Every Exclusion Must be Read as a Part of an Entire Policy
Barry Zalma
Aug 28, 2023
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gy2DBn-N and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gSrcT3B2 and at https://lnkd.in/gfpgWqSU and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4600 posts.
McCann Plumbing, Heating & Cooling, Inc.; Andrew R. McCann; and Wendy McCann, sued defendant, Pekin Insurance Company, for breach of an insurance contract and sought declaratory judgment because the demolition of an adjacent building damaged the McCann’s building.
In McCann Plumbing, Heating & Cooling, Inc., an Illinois Corporation; Andrew R. McCann; and Wendy McCann v. Pekin Insurance Company, an Illinois Corporation, 2023 IL App (3d) 190722, No. 3-19-0722, Court of Appeals of Illinois, Third District (August 23, 2023) the Court of Appeals broke ground with the first ruling on a governmental action exclusion.
BACKGROUND
Andrew R. McCann and Wendy McCann own a commercial building in Onarga, Illinois. They purchased the building in 2011 to use for McCann Plumbing, Heating &Cooling, Inc., their heating, ventilation, and air conditioning business. At the time of purchase, the building was surrounded by two uninhabited properties to its north and south.
Pekin Insurance Company (Pekin) is a licensed provider of personal and business insurance and provides insurance policies to the residents of Illinois. The McCanns and Pekin entered into a commercial lines insurance policy. The policy provided insurance coverage for “direct physical loss of or damage to” the covered property, which included the McCanns’ building and their business’s tangible property stored in the building.
The Village of Onarga declared that the building adjacent and to the south of the McCanns’ property was in an unsafe or unsanitary condition. The Village then ordered the building to be demolished.
On January 23, 2018, a contractor retained by the Village demolished the building. The parties stipulated that, in the course of the adjacent building’s destruction, the McCanns’ building was damaged, leaving a portion of their building open to the elements. The McCanns sought coverage from Pekin for damage incurred from the January 23, 2018, demolition.
In response to the McCanns’ claim, Pekin tendered a letter on March 21, 2018, denying coverage for damage resulting from the demolition based on several exclusionary provisions of their policy, including the governmental action exclusion. In granting Pekin’s motion for judgment on the pleadings, the circuit court found that “the government[al] act[ion] exclu[sion] applies” and dismissed the case.
ANALYSIS
Neither party disputes that the Village’s directive to demolish the adjacent property constitutes an “order of governmental authority.” The parties stipulated that on or about January 23, 2018, the adjacent building was demolished. Both parties also agree, at least to some extent, that the McCanns’ property incurred damage as a result of the adjacent building’s destruction.
The central issue is whether this damage was caused “directly or indirectly” from the destruction and whether that damage falls within the purview of the governmental action exclusion under the parties’ commercial lines insurance policy.
There is no binding authority in Illinois interpreting the applicability of the governmental action exclusion, and as consequence, there is no Illinois case law offering guidance on whether this exclusion may be broadly applied to exclude losses incurred ancillary to a governmental order. The commercial lines insurance policy before the Court of Appeals features the adverbial phrase “directly or indirectly” modifying the verb “caused” within the preamble sentence for the exclusions: “We will not pay for loss or damage caused directly or indirectly by any of the following…” including governmental action.
For the exclusion to apply, however, it is necessary that the destruction of property be carried out through an order of governmental authority. Considering the preamble sentence and the relevant exclusion together, the court found, at a minimum, that the McCanns’ property damage is a loss that grew out of and was therefore “caused *** indirectly” from the destruction of the adjacent property. Further the McCanns’ loss falls under the governmental action exclusion because the damage stems from the Village’s demolition order.
The McCanns assert that the Village’s demolition order only sanctioned damage to the adjacent building and not their own. Therefore, a narrow reading of the exclusion’s phrase “by order of governmental authority” does not include the McCanns’ property, as there was never an order of destruction against their property. However, reading the policy in its entirety, the exemption covers “loss or damage caused directly or indirectly” through the “destruction of property by order of governmental authority.” A plain reading of these clauses together does not imply a separate order is required for the exemption to attach.
ZALMA OPINION
The greatest error made by people interpreting an insurance policy is to take a part of a policy without reading it in context with the entire policy. The Court of Appeals read the entire policy and disabused the plaintiffs of their claims trying to take a small part of a policy to change its meaning. The attempt failed because the full policy made it clear that the Plaintiffs property was damaged by the order of the governmental authority to demolish the adjacent property resulting directly in the damage of the plaintiffs property.
(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.
Subscribing to my publications at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808
Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01
Follow me on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all...
Daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com. Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Go to substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g & the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gWVSBde, & Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/gV9QJYH.
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM
Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma
THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.
ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.
It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s
Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.
Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme
Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.
RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION
Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered
Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...
Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions
Post 4863
Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.
The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.
Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...
Title Insurance Only Insures Real Property
Posted on October 13, 2026 by Barry Zalma
When a Seller Advised it Could Not Obtain Title to the Home Fraud Can’t be Proved
A Manufactured Home is Personal Property Until it Becomes Real Property
Post 4862
In Dale Johnson and Rose Johnson, Husband and Wife v. Stewart Title Guaranty Co., and Lennar Mortgage, LLC; Low Va Rates, LLC; Sandpoint Title Insurance, Inc.; Village Capital & Investment, LLC; and David Cassel, Engineer Agent; and Unknown Does 1-50, inclusively, No. 53126, Court of Appeals of Idaho (October 9, 2026) Dale and Rose Johnson purchased Idaho real property in 2012 with a manufactured home on it. Their purchase addendum acknowledged that the seller could not obtain title to the home, that evidence of title and an ALTA-7 endorsement might not be available, and that they accepted the home “as is.”
In 2020, after a HELOC application was denied, the Johnsons learned that the home had been wrecked and decertified in 2004 and that its 2006 conversion to real ...