Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
August 24, 2023
Liars Must Always Lose

False Medical History Defeats No Fault Claim

Barry Zalma
Aug 24, 2023

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gwv5eXnS and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gt48k2Bx and at https://lnkd.in/gjXbQCek and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4550 posts.

This case arose out of an accident that occurred in 2019. Plaintiff was hit by a car at around 8:15 p.m. while riding a bicycle in Flint, Michigan. Plaintiff sustained serious injuries, including multiple broken bones and lacerations, blunt force trauma to the chest and abdomen, and a traumatic brain injury. However he submitted a claim with false representations about his past medical history and his suit was dismissed.

Ronnie Fields appealed the trial court’s order granting summary disposition to defendant, Nationwide Mutual Fire Insurance Company. In Ronnie Fields and Anderson Medical Supplies v. National General Insurance Company, Integon National Insurance Company, Garlando Doxie, Kanesha Marzette, and Michigan Automobile Insurance, Defendants, and Nationwide Mutual Fire Insurance Company, No. 361959, Court of Appeals of Michigan (August 17, 2023) the Court of Appeals gave effect to the allegations of fraud.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

In relation to the accident, plaintiff submitted two applications for personal protection insurance (PIP) benefits through the Michigan Automobile Insurance Placement Facility (MAIPF). The applications stated that plaintiff did not have any of the same injuries prior to the accident, that he had no preexisting medical conditions, and that he had not applied for social security benefits before or after the accident. However, his second application noted that plaintiff was eligible for social security benefits, contrary to the information from the October 4, 2019 application. Each of the applications contained a fraud warning.

Plaintiff sued in February 2020 the MAIPF was required to assign his claim to an insurer. The MAIPF eventually assigned his claim to Nationwide, and Nationwide was substituted as a defendant. Nationwide ultimately filed a motion for summary disposition and alleged that plaintiff committed fraud by submitting false information in support of his claim for PIP benefits, and that he was, therefore, ineligible to receive benefits. Nationwide also alleged that plaintiff failed to disclose that he had eye surgery prior to the accident and that he is legally blind. Nationwide claimed that plaintiff violated the statute by knowingly submitting false statements in support of his claim for benefits.

The trial court entered an order granting Nationwide’s motion for summary disposition.

FRAUD

A person commits a fraudulent insurance act when: (1) the person presents or causes to be presented an oral or written statement, (2) the statement is part of or in support of a claim for no-fault benefits, and (3) the claim for benefits was submitted to the MAIPF. Further, (4) the person must have known that the statement contained false information, and (5) the statement concerned a fact or thing material to the claim.

THE LIES

Finding no dispute that the two applications for benefits erroneously indicated that plaintiff had no preexisting medical conditions and had not sustained any prior injuries that might be relevant to his claim for benefits, Plaintiff’s deposition testimony and medical records ultimately revealed that between 2012 and 2019, he was treated for complications arising from the dog bite and for injuries sustained after someone struck him with a baseball bat, including a leg fracture. Additionally, it is undisputed that plaintiff is legally blind, which was not disclosed on either application. The October 4, 2019 application also noted that plaintiff was not eligible for social security benefits, which was ultimately determined to be a false statement.

ANALYSIS

Plaintiff’s medical records could be considered as evidence of fraud even though the medical records were obtained by Nationwide during discovery, the information contained in them concerned incidents that occurred well before plaintiff applied for PIP benefits through the MAIPF. Although such evidence would not directly show that plaintiff engaged in fraud, the medical records pertain to incidents that happened well before litigation commenced. Consequently, they were properly considered by the trial court as documentary evidence in support of Nationwide’s fraud assertion.

Plaintiff signed the applications, suggesting that they must be considered his own. He argued that it is unclear whether he knew what he was signing, as he was legally blind at the time and would have needed someone to read the document to him.

Plaintiff’s medical records were not improperly considered as evidence of fraud. Moreover, since plaintiff signed the applications-particularly the November 4, 2019 application-and has provided no evidentiary proof to support the argument that he lacked the capacity to do so, that he did so by mistake, or that he was coerced or defrauded in this case, the trial court’s ruling was affirmed.

ZALMA OPINION

Even no-fault insurance statutes remove the right to benefits if the person seeking the benefits commits fraud in seeking the benefits. There is no question that the Plaintiff filed two applications for benefits that contained false statements. As a result, even though he was seriously injured, his fraudulent statements defeated his claim, proving that liars in Michigan will never prosper from the no-fault system.

(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.

Subscribing to my publications at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01

Follow me on LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all?usecase=PEOPLE_FOLLOWS&followMember=barry-zalma-esq-cfe-a6b5257

Daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com. Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.

Subscribing to my publications at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01

Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library

00:08:11
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
November 05, 2026
Convicted of Felony Fraud You Lose the Right to Vote

Payment of Fines & Completion of Probation Reinstates Right to Vote

Post 4576

Posted on November 5, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Restore Voting Rights The Felon Must Pay Fines of $546.00

In Florida Supreme Court Mediator Ethics Advisory Committee, ETH F-26-377, No. F-26-377 (October 29, 2026) citizen unnamed and to Ron Desantis Governor, Cord Byrd the Secretary of State Florida Division of Elections provided an advisory opinion to a convicted felon about his right to vote:

To: [redacted] We received your request for an advisory opinion. You indicate that you have one or more felony convictions and request whether you are eligible to vote, including whether you have any outstanding legal financial obligations under section 98.0751, Florida Statutes, and, if so, a statement of the amount that must be paid to make you eligible to vote, and an explanation of how the amount was calculated.

The Division hereby responds to your request pursuant to its legal authority under section 106.23(2), Florida Statutes, and Florida ...

November 04, 2026
Castro Valdez Had an Available Administrative Appeal and Failed to Establish a Ground for Excusing

Administrative Review Permits the Agency to Apply its Expertise

Post 4574

In Erwin Jordan Castro Valdez v. Warden, Otay Mesa Detention Center, No. 26-cv-06147-BAS-JLB, United States District Court, S.D. California (October 30, 2026) Castro Valdez, a Cuban national paroled into the United States, was arrested on June 23, 2026, for alleged insurance fraud, grand theft, and making a false report to law enforcement. In his first habeas action, the district court ordered a bond hearing within fourteen days to determine whether the changed circumstances justified revoking his parole.

An Immigration Judge subsequently denied bond because of his pending state criminal case. Castro Valdez filed a second petition under 28 U.S.C. § 2241, challenging that determination and requesting immediate release without first appealing to the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA).

LAW

According to the supplied text, § 2241 does not expressly require administrative exhaustion, but courts impose exhaustion as a prudential requirement. ...

November 03, 2026
Jury Found Prudential to be the Victim of Fraud

Insured’s Ordered to Pay Insurer for Fraud by the Insureds

Post 4573

Posted on November 3, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In The Prudential Insurance Company Of America v. Carol Gardina and George Gardina, No. 6:23-cv-1125-JSS-DCI, United States District Court, M.D. Florida, Orlando Division (October 22, 2026).

THE JURY TRIAL AND VERDICT

Plaintiff sued Defendants for numerous causes of action stemming from its allegations that Defendants fraudulently collected benefits under their long-term care insurance policies. Plaintiff's case proceeded to a nine-day jury trial, after which the jury found Defendants liable for fraudulent misrepresentation, fraudulent concealment, and civil conspiracy.

The jury also found Defendant Carol Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $1,930,129 in compensatory damages and Defendant George Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $12,496 in compensatory damages and $20 in punitive damages. Thereafter, the court entered judgment in Plaintiff's favor and awarded Plaintiff $1,930,129 in compensatory damages from...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals