested on June 23, 2026, for alleged insurance fraud, grand theft, and making a false report to law enforcement. In his first habeas action, the district court ordered a bond hearing within fourteen days to determine whether the changed circumstances justified revoking his parole.

An Immigration Judge subsequently denied bond because of his pending state criminal case. Castro Valdez filed a second petition under 28 U.S.C. § 2241, challenging that determination and requesting immediate release without first appealing to the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA).

LAW

According to the supplied text, § 2241 does not expressly require administrative exhaustion, but courts impose exhaustion as a prudential requirement. ...

November 03, 2026
Jury Found Prudential to be the Victim of Fraud

Insured’s Ordered to Pay Insurer for Fraud by the Insureds

Post 4573

Posted on November 3, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In The Prudential Insurance Company Of America v. Carol Gardina and George Gardina, No. 6:23-cv-1125-JSS-DCI, United States District Court, M.D. Florida, Orlando Division (October 22, 2026).

THE JURY TRIAL AND VERDICT

Plaintiff sued Defendants for numerous causes of action stemming from its allegations that Defendants fraudulently collected benefits under their long-term care insurance policies. Plaintiff's case proceeded to a nine-day jury trial, after which the jury found Defendants liable for fraudulent misrepresentation, fraudulent concealment, and civil conspiracy.

The jury also found Defendant Carol Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $1,930,129 in compensatory damages and Defendant George Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $12,496 in compensatory damages and $20 in punitive damages. Thereafter, the court entered judgment in Plaintiff's favor and awarded Plaintiff $1,930,129 in compensatory damages from...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals