No Coverage if Person Fails to Qualify as an Insured
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/dnh5GRsd and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/d-xvHecN and at https://lnkd.in/dj9erj_k and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4450 posts.
Plaintiff CSAA Fire & Casualty Insurance Company (CSAA) sued Roman Ramirez and eventually filed a successful Motion for Summary Judgment on the issue of coverage. In CSAA Fire & Casualty Insurance Company v. Roman Ramirez, No. 2:22-cv-00318-RFB-EJY, United States District Court, D. Nevada (March 10, 2023) the USDC resolved the coverage issue.
Where the record, taken as a whole, could not lead a rational trier of fact to find for the nonmoving party, there is no genuine issue for trial. If a party fails to properly support an assertion of fact or fails to properly address another party’s assertion of fact the court may:
1. give an opportunity to properly support or address the fact;
2. consider the fact undisputed for purposes of the motion;
3. grant summary judgment if the motion and supporting materials – including the facts considered undisputed – show that the movant is entitled to it; or
4. Issue any other appropriate order.
FACTUAL BACKGROUND
The Court accepted the following facts as undisputed, based on Plaintiff’s Motion for Summary Judgment and the supporting materials in the record.
Plaintiff is an insurance company who maintains a homeowner’s insurance policy (“The Policy”) held by the named insured, Maria M. Armendarez.
The policy was in full force and effect on May 4, 2017, and covers the property located at 2421 Old Forge Lane, Unit 104, Las Vegas, Nevada 89121 (“Unit 104”).
While the property covered by the policy was Unit 104, the policy agreement lists Ms. Maria Armendarez’s residence at a different location, namely 219 La Paz Avenue, Henderson, Nevada 89015.
An incident took place on May 4, 2017 (“the Incident”) involving Defendant that resulted in an underlying state court case being filed against him by Mr. Juan Severin. At the time of the Incident, Unit 104 was being rented out by Ms. Maria Armendarez to an unrelated family of three individuals: Loraine Gonzalez, Tony Gonzalez, and their child Luke Gonzalez. At the time of the Incident, certain repairs and remodeling was taking place at Unit 104. In connection with those repairs and remodeling. Ms. Maria M. Armendarez’s daughter, Ms. Carrie Armendarez, hired a handyman, the plaintiff in the underlying action, Mr. Juan Severin, to perform some of the work on Unit 104.
An argument between Ms. Carrie Armendarez and Mr. Servin ensued regarding whether Mr. Servin should perform any additional work and/or receive additional payment. As the argument ensued, Ramirez allegedly punched Mr. Severin in the face, causing him injury. As a result of the Incident, Mr. Servin sued in the underlying state court action, raising claims for injuries and damages against Mr. Ramirez (and others).
Defendant then tendered the defense of the Incident and ensuing underlying action to Plaintiff.
On May 10, 2022, Plaintiff took Defendant’s deposition. In the deposition, Plaintiff asked Defendant whether he had any blood, marital, or domestic relationship with Ms. Maria M. Armendarez and/or whether he had ever lived as a resident of the household of Ms. Maria M. Armendarez. Defendant unequivocally confirmed that he was neither a relative (blood or marriage) of Ms. Maria M. Armendarez, that he never lived with Ms. Maria M. Armendarez, and that he was neither a resident of her household. Defendant further confirmed that he has never lived at 219 La Paz Avenue, Henderson, Nevada, which is the resident household of Ms. Maria M. Armendarez, nor at Unit 104, where the subject Incident occurred. Defendant further confirmed that he has never been married in his entire life, only lived with his girlfriend, Loretta Vargas and not Ms. Maria M. Armendarez, and is not a blood relative of Ms. Maria M. Armendarez or her late husband, Mr. Fernando Armendarez.
DISCUSSION
In Nevada, when the facts are not in dispute, insurance contract interpretation is a question of law that may be decided by the reviewing Court. An insurance policy, like any other contract, must be construed and enforced as written, absent any ambiguity. In this case the four requirements for declaratory relief were met. There is an underlying proceeding between Mr. Severin and Defendant, currently before the Clark County District Court.
Defendant cannot establish that he is covered by the Policy because the Policy is not ambiguous as to defining “insured” and the scope of coverage to “insured” persons. Defendant admitted that at the time of the Incident, he was a resident of 3909 San Andreas Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89121. He stated that he moved from that residence to a home he purchased, at 4388 Gibraltar Way, Las Vegas, NV, 89121, in 2020 and was not a resident of Unit 104 nor did he reside at Ms. Maria M. Armendarez’s residence.
Through his sworn deposition testimony, Defendant has confirmed that he does not qualify as an “insured” under the Policy.
ZALMA OPINION
Insurance policies must be interpreted as written. When a policy defines “insured” as a person who is named or who resides at the premises and is a relative of the named insured no one else is covered by the policy for defense or indemnity. Since Ramirez failed to fit any variation of the definition of “insured” he was not entitled to coverage for defense or indemnity.
(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe.
Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808
Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, now limits his practice to service as an insurance consultant specializing in insurance coverage, insurance claims handling, insurance bad faith and insurance fraud almost equally for insurers and policyholders. He practiced law in California for more than 44 years as an insurance coverage and claims handling lawyer and more than 54 years in the insurance business. He is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected]
Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com. Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.
Subscribe and receive videos limited to subscribers of Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com https://lnkd.in/gfFKUaTf.
Consider subscribing to my publications at substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g
Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE is available at http://www.zalma.com
Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/gV9QJYH; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://lnkd.in/g2hGv88; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gWVSBde and [email protected]
Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gWVSBde.
Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/d-SNCQES to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://lnkd.in/g2hGv88;
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions
Post 4863
Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.
The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.
Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...
Title Insurance Only Insures Real Property
Posted on October 13, 2026 by Barry Zalma
When a Seller Advised it Could Not Obtain Title to the Home Fraud Can’t be Proved
A Manufactured Home is Personal Property Until it Becomes Real Property
Post 4862
In Dale Johnson and Rose Johnson, Husband and Wife v. Stewart Title Guaranty Co., and Lennar Mortgage, LLC; Low Va Rates, LLC; Sandpoint Title Insurance, Inc.; Village Capital & Investment, LLC; and David Cassel, Engineer Agent; and Unknown Does 1-50, inclusively, No. 53126, Court of Appeals of Idaho (October 9, 2026) Dale and Rose Johnson purchased Idaho real property in 2012 with a manufactured home on it. Their purchase addendum acknowledged that the seller could not obtain title to the home, that evidence of title and an ALTA-7 endorsement might not be available, and that they accepted the home “as is.”
In 2020, after a HELOC application was denied, the Johnsons learned that the home had been wrecked and decertified in 2004 and that its 2006 conversion to real ...
Denial Of Mental Health Diversion And Probation Condition Were Affirmed
Posted on October 9, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4860
In The People v. Nicholas Daniel Stiles, A173483, A173646, California Court of Appeals, First District, Second Division (September 29, 2026) Nicholas Daniel Stiles pleaded no contest to one count of insurance fraud arising from his purchase of automobile insurance after a June 2021 collision, and to grand theft arising from an April 2024 incident at a 7-Eleven.
In both cases, the trial court suspended imposition of sentence and placed him on two years’ probation. Before the pleas, Stiles sought mental health diversion in both matters and filed a written motion seeking substitute appointed counsel. The diversion applications were denied, and the court never held a hearing on the motion.
LAW
Penal Code section 1001.36 permits pretrial mental health diversion when a defendant is eligible and suitable and the proposed treatment will meet the defendant’s specialized needs; denial is reviewed for ...