Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
July 24, 2023
Torch Down Roofing Exclusion Unambiguous

Exclusion Defeats Claim for Defense and Indemnity

Barry Zalma
Jul 24, 2023

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gYnzTn9b, see full video at https://lnkd.in/gE5rswiT and at https://lnkd.in/gfXP6wEs and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4550 posts.

Duckworth roofing, while repairing a roof for LGO Properties, caused a fire at the Tulane Building while using hot torches to repair the roof. In Certain Underwriters At Lloyd’s Of London As Subrogee Of L.G.O. Properties, LLC v. Duxworth Roofing And Sheetmetal, Inc., No. 2022-CA-0821, Court of Appeals of Louisiana, Fourth Circuit (July 18, 2023) the defendant sought coverage when the defendant’s insurer denied coverage because of an exclusion called the Torch Down Roofing Exclusion.

FACTS

L.G.O. Properties, L.L.C. entered into a contract with Duxworth to perform roofing work at 4033 Tulane Avenue (hereinafter “the Tulane Building”). Duxworth’s roofing work included the use of hot tools and the installation of a process called “torch down roofing” to repair a leak on the roof of the Tulane Building. On December 9, 2016, the Tulane Building was damaged in a fire (hereinafter “the December 2016 fire”).

On October 12, 2017, Certain Underwriters at Lloyd’s, as a subrogee of L.G.O. Properties, L.L.C. (hereinafter collectively “Lloyd’s of London”) filed a suit for damages naming Duxworth as a defendant. Lloyd’s of London’s petition alleges that Duxworth negligently used hot torches to perform roofing work on the Tulane Building thus causing the December 2016 fire. The petition also asserted that Duxworth failed to train its employees and take reasonable precautions to prevent damage to the Tulane Building.

James River, Duckworth’s insurer, filed a motion for summary judgment arguing that the Commercial General Liability insurance policy precludes Duxworth from receiving coverage. Specifically, James River maintained that the CGL policy excludes coverage for damages resulting from the use of torches to perform roofing work (hereinafter “the Torch Down Roofing Exclusion”).

Duxworth opposed James River’s motion for summary judgment arguing that the CGL policy and Lloyd’s of London’s petition contains language that does not entitle James River to summary judgment. The trial court granted James Rivers’ motion for summary judgment dismissing James River, without prejudice and before Duckworth could amend James Rivers appealed.

DISCUSSION

Duxworth asserts multiple assignments of error challenging the trial court’s ruling on the motion for summary judgment.

The Language Of The Torch Down Roofing Exclusion Is Not Ambiguous

The extent of coverage is determined by the parties’ intent as reflected by the words in the policy. In order to resolve ambiguous language within an insurance policy, the policy must be construed as a whole. If the policy wording at issue is clear and unambiguously expresses the parties’ intent, the insurance contract must be enforced as written.

The Louisiana Court of Appeals found that the Torch Down Roofing Exclusion precludes Duxworth from receiving coverage from James River. A Court must give words and phrases their general meaning. Mr. Duxworth’s deposition revealed that he was a part of the crew that was present and performing torch down roofing repairs to the Tulane Building on the day of the December 2016 fire.

Since Mr. Duxworth testified that his team was instructed to repair a leak to the Tulane Building’s roof which required the use of hot tools and torches, also known as “torch down” roofing, and since Mr. Duxworth concedes that hot tools and torches were used to install a flat torch down roof to the Tulane Building the exclusion applies.

Given the plain, ordinary, and generally prevailing meaning of the words “arise out of,” it was clear to the Court of Appeals that Lloyd’s of London’s claims against Duxworth arose out of and are derived from the property damage caused by the fire that occurred during the time Duxworth was performing ongoing torch down roofing installation.

Duxworth’s contention that the James River’s CGL policy fails to define “Torch Down Roofing” is unpersuasive. Although the Torch Down Roofing Exclusion does not define the term “Torch Down Roofing Operations” it is undisputed that hot tools and torches were used on the date of the December 2016 fire. A plain reading of the CGL policy between James River and Duxworth provides that the damages caused by the use of hot tools to perform roofing repairs, triggers the Torch Down Roofing Exclusion, and precludes coverage.
Duty to Defend

A duty to defend is determined solely from the plaintiff’s pleadings and on the face of the policy. James River’s CGL policy provides: “we will have no duty to defend the insured against any ‘suit’ seeking damages for ‘bodily injury’ or ‘property damage’ to which this insurance does not apply.” Lloyd’s of London’s petition alleges that Duxworth failed to safely use hot torches to perform roofing work on the Tulane Building.

The Torch Down Roofing Exclusion unambiguously excluded the claims against Duckworth. The trial court properly sustained James River’s motion for summary judgment and determining that the Torch Down Roofing Exclusion prevents coverage from the use of torch down roofing operations.

ZALMA OPINION

Everyone who is sued wants to use other people’s money to defend the suit. Duckworth bought a policy with a “Torch Down Roofing Exclusion” that obviously applied after the insured testified he and his staff were using torches to repair the building at the time it caught fire. Using that type of roofing with a policy that excludes it accepted the full risk of loss and will have to use his own funds to pay off the Lloyd’s Underwriters’ subrogation action.

(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.

Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01

Follow me on LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all?usecase=PEOPLE_FOLLOWS&followMember=barry-zalma-esq-cfe-a6b5257

Daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com. Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://lnkd.in/gfFKUaTf.

Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g

Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gWVSBde

00:08:40
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
November 05, 2026
Convicted of Felony Fraud You Lose the Right to Vote

Payment of Fines & Completion of Probation Reinstates Right to Vote

Post 4576

Posted on November 5, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Restore Voting Rights The Felon Must Pay Fines of $546.00

In Florida Supreme Court Mediator Ethics Advisory Committee, ETH F-26-377, No. F-26-377 (October 29, 2026) citizen unnamed and to Ron Desantis Governor, Cord Byrd the Secretary of State Florida Division of Elections provided an advisory opinion to a convicted felon about his right to vote:

To: [redacted] We received your request for an advisory opinion. You indicate that you have one or more felony convictions and request whether you are eligible to vote, including whether you have any outstanding legal financial obligations under section 98.0751, Florida Statutes, and, if so, a statement of the amount that must be paid to make you eligible to vote, and an explanation of how the amount was calculated.

The Division hereby responds to your request pursuant to its legal authority under section 106.23(2), Florida Statutes, and Florida ...

November 04, 2026
Castro Valdez Had an Available Administrative Appeal and Failed to Establish a Ground for Excusing

Administrative Review Permits the Agency to Apply its Expertise

Post 4574

In Erwin Jordan Castro Valdez v. Warden, Otay Mesa Detention Center, No. 26-cv-06147-BAS-JLB, United States District Court, S.D. California (October 30, 2026) Castro Valdez, a Cuban national paroled into the United States, was arrested on June 23, 2026, for alleged insurance fraud, grand theft, and making a false report to law enforcement. In his first habeas action, the district court ordered a bond hearing within fourteen days to determine whether the changed circumstances justified revoking his parole.

An Immigration Judge subsequently denied bond because of his pending state criminal case. Castro Valdez filed a second petition under 28 U.S.C. § 2241, challenging that determination and requesting immediate release without first appealing to the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA).

LAW

According to the supplied text, § 2241 does not expressly require administrative exhaustion, but courts impose exhaustion as a prudential requirement. ...

November 03, 2026
Jury Found Prudential to be the Victim of Fraud

Insured’s Ordered to Pay Insurer for Fraud by the Insureds

Post 4573

Posted on November 3, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In The Prudential Insurance Company Of America v. Carol Gardina and George Gardina, No. 6:23-cv-1125-JSS-DCI, United States District Court, M.D. Florida, Orlando Division (October 22, 2026).

THE JURY TRIAL AND VERDICT

Plaintiff sued Defendants for numerous causes of action stemming from its allegations that Defendants fraudulently collected benefits under their long-term care insurance policies. Plaintiff's case proceeded to a nine-day jury trial, after which the jury found Defendants liable for fraudulent misrepresentation, fraudulent concealment, and civil conspiracy.

The jury also found Defendant Carol Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $1,930,129 in compensatory damages and Defendant George Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $12,496 in compensatory damages and $20 in punitive damages. Thereafter, the court entered judgment in Plaintiff's favor and awarded Plaintiff $1,930,129 in compensatory damages from...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals