Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
June 03, 2022
Two Insurers Protect the Insured

Unambiguous Contract Must Be Interpreted as

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/g3h6xTvm and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 2400 posts.

When two insurers dispute which is obligated to defend and indemnify the insured in a bodily injury suit, they both paid half of the settlement and agreed to resolve their differences later in a declaratory relief action – an action of absolute good faith.

In Old Republic Insurance Company v. The Young Men’s Christian Association a/k/a YMCA Of Metropolitan Chicago and Riverport Insurance Company, 2022 IL App (1st) 210294-U, No. 1-21-0294, Court of Appeals of Illinois, First District, Fifth Division (May 27, 2022) the Court of Appeals resolved the dispute after the trial court ruled in favor of Old Republic.

BACKGROUND

Old Republic Insurance Company (Old Republic), sued for declaratory judgment against the Young Men’s Christian Association of Metropolitan Chicago (YMCA) and Riverport Insurance Company (Riverport). The circuit court granted summary judgment in favor of Old Republic. YMCA and Riverport appealed.

In September 2012, YMCA hired Air Comfort Corporation (Air Comfort) as the contractor to perform routine HVAC maintenance on YMCA’s Chicagoland facilities. On September 17, 2012, YMCA and Air Comfort entered into a “Master Agreement Between Owner and Contractor” (Master Agreement). The Master Agreement was drafted by YMCA’s counsel. The Master Agreement provided: Section 6 of the Master Agreement required Air Comfort to obtain commercial liability insurance and to name YMCA as an additional insured on the policy.

On May 13, 2013, an Air Comfort employee, Joseph Dale, sustained injuries while working on the upgrade project at the Indian Boundary facility. Mr. Dale filed a negligence complaint against YMCA, claiming that YMCA failed to inspect and safely maintain the vent pit and grating at its Indian Boundary facility which resulted in his injuries.

YMCA tendered defense and indemnification of Mr. Dale’s lawsuit to Air Comfort’s insurance carrier, Old Republic. Old Republic denied coverage.

The declaratory relief suit sought a declaration that Old Republic owes “no duty to defend, indemnify or otherwise provide additional insured coverage to YMCA” under Old Republic’s insurance policy with Air Comfort for losses incurred in connection with Mr. Dale’s lawsuit. Old Republic’s policy required additional insured persons or organizations to be included in a written contract or agreement.

The complaint alleged: “There is no written contract that required Air Comfort to name YMCA as an additional insured on its *** Policy with respect to work performed by Air Comfort at the Indian Boundary YMCA pursuant to any such contract.”

While the declaratory judgment action was pending, Mr. Dale settled his lawsuit against YMCA for $700,000. In turn, YMCA and Riverport entered into a separate agreement with Old Republic, entitled “Settlement Agreement and Release.” The Settlement Agreement and Release provided that YMCA and Riverport would pay half of Mr. Dale’s settlement amount ($350,000) and Old Republic would pay the other half ($350,000).

The parties agreed that the resolution of Mr. Dale’s lawsuit “does not in any way resolve the matters to be litigated” in the declaratory judgment action, which the Settlement Agreement and Release referred to as “the Coverage Suit.” Pursuant to the Settlement Agreement and Release, the parties agreed that:

“[I]f in the Coverage Suit a judicial determination is made that Old Republic owes additional insured coverage under the Old Republic Policy to YMCA for the [Mr.] Dale Lawsuit, then Old Republic will pay YMCA and [Riverport] $350,000 plus the attorneys’ fees and costs incurred by the YMCA and [Riverport] in defending the [Mr.] Dale Lawsuit.” Similarly, the Settlement Agreement and Release further provided that YMCA and [Riverport] will pay Old Republic $350,000 plus $197,000 for a total payment of $547,000. This would reimburse Old Republic for the $350,000 paid to [Mr.] Dale plus the waived workers compensation lien $197,000.”

The trial court granted Old Republic’s motion for summary judgment and denied YMCA and Riverport’s motion. In so ruling, the trial court stated: “This Court finds there’s no genuine issue of material fact [t]hat there is no writing of which the YMCA becomes an additional insured for that specific location.”
ANALYSIS

Summary judgment was granted by the trial court in this case, on the basis that the Indian Boundary Statement of Work did not require Air Comfort to add YMCA as an additional insured on its insurance policy, and so Old Republic does not have a duty to provide coverage to YMCA for Mr. Dale’s lawsuit.

Significantly, YMCA and Riverport do not contend that the Indian Boundary Statement of Work is ambiguous. The appellate court concluded that Indian Boundary Statement of Work is, an unambiguous contract, as the language is clear, and the general meaning is easy to ascertain. The Indian Boundary Statement of Work does not provide, anywhere or in any way, that the parties intended for Air Comfort to add YMCA as an additional insured on its insurance policy with Old Republic. In fact, the word “insurance” is not even mentioned in the Indian Boundary Statement of Work.

The appellate court concluded that the Indian Boundary Statement of Work does reference a contract entitled, “MASTER SERVICES AGREEMENT DATED FEBRUARY 11, 2013,” and “Standard From [sic] of Agreement Between Owner and Contractor, dated February 11, 2013.” But, as the trial court pointed out, no such contract document exists. Further, YMCA and Riverport do not claim that they can produce that document. And they do not offer any other explanation regarding the discrepancies in the description of the referenced, non-existent, contract document.

Rather, YMCA and Riverport asked the court to look to the Master Agreement and the Irving Park Agreement to demonstrate the parties’ intent for the Indian Boundary Statement of Work. However, if a contract is unambiguous on its face, extrinsic evidence may not be used to interpret it.

Mr. Dale’s lawsuit arose out of the work contracted in the Indian Boundary Statement of Work between Air Comfort and YMCA for the upgrade project at the Indian Boundary facility. The Indian Boundary Statement of Work is a clear and unambiguous contract that does not reference any other existing contract document; there is no reason for the court to look to another contract.

Accordingly, the court of appeal concluded that there is no genuine issue of material fact that the Indian Boundary Statement of Work did not require Air Comfort to add YMCA as an additional insured on its insurance policy, and so, Old Republic is not required to provide insurance coverage to YMCA for Mr. Dale’s lawsuit. The trial court therefore properly granted summary judgment in favor of Old Republic in the declaratory judgment action
ZALMA OPINION

The two insurers did the right thing for their insured, the YMCA. The lawyer for the YMCA, who drew the various contracts between the Y and Air Comfort, erred in drafting a contract incorporating a non-existent contract and failed – for the project where Mr. Dale was injured – to require that Air Comfort make the Y an additional insured. The two insurers, although, they disagreed, acted in absolute good faith to their insured and resolved their differences without exposing the insured to damages.
No alt text provided for this image

(c) 2022 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, now limits his practice to service as an insurance consultant specializing in insurance coverage, insurance claims handling, insurance bad faith and insurance fraud almost equally for insurers and policyholders. He practiced law in California for more than 44 years as an insurance coverage and claims handling lawyer and more than 54 years in the insurance business. He is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected].

Subscribe to Zalma on Insurance at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.local.com/subscribe.

Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at https://barryzalma.substack.com/welcome.

Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.

Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library/

Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
3 hours ago
John Madden and The US Patent and Trademark Office

Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection

Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma

John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection

BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD

Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”

In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)

The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.

THE LAW

Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.

THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...

post photo preview
October 21, 2026
Supervisory Officials are not Individually Liable

Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers

Post 4866

Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.

After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.

Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.

Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...

post photo preview
October 20, 2026
Suit Must be Ripe When Filed

A Suit Filed Before the Claim Exists is Fatal

Post 4870

Posted on October 20, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly; Somerset Services, Inc.; And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC, and Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC Nos. 2024-CA-1471-MR, 2025-CA-1366-MR, Court of Appeals of Kentucky (October 9, 2026) Louis Briggs was arrested in 2014 after an incident with police and charged with several offenses, including third-degree assault.

Probable cause was found and an indictment was returned, but the charges were eventually dismissed. His attorney, Shaun Wimberly, then filed a federal civil rights suit for Briggs in a United States district court, which also asserted state-law claims. The district court dismissed most of the claims and declined to exercise jurisdiction over the remaining state-law claims. Briggs blamed Wimberly for the result, fired him, and appealed to the Sixth Circuit.

While the federal appeal was pending, Briggs filed a legal malpractice action against Wimberly in the Jefferson Circuit Court. The Sixth ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals