Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
July 11, 2023
Residence Requires Presence

Homeowners Policy Requires Insured to Reside at Premises

Barry Zalma
Jul 11, 2023

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/g95ASr-5 and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gC4ufS_j and at https://lnkd.in/gJFrRiA9 and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4550 posts.

Shanice Currie had a homeowners insurance policy with State Auto Property & Casualty Insurance Company (State Auto). After two fires severely damaged her duplex in Milwaukee, Currie sought payment from State Auto. State Auto denied the request for coverage, claiming that the duplex was not a “residence,” and therefore was not covered by the policy. Currie sued State Auto. The district court granted summary judgment to State Auto.

In Shanice Currie v. State Auto Property & Casualty Insurance Company, No. 22-2517, United States Court of Appeals, Seventh Circuit (July 5, 2023) the USCA for the Seventh Circuit explained the meaning of the terms “residence premises” and “reside.”

BACKGROUND

Currie purchased the previously abandoned duplex (the Property) from the City of Milwaukee in the spring of 2018. She proceeded to install electricity and fill the bedroom with a dresser, mirror, clothing, and a bed. Yet, at the time she acquired the policy the property had no running water, kitchen appliances, no chairs or sofas in the living room, or a front door. Where a door should be, there was a wooden board that Currie would have to unscrew to enter the Property. Strangers came and went, and Currie took no action to eject them.

Apart from sleeping at the Property two or three nights per month, Currie did not stay there. She bathed, prepared meals, kept personal belongings, and received mail at her two other addresses in Milwaukee.

THE POLICY

The homeowners policy Currie purchased from State Auto for the Property covered “residence premises,” which the policy defined as: “The two-, three-, or four-family dwelling where you reside in at least one of the family units . . . on the inception date of the policy period shown in the Declarations and which is shown as the ‘residence premises’ in the Declarations.

Because the policy’s inception date was September 15, 2018, Currie needed to reside in one of the units on the Property on that date for coverage to attach. She did not.

THE FIRES

On October 31 and on November 2, 2018, fires broke out at the Property, causing extensive damage. Currie informed State Auto that the Property was a total loss and sought full replacement value. State Auto denied Currie’s claim, explaining that the Property was never her residence.

DISCUSSION

Currie sued. The district court granted State Auto’s motion for summary judgment. The court held that, while the operative clause in the policy-“the dwelling where you reside”-was ambiguous, “[a] reasonable person would, nevertheless, understand the clause to require plaintiff to maintain and use the [Property] as a home, even if it was only one residence among many.” Given Currie’s lack of legal and practical ties to the Property, the district court found that a jury could not reasonably conclude that Currie resided there.

There is no statutory definition of “residence” or “dwelling” in Wisconsin with respect to homeowners insurance coverage. Because neither “occupied” nor “dwelling” are technical terms, an appellate court may ascertain their meanings by reference to recognized dictionaries. Because Currie did not use the Property as a home the court found that no reasonable jury could conclude that she resided there.

The Seventh Circuit concluded that the district court correctly concluded that Currie did not “actually live” at the Property, on the inception date or at any other time, thus it was not her residence. The address was not listed on her driver’s license and her mail was sent to a different location. Most telling, the Property was not secure. It had no door nor facilities to support normal life.

As a matter of law, Currie’s Property was not a residence on the policy’s inception date nor any time before or after. It was not covered by the insurance policy, and the district court’s grant of summary judgment to State Auto was proper.

ZALMA OPINION

Insurers will issue fire insurance on vacant property but will not do so on a homeowners policy form. To protect the insurer the homeowners policy requires the insured to reside on the property. Since the property was not sufficiently equipped for a person to reside in because it had no door, no water and no other facilities to support normal life, Currie failed to fulfill the basic requirement for coverage: residence. Had the insurer been told the truth about the condition of the property it would never have agreed to the coverage. Because of the residence condition there was no need for the insurer to accuse the insured of fraud although she probably obtained the coverage by fraud.
(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01

Follow me on LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all?usecase=PEOPLE_FOLLOWS&followMember=barry-zalma-esq-cfe-a6b5257

Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; https://creators.newsbreak.com/home/content/post; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://lnkd.in/gfFKUaTf. or substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g

00:08:13
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
November 05, 2026
Convicted of Felony Fraud You Lose the Right to Vote

Payment of Fines & Completion of Probation Reinstates Right to Vote

Post 4576

Posted on November 5, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Restore Voting Rights The Felon Must Pay Fines of $546.00

In Florida Supreme Court Mediator Ethics Advisory Committee, ETH F-26-377, No. F-26-377 (October 29, 2026) citizen unnamed and to Ron Desantis Governor, Cord Byrd the Secretary of State Florida Division of Elections provided an advisory opinion to a convicted felon about his right to vote:

To: [redacted] We received your request for an advisory opinion. You indicate that you have one or more felony convictions and request whether you are eligible to vote, including whether you have any outstanding legal financial obligations under section 98.0751, Florida Statutes, and, if so, a statement of the amount that must be paid to make you eligible to vote, and an explanation of how the amount was calculated.

The Division hereby responds to your request pursuant to its legal authority under section 106.23(2), Florida Statutes, and Florida ...

November 04, 2026
Castro Valdez Had an Available Administrative Appeal and Failed to Establish a Ground for Excusing

Administrative Review Permits the Agency to Apply its Expertise

Post 4574

In Erwin Jordan Castro Valdez v. Warden, Otay Mesa Detention Center, No. 26-cv-06147-BAS-JLB, United States District Court, S.D. California (October 30, 2026) Castro Valdez, a Cuban national paroled into the United States, was arrested on June 23, 2026, for alleged insurance fraud, grand theft, and making a false report to law enforcement. In his first habeas action, the district court ordered a bond hearing within fourteen days to determine whether the changed circumstances justified revoking his parole.

An Immigration Judge subsequently denied bond because of his pending state criminal case. Castro Valdez filed a second petition under 28 U.S.C. § 2241, challenging that determination and requesting immediate release without first appealing to the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA).

LAW

According to the supplied text, § 2241 does not expressly require administrative exhaustion, but courts impose exhaustion as a prudential requirement. ...

November 03, 2026
Jury Found Prudential to be the Victim of Fraud

Insured’s Ordered to Pay Insurer for Fraud by the Insureds

Post 4573

Posted on November 3, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In The Prudential Insurance Company Of America v. Carol Gardina and George Gardina, No. 6:23-cv-1125-JSS-DCI, United States District Court, M.D. Florida, Orlando Division (October 22, 2026).

THE JURY TRIAL AND VERDICT

Plaintiff sued Defendants for numerous causes of action stemming from its allegations that Defendants fraudulently collected benefits under their long-term care insurance policies. Plaintiff's case proceeded to a nine-day jury trial, after which the jury found Defendants liable for fraudulent misrepresentation, fraudulent concealment, and civil conspiracy.

The jury also found Defendant Carol Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $1,930,129 in compensatory damages and Defendant George Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $12,496 in compensatory damages and $20 in punitive damages. Thereafter, the court entered judgment in Plaintiff's favor and awarded Plaintiff $1,930,129 in compensatory damages from...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals