Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
November 23, 2023
No Sprinklers – No Coverage

Breach of Condition Precedent Defeats Policy

Barry Zalma
Nov 23, 2023

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gufbr2Ck and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gGHC7Ybk and at https://lnkd.in/g99P8G-4 and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4700 posts.

Blog Post 4673

Plaintiff appealed the trial court’s order granting summary disposition in favor of defendant. In 23771 Blackstone, LLC v. Conifer Insurance Company, No. 364333, Court of Appeals of Michigan (November 16, 2023) the Plaintiff sought to avoid the fact it breached the material condition requiring it to maintain a fire sprinkler system as a protective safeguard.

FACTS

A fire occurred at plaintiff’s building in Warren, Michigan. The building housed a marijuana growing operation. Defendant insured the property against fire and other hazards under a commercial property insurance policy that defendant originally issued in 2017 and renewed annually thereafter. The parties did not dispute that defendant’s policy included a Protective Safeguards Endorsement (PSE), which provided, in pertinent part that the policy required as a condition precedent that the insured was “required to maintain the protective devices or services listed in the Schedule. The protective safeguards to which the endorsement applied was an Automatic Extinguishing System.

After the fire, plaintiff filed a claim under the policy, but defendant denied the claim because the property did not have an automatic extinguishing system (AES).

Plaintiff sued alleging that defendant had repeatedly inspected the property and “was aware, or should have been aware, from the inspection and other sources, that the property did not have an automatic sprinkler system.”

The insurer moved for summary disposition arguing that the policy language was clear and unambiguous, and that because plaintiff did not have an AES on its property, it was precluded from recovering fire protection benefits under the terms of the policy.

Plaintiff faced with an obvious failure of a condition responded that that defendant should be estopped from denying coverage for lack of an AES because the PSE was ambiguous since it did not actually define the system.

The trial court ruled that the insurer was entitled to summary disposition because the policy unambiguously precluded coverage if the insured property did not have an AES, and it was undisputed that there was no AES on plaintiff’s property.

AMBIGUITY

Initially, plaintiff argued that the language of the policy was ambiguous and that it should be construed against defendant and in favor of coverage because an AES is not defined in the PSE. Finding that the language of the PSE was not ambiguous the Court of Appeals noted that the PSE refers to a definition of an “automatic sprinkler system,” stating that it means: “a. any automatic fire protective or extinguishing system, including connected: (1) Sprinklers and discharge nozzles; (2) Ducts, pipes, valves, and fittings; (3) Tanks, their component parts and supports; and (4) Pumps and private fire protection mains. b. When supplied from an automatic fire protective system; (1) Non-automatic fire protective systems; and hydrants, standpipes, and outlets.” [Emphasis added.]

Accordingly, the court concluded that the PSE is not ambiguous because it adequately explained the meaning of an AES.

Plaintiff asserted that the AES requirement should not bar coverage for its fire loss because both it and defendant were fully aware that an AES did not exist at the property. Plaintiff was aware because it owned the property, and defendant was aware because multiple inspections revealed that there was no AES on the property.

However, the mere fact that defendant and plaintiff may have been aware that the property did not have an AES does not establish that the parties mutually understood and agreed that an AES was not required as a condition of coverage. The policy unambiguously required that the property have an AES as a condition of coverage, and there was no evidence that defendant ever intended or agreed that an AES was not necessary. There was no evidence of a mutually shared factual mistake by the parties regarding the impact of not having an AES at the property on the availability of coverage.

ZALMA OPINION

Insurance policies are contracts. They agree to indemnify an insured against multiple risks of loss but never every potential risk faced by the insured. When an insurer requires protective safeguards like fire sprinklers or burglar alarms it reduces its premium because of the fact that the risk of loss is lessened by the protective safeguard. Failure to maintain a protective safeguard, a condition precedent, eliminates coverage because the risk of loss was not as promised even if the loss was not by fire.

(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com at https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe or at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01

Follow me on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all...

Daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.

Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – http://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Go to Newsbreak.com https://lnkd.in/g8azKc34; Go to Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/gV9QJYH; Subscribe to substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYkxD.

00:07:44
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
October 16, 2026

Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs

Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs

Post 4867

In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND

Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.

Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...

post photo preview
October 15, 2026
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter – October 15, 2026

ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM

Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma

THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL

Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.

ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.

It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.

Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme

Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.

RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered

Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...

post photo preview
October 14, 2026
District Court has Wide Discretion in Sentencing

Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions

Post 4863

Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.

The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.

Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals