Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
June 01, 2022
An Occurrence Can Include Unintended Physical Damage

An Occurrence Can Include The Unintended Physical
Damage Caused By Intentional Development Activity
Pollution Exclusion is Effective and Does not Make Policy Illusory

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/ggaC8r_p and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4200 posts.
Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE
Insurance claims expert, consultant at Barry Zalma, Inc. and author/Publisher at ClaimSchool, Inc.

Posted on June 1, 2022 by Barry Zalma

In Employers Mutual Casualty Company v. Tiger Creek Development, Inc., David Erickson, and Cherry Pease, No. 4:21-CV-65 (CDL), United States District Court, M.D. Georgia, Columbus Division (May 25, 2022) the USDC was asked to determine whether Tiger Creek Development, Inc. and David Erickson’s liability insurance policy covers a claim arising from their construction project that allegedly caused sediment deposits to pollute Cherry Pease’s pond.

In the underlying state court lawsuit, Pease alleged that Tiger Creek and Erickson’s work on adjacent property caused runoff that polluted and increased sediment deposits in her pond and damaged her property. Employers Mutual Insurance Company sought summary judgment on its declaratory judgment claim that it has no duty to defend or indemnify Tiger Creek or Erickson for the claims asserted by Pease in the underlying state court action
FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Tiger Creek began developing property adjacent to Pease’s property in 2018. Tiger Creek’s work required it to remove trees and vegetation from its property. After Tiger Creek began development, Pease noticed an increase in dirt, clay, and excess water flowing into the creek and pond on her property. Pease also noticed discoloration in her pond, sand deposits at the mouth of her pond and along her creek’s banks, and erosion. Pease believed that the problems with her creek and pond stemmed from runoff caused by Tiger Creek’s development activities on the neighboring property.

Pease alleged Tiger Creek’s clearing of trees and vegetation allowed sediment to wash downhill onto her property. In December 2018, Pease notified Tiger Creek and Tiger Creek’s owner, Erickson, about her concerns. Pease met with a Tiger Creek representative in 2019 and 2020 to discuss her concerns. Erickson attended the 2020 meeting and offered to remove the sand from Pease’s pond but Pease did not accept his offer. Tiger Creek and Erickson notified their insurer of Pease’s claim on June 25, 2020, and Employers Mutual sent Tiger Creek a reservation of rights letter. Pease filed the underlying action in the Superior Court of Muscogee County, Georgia on November 5, 2020.

Employers Mutual’s insurance policy provides coverage in the event of property damage caused by a covered occurrence.

Under the policy, an occurrence is defined as “an accident, including continuous or repeated exposure to substantially the same general harmful conditions.” The policy also states that the insurance does not apply to “pollution, ” which is defined as property damage arising from the “actual, alleged or threatened” discharge of pollutants. “Pollutants” are defined as “any solid, liquid, gaseous or thermal irritant or contaminant, including smoke, vapor, soot, fumes, acids, alkalis, chemicals and waste. Waste includes materials to be recycled, reconditioned, or reclaimed.”
DISCUSSION

Employers Mutual maintains that no coverage exists here under its policy for three independent reasons: 1) there was no covered occurrence, 2) even if there was a covered occurrence, the pollution exclusion excludes coverage, and 3) Erickson and Tiger Creek provided late notice of Pease’s claim.
Was There an Occurrence?

Employers Mutual argued there was no occurrence because Tiger Creek’s alleged contamination of Pease’s pond was not an accident. The policy does not define “accident, ” but Georgia law provides that an “accident” in the insurance context is “an unexpected happening rather than one occurring through intention or design.” Am. Empire Surplus Lines Ins. Co. v. Hathaway Dev. Co., Inc., 707 S.E.2d 369, 371 (Ga. 2011) (quoting City of Atlanta v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 498 S.E.2d 782, 784 (Ga.Ct.App. 1998)).

The USDC concluded that an occurrence, as defined by the insurance policy, can include the unintended physical damage caused by intentional development activity. Although cited by neither party, the Georgia Supreme Court’s decision in American Empire Surplus Lines Insurance Co. v. Hathaway Development Co., 707 S.E.2d 369 (Ga. 2011) was found to be instructive to the USDC. In Hathaway, the court found that a subcontractor’s negligent installation of pipes, which resulted in damage to neighboring property, was an “accident” and thus an “occurrence” under the applicable insurance policy. The Georgia Supreme Court rejected the argument that the subcontractor’s acts could not be occurrences because they were performed intentionally, reasoning that a deliberate act, performed negligently, is an accident if the effect is not the intended or expected result; that is, the result would have been different had the deliberate act been performed correctly.

Thus, the USDC concluded that the sediment runoff constitutes an “occurrence” under the policy, however, that did not resolve the issues presented to the court.
Does the Pollution Exclusion Apply?

Employers Mutual argued that, even if the runoff is an occurrence, the policy’s pollution exclusion excludes coverage. No one disputed that the sediment runoff would be “pollution” under the policy’s definition.

The USDC also noted that the exclusion does not render the insurance coverage under the policy illusory. All policy exclusions restrict coverage. That is their purpose. But limiting the circumstances for which coverage is provided does not make the coverage illusory. Employers Mutual’s policy certainly covers other occurrences that could arise from its insureds’ land development activities other than depositing sediment runoff into a neighboring pond.

Further, the insureds here could not have reasonably expected that their policy would have covered sediment runoff when the policy contains a clear exclusion to the contrary. As a result the USDC concluded that Employers Mutual is entitled to a declaratory judgment that the claims asserted by Pease in the underlying action against Tiger Creek and Erickson are excluded from coverage under the policy.
CONCLUSION

Employers Mutual’s motion for summary judgment was granted, and a declaratory judgment issued in favor of Employers Mutual that it has no duty to provide coverage for the claims asserted in the underlying state court action involving the Defendants.
ZALMA OPINION

Contrary to the hope of people who are insured no policy covers every possible risk of loss. The policy will include some exclusions, like the pollution exclusion in the Employers Mutual policy, because the purpose of exclusions in an insurance policy is to limit the coverage available. In this case since both parties agreed to the obvious, that Ms. Pease’s pond was polluted by the acts of the insureds. Since the exclusion was clear and unambiguous there could be no coverage for the damages claimed and the defendants must defend themselves without the assistance of their insurer.
No alt text provided for this image

(c) 2022 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, now limits his practice to service as an insurance consultant specializing in insurance coverage, insurance claims handling, insurance bad faith and insurance fraud almost equally for insurers and policyholders. He practiced law in California for more than 44 years as an insurance coverage and claims handling lawyer and more than 54 years in the insurance business. He is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected].

Subscribe to Zalma on Insurance at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.local.com/subscribe.

Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at https://barryzalma.substack.com/welcome.

Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.

Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library/

Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
November 05, 2026
Convicted of Felony Fraud You Lose the Right to Vote

Payment of Fines & Completion of Probation Reinstates Right to Vote

Post 4576

Posted on November 5, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Restore Voting Rights The Felon Must Pay Fines of $546.00

In Florida Supreme Court Mediator Ethics Advisory Committee, ETH F-26-377, No. F-26-377 (October 29, 2026) citizen unnamed and to Ron Desantis Governor, Cord Byrd the Secretary of State Florida Division of Elections provided an advisory opinion to a convicted felon about his right to vote:

To: [redacted] We received your request for an advisory opinion. You indicate that you have one or more felony convictions and request whether you are eligible to vote, including whether you have any outstanding legal financial obligations under section 98.0751, Florida Statutes, and, if so, a statement of the amount that must be paid to make you eligible to vote, and an explanation of how the amount was calculated.

The Division hereby responds to your request pursuant to its legal authority under section 106.23(2), Florida Statutes, and Florida ...

November 04, 2026
Castro Valdez Had an Available Administrative Appeal and Failed to Establish a Ground for Excusing

Administrative Review Permits the Agency to Apply its Expertise

Post 4574

In Erwin Jordan Castro Valdez v. Warden, Otay Mesa Detention Center, No. 26-cv-06147-BAS-JLB, United States District Court, S.D. California (October 30, 2026) Castro Valdez, a Cuban national paroled into the United States, was arrested on June 23, 2026, for alleged insurance fraud, grand theft, and making a false report to law enforcement. In his first habeas action, the district court ordered a bond hearing within fourteen days to determine whether the changed circumstances justified revoking his parole.

An Immigration Judge subsequently denied bond because of his pending state criminal case. Castro Valdez filed a second petition under 28 U.S.C. § 2241, challenging that determination and requesting immediate release without first appealing to the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA).

LAW

According to the supplied text, § 2241 does not expressly require administrative exhaustion, but courts impose exhaustion as a prudential requirement. ...

November 03, 2026
Jury Found Prudential to be the Victim of Fraud

Insured’s Ordered to Pay Insurer for Fraud by the Insureds

Post 4573

Posted on November 3, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In The Prudential Insurance Company Of America v. Carol Gardina and George Gardina, No. 6:23-cv-1125-JSS-DCI, United States District Court, M.D. Florida, Orlando Division (October 22, 2026).

THE JURY TRIAL AND VERDICT

Plaintiff sued Defendants for numerous causes of action stemming from its allegations that Defendants fraudulently collected benefits under their long-term care insurance policies. Plaintiff's case proceeded to a nine-day jury trial, after which the jury found Defendants liable for fraudulent misrepresentation, fraudulent concealment, and civil conspiracy.

The jury also found Defendant Carol Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $1,930,129 in compensatory damages and Defendant George Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $12,496 in compensatory damages and $20 in punitive damages. Thereafter, the court entered judgment in Plaintiff's favor and awarded Plaintiff $1,930,129 in compensatory damages from...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals