Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gXwftmw4 and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4200 posts.
Posted on May 10, 2022 by Barry Zalma
Consumers Insurance USA (“Consumers”) sought a declaratory judgment that it had no duty to insure, defend, or indemnify Defendants Huntleigh Dealership Services, Inc., and Huntleigh Bus Sales, Inc. (collectively, “Huntleigh”), for any claims or causes of action arising out of a May 2017 motor vehicle accident (“the accident”). Huntleigh opposed Consumers’ interpretation, and asserted it is covered under the terms set forth in Policy No. AD 29160359-4 (“the Policy”), as well as the subsequent renewal policy.
In Consumers Insurance USA v. Huntleigh Dealership Services, Inc. et al., Civil Action No. 19-1853, United States District Court, E.D. Pennsylvania (May 5, 2022) an accident with a vehicle sold to another in an accident two years after expiration of a policy the seller sought coverage from the expired policy.
BACKGROUND
Huntleigh is in the business of buying and selling new and used buses. It sought an insurance policy for its business from Consumers who issued to Huntleigh a “Garage Policy” that insured Huntleigh’s “garage operations, ” including its inventory of unsold buses. The Policy contained, in relevant part, the following clauses:
The policy was effective from November 30, 2014, until November 30, 2016. After the expiration of the policy Consumers no longer insured Huntleigh in any capacity.
In 2015, while the Policy was still in effect, Huntleigh sold a school bus to FKW, Inc., a/k/a Werner Bus Lines (hereinafter referred to as “Werner”). Huntleigh transferred title of the bus to Werner, which operates a charter bus business in the Philadelphia area.
Nearly two years later, Werner contracted with the Philadelphia School District to provide Charles W. Henry Elementary School with a charter bus for an 8th grade field trip to Washington, D.C. Werner provided the bus and an employee driver. While traveling on Interstate 95 in Maryland, the bus was involved in an accident in which all the children and adults on board were injured.
As a result, at least seventeen of the passengers filed suit in the Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas seeking personal injury damages as a result of the bus accident. As it pertains to this case, the claimants allege theories sounding in product liability (strict liability, negligent product liability, breach of warranties) against Huntleigh. In particular, the claims against Huntleigh include allegations that it sold a defective product to Werner in 2015 since the bus did not have any seat belts and the windows were improperly laminated.
In response to Huntleigh’s claim for the accident, Consumers denied coverage. Consumers stated that the allegations asserted against Huntleigh did not describe the operation, maintenance, or use of a covered auto in Huntleigh’s garage operations, since the bus was sold to Werner more than two years before the accident occurred and thus occurred outside the policy period.
Consumers moved for summary judgment. Huntleigh filed a response to Consumers’ motion and its own motion for summary judgment.
DISCUSSION
In this case, the USDC was charged with interpreting the language of the requisite insurance policy and determining whether coverage is provided based on the particular facts before it. Pennsylvania and Missouri share similar law in interpreting insurance contracts. T
Missouri courts undertake a similar analysis as Pennsylvania court. Courts in Missouri are charged with interpreting and enforceing an insurance policy as written, not to rewrite the contract. As in Pennsylvania, the court may not unreasonably distort the language of a policy or exercise inventive powers for the purpose of creating an ambiguity when none exists.
An occurrence, for purposes of an insurance contract, happens when the injurious effects of the negligence first manifest themselves in such a way that would put a reasonable person on notice of the injury. An occurrence takes place not the time the alleged wrongful act was committed, but is the time when the complaining party was actually damaged. Based on the above, there is no conflict of law regarding whether an occurrence under an insurance policy has taken place, since both jurisdictions agree that an occurrence has transpired not when the event occurs, but when its effects are apparent.
The Policy Does Not Cover Defendant’s Claim
Consumers argued that Huntleigh is not covered by the Policy because Huntleigh did not “own, maintain, or use” the bus as stated in the policy. Since the bus was sold by Huntleigh to Werner in April, 2015, Huntleigh did not own, maintain, or use the bus in any fashion at the time of the accident in May, 2017. Consumers logically argued the accident occurred after the Policy expired.
As a threshold matter the USDC concluded the policy was an occurrence-based policy. An “occurrence” policy protects the policyholder from liability for any act done while the policy is in effect. In view of the Policy’s unambiguous language and considered in its entirety, the Policy is an “occurrence” policy.
It is clear, based on unambiguous language, that only qualifying occurrences transpiring during the coverage period are covered. The Policy specifically focuses on the act causing injury as the coverage “trigger” and specifically requires this injury to occur during the applicable policy period.
Since the accident occurred outside of the relevant policy period, the USDC concluded that coverage should be denied. Huntleigh did not have an effective policy with Consumers at the time of the accident on May 15, 2017.
Huntleigh could not have been “using” the bus at the time of the accident when Huntleigh neither owned nor operated the bus, nor did it employ the driver responsible for the accident.
Consumers and Huntleigh entered into a contract for indemnification for events that transpired during a specified time period, as is common in the insurance industry. By attempting to twist the term “use” into a limitless conveyor of unspecified liability, Huntleigh turned a blind eye to other logical sections of the policy that clearly provided limits to coverage.
Insurance coverage does not extend ad infinitum, and more specifically, ceased before the date of the accident.
Therefore, Consumers’ Motion for Summary Judgment was granted, and Huntleigh’s Motion for Summary Judgment was denied.
ZALMA OPINION
An “occurrence” policy provides indemnity and defense to an insured for an accident-occurrence that happens while the policy was in effect. No one was injured as a result of the sale of the bus in question two years before the accident. Therefore, there can be no coverage for defense or indemnity to an insured for a loss that occurred two years after expiration of the policy.
No alt text provided for this image
(c) 2022 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, now limits his practice to service as an insurance consultant specializing in insurance coverage, insurance claims handling, insurance bad faith and insurance fraud almost equally for insurers and policyholders. He practiced law in California for more than 44 years as an insurance coverage and claims handling lawyer and more than 54 years in the insurance business. He is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected].
Subscribe to Zalma on Insurance at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.local.com/subscribe.
Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at https://barryzalma.substack.com/welcome.
Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.
Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library/
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations
Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4868
CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES
In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.
Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).
She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.
THE LAW
Pleading Standard.
To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...
Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection
Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma
John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection
BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD
Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”
In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)
The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
THE LAW
Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.
THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...
Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers
Post 4866
Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.
After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.
Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.
Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...