Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
November 24, 2023
You Win Some & You Lose Some

USDC Should Have Considered the Intentional Act Statute

Barry Zalma
Nov 24, 2023

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gPNCydH4 and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gbjtcMMU and at https://lnkd.in/gHVKDFnS and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4700 posts.

California State Grange (“Grange”) brought this action as a judgment creditor of non-party Chico Community Guilds (“Guilds”) seeking to recover from Guilds’ insurer Carolina Casualty Insurance Company (“Carolina Casualty”) damages awarded by the state court. The underlying judgment followed a lawsuit quieting title to real and personal property wrongfully converted by Guilds. Grange appealed the district court’s grant of Carolina Casualty’s motion to dismiss without leave to amend based on its conclusion that the underlying claims were not covered under the policy.

In California State Grange v. Carolina Casualty Insurance Company, No. 22-16169, United States Court of Appeals, Ninth Circuit (November 13, 2023) the Ninth Circuit Agreed to the District Court’s ruling in part and sent the case back to the court to another part of the case.

FACTS

Grange sued Guilds in Butte County Superior Court over the assets of Chico Grange No. 486 in which Grange brought several causes of action including cancellation of deed and quiet title, slander of title, and conversion. On February 25, 2021, the state court entered a ruling granting summary judgment to Grange on all claims. The judgment awarded in relevant part:

  • the cancellation of the unauthorized deed recorded by Guilds in 2017;

  • $23,167.50 in attorney’s fees related to the slander of title claim;

  • “damages for conversion” of bank accounts in the amount of $80,697.68 plus $9,307.87 in prejudgment interest; and

  • $1,945.49 in costs.

Grange sued Carolina Casualty in the USDC seeking a declaration that Carolina Casualty has a duty to indemnify Guilds under the policy to collect on the judgment for all monies awarded. The district court dismissed Grange’s suit without leave to amend.

ANALYSIS

The district court did not err in dismissing Grange’s claim for indemnification as to the conversion damages and prejudgment interest awarded by the Butte County Superior Court as restitution not covered under the policy. In the state court’s ruling on summary judgment, the Butte County Superior Court noted that Grange was not seeking title to the other personal property items identified in the complaint, but rather, only sought the converted funds totaling at least $80,697.69 in Guilds’ bank accounts, which, in turn was the exact amount awarded.

The relevant insurance policy explicitly excepts disgorgement or restitution from the definition of damages covered under the policy. Because the conversion damages and prejudgment interest awarded by the Butte County Superior Court was restitution not covered under the policy, the district court’s dismissal as to that claim was affirmed.

The USDC failed to consider whether the attorney’s fees awarded pursuant to the slander of title claim may have been covered under the policy where a wrongful act is defined as including any “error, misstatement, [or] misleading statement.” Slander of title involves the publication of a false statement that could be negligent.

The district court also failed to consider whether such coverage would implicate California Insurance Code § 533. Carolina Casualty argued that under such an interpretation – if slander of title is a wrongful act because it includes a misleading statement – coverage is barred under California Insurance Code § 533 because such an action would be purposeful.

Despite Carolina Casualty’s contention to the contrary, a willful act does not include negligent misrepresentations within the meaning of section 533. Bearnaise Butte County Superior Court made no finding as to whether Guilds’ actions were done with the requisite “willfulness” the applicability of section 533 is thus not readily apparent on the face of the record before the Ninth Circuit. Because the district court failed to consider the available, alternative basis for coverage under the policy that may be vulnerable to the argument that coverage was barred by section 533, the district court should reconsider the interpretive question.

The district court’s dismissal of Grange’s claim for attorney’s fees was vacated and remanded for reconsideration consistent with the opinion.

Because the issue for which the case is now being remanded was not considered by the district court because it would be futile, the district court did not err by denying California State Grange leave to amend.

ZALMA OPINION

The Ninth Circuit, trying to help a plaintiff to recover from an insurer when coverage is questionable, sent the case back to the District Court to determine if the acts of the Guilds were sufficiently intentional to bring into effect California Insurance Code Section 533 or not. If the USDC finds it willful then Carolina Casualty will owe nothing and if not it will owe a few dollars more. In so doing the Ninth Circuit makes the litigation a punishment of the insurer who was required to deal with a suit and an appeal on a policy that probably owed nothing but it will cost more to succeed than to pay off the plaintiff.

(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com at https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe or at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01

Follow me on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all...

Daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.

Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – http://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g

Go to Newsbreak.com https://lnkd.in/g8azKc34 Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/gV9QJYH; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYkxD.

00:08:48
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
4 hours ago
Suit Must be Ripe When Filed

A Suit Filed Before the Claim Exists is Fatal

Post 4870

Posted on October 20, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly; Somerset Services, Inc.; And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC, and Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC Nos. 2024-CA-1471-MR, 2025-CA-1366-MR, Court of Appeals of Kentucky (October 9, 2026) Louis Briggs was arrested in 2014 after an incident with police and charged with several offenses, including third-degree assault.

Probable cause was found and an indictment was returned, but the charges were eventually dismissed. His attorney, Shaun Wimberly, then filed a federal civil rights suit for Briggs in a United States district court, which also asserted state-law claims. The district court dismissed most of the claims and declined to exercise jurisdiction over the remaining state-law claims. Briggs blamed Wimberly for the result, fired him, and appealed to the Sixth Circuit.

While the federal appeal was pending, Briggs filed a legal malpractice action against Wimberly in the Jefferson Circuit Court. The Sixth ...

post photo preview
October 19, 2026
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES Post 4868 In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insura

Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations

Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4868

CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES

In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.

Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).

She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.

THE LAW

Pleading Standard.

To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...

post photo preview
October 16, 2026

Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs

Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs

Post 4867

In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND

Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.

Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals