Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
July 25, 2023
A Threat of Litigation is not a Claim

There Must be a Claim for Coverage Under a Claims Made Policy

Barry Zalma
Jul 25, 2023

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/giHFRGaj and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gRHu9mJz and at https://lnkd.in/gjFJfyrm and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4550 posts.

Homeland Insurance Company of New York (Homeland) issued Plaintiff a claims made liability insurance policy covering errors and omissions, effective January 16, 2019 to January 16, 2020. Plaintiff eQHealth AdviseWell, Inc., f/k/a eQHealth Solutions, Inc., a Louisiana corporation that provides health care management services to Medicaid agencies, commercial healthcare payers, third-party administrators, and self-insured employer groups.

In Eqhealth Advisewell, Inc. v. Homeland Ins. Co. Of N.Y., Civil Action No. 22-00050-BAJ-EWD, United States District Court, M.D. Louisiana (July 15, 2023) the USDC resolved the dispute over coverage.

BACKGROUND

Homeland issued a Managed Care Organizations Errors and Omissions Liability Policy (“the Policy”) to Plaintiff. The Policy covered “Damages and Claim Expenses in excess of the Retention that [Plaintiff is] legally obligated to pay as a result of a Claim …” A “Claim,” as defined by the Policy, “means any written demand from any person or entity seeking money or services or civil, injunctive, or administrative relief from [Plaintiff].”

Plaintiff Authorizes Treatment For B.N., A Florida Resident, In Oklahoma

One of Plaintiff’s contracts was to provide Medicaid management services to the State of Florida. Under this contract, Plaintiff’s primary operational contact was Florida’s Agency for Health Care Administration (“AHCA”), which is the state agency responsible for administering Florida’s Medicaid program. As part of its contract, Plaintiff reviewed requests for patients-Medicaid recipients-to receive medical services outside of Florida.

One such request for out-of-state services was a Medicaid claim by B.N. a Florida resident. B.N. was admitted on an emergency basis into non-party Brookhaven Hospital (“Brookhaven”), a licensed psychiatric hospital located in Tulsa, Oklahoma. At the end of B.N.’s initial 180-day period neared, Brookhaven submitted a continued stay authorization request to Plaintiff, requesting an additional 180 days of inpatient services for B.N. Plaintiff denied Brookhaven’s request based on Plaintiff’s determination that B.N. no longer met the medical necessity criteria for the level of neurological rehabilitation provided at Brookhaven.

Plaintiff’s Communications To Defendant Regarding B.N.’S Treatment At Brookhaven

Plaintiff’s April 30 Notice of Circumstances email also contained a written timeline of events for B.N.’s treatment at Brookhaven. On June 10, 2019, a lawyer with the Jones Law Firm, representing Brookhaven, sent a letter to Florida’s Governor, multiple Florida AHCA officials, and a Medicare/Medicaid official. Brookhaven’s June 10 letter discussed Brookhaven’s disagreements with how Florida AHCA handled B.N.’s case.

The lawyer stated that “[n]o lawsuit has been filed, at least as yet.” (emphasis added) The lawyer recommended to Plaintiff that it review its E&O insurance policy “to determine whether th[e] letter triggers a reporting requirement.” He concluded that “[t]his letter reasonably constitutes threatened litigation. Depending on the language of the policy, it may need to be reported.”
Plaintiff and Florida AHCA’s Settlement with Brookhaven

Six months later, on December 12, 2019, Plaintiff “formally tender[ed]” the matter for coverage. To do so, Plaintiff wrote a letter to Defendant, discussing the history of the B.N. matter and informing Defendant that Plaintiff had participated in settlement negotiations with Florida AHCA and Brookhaven and, ultimately, settled the matter in September 2019.

At the point of a settlement eQHealth had virtually no choice but to settle on the terms agreed by AHCA and Brookhaven. Had eQHealth refused, then the likely alternative would have been a suit by Brookhaven in federal court against AHCA and eQHealth, with eQHealth not only having to indemnify AHCA for any judgments but for all defense fees and costs. In order to mitigate the total exposure to all parties involved, eQHealth agreed. The settlement agreement was signed by the last parties on September 20, 2019, and pursuant to it, eQHealth paid Brookhaven $262,500.

Defendant denied coverage on February 3, 2020, stating that: “[n]o Claim against eQHealth was reported to Homeland, eQHealth did not ask for consent to settle any Claim, and Homeland did not provide prior written consent for the settlement, or for any expense, payment, liability, or obligation eQHealth may have had in relation to this matter. Therefore, no coverage is available for the settlement payment eQHealth made to Brookhaven.”

DISCUSSION

Homeland expressly conditioned coverage of all claims under the Policy on the filing of notice of a “Claim” against Plaintiff. When considering what constitutes a “claim” to trigger coverage under a “claims-made” insurance policy, the court relied on the Fifth Circuit that instructs trial courts to differentiate the “mere threat of a claim” from an “actual claim.”

The USDC concluded that despite the numerous communications between the parties and relevant third parties, no communication rose to the definitional level of a “Claim” such that coverage under the Policy was triggered.

Because the Court found that none of the relevant communications prior to the September 2019 settlement between Brookhaven, Florida AHCA, and Plaintiff constituted “Claims” as defined by the Policy, coverage under the Policy was never triggered since none of the communications sought “money or services or civil, injunctive, or administrative relief.”

ZALMA OPINION

Homeland included in its policy wording a definition of the word “claim.” For the insured to obtain defense or indemnity it must establish that a claims, as defined, happened. Without question threats were made. A settlement was reached and the insured paid money to fund the settlement. Yet, no one made a “claim” as defined, the insurer was not advised of the settlement nor was it advised of the insured’s intent to pay until after it paid although the decision to pay was a “business” decision since no one made a demand in writing that they pay for a cause of loss insured against, there could not be coverage for a claim or loss triggered under the policy’s clear and unambiguous definition of the word “claim.”

(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.

Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01

Follow me on LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all?usecase=PEOPLE_FOLLOWS&followMember=barry-zalma-esq-cfe-a6b5257

Daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com. Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g

Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://lnkd.in/gfFKUaTf.

Follow me on LinkedIn: https://lnkd.in/guWk7gfM

Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gWVSBde

00:10:20
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
22 hours ago
John Madden and The US Patent and Trademark Office

Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection

Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma

John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection

BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD

Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”

In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)

The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.

THE LAW

Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.

THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...

post photo preview
October 21, 2026
Supervisory Officials are not Individually Liable

Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers

Post 4866

Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.

After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.

Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.

Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...

post photo preview
October 20, 2026
Suit Must be Ripe When Filed

A Suit Filed Before the Claim Exists is Fatal

Post 4870

Posted on October 20, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly; Somerset Services, Inc.; And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC, and Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC Nos. 2024-CA-1471-MR, 2025-CA-1366-MR, Court of Appeals of Kentucky (October 9, 2026) Louis Briggs was arrested in 2014 after an incident with police and charged with several offenses, including third-degree assault.

Probable cause was found and an indictment was returned, but the charges were eventually dismissed. His attorney, Shaun Wimberly, then filed a federal civil rights suit for Briggs in a United States district court, which also asserted state-law claims. The district court dismissed most of the claims and declined to exercise jurisdiction over the remaining state-law claims. Briggs blamed Wimberly for the result, fired him, and appealed to the Sixth Circuit.

While the federal appeal was pending, Briggs filed a legal malpractice action against Wimberly in the Jefferson Circuit Court. The Sixth ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals