No Physical Damage No Coverage
Read the full article at https://www.linkedin.com/feed/update/urn:li:ugcPost:6925421498660790273?updateEntityUrn=urn%3Ali%3Afs_updateV2%3A%28urn%3Ali%3AugcPost%3A6925421498660790273%2CFEED_DETAIL%2CEMPTY%2CDEFAULT%2Cfalse%29 and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4200 posts.
Posted on April 28, 2022 by Barry Zalma
EVEN THE NINTH CIRCUIT AGREES
In Rialto Pockets, Inc.; Brookhurst Venture, LLC; City Of Industry Hospitality Venture, Inc.; and 22 more plaintiffs, et al. v. Beazley Underwriting Limited, and Certain Underwriters At Lloyds London, Including Beazley Furlonge Ltd, No. 21-55196, United States Court of Appeals, Ninth Circuit (April 20, 2022) the 24 Plaintiffs appealed the district court’s dismissal of their operative complaint in an insurance coverage dispute.
Plaintiffs are 24 affiliated companies who operate 23 so-called “gentlemen’s” clubs and a retail store, and they claim coverage under a single policy issued by Defendant Beazley Underwriting Ltd. (“Beazley”) to non-party affiliate The Spearmint Rhino Companies Worldwide, Inc.
Plaintiffs alleged that all 24 businesses were closed as a result of the Covid-19 Governmental Orders, including stay-at-home orders issued by the State of California and relevant local governments. After Beazley denied coverage for economic losses resulting from the closures, Plaintiffs sued asserting a single claim for breach of the insurance policy. The district court granted a motion to dismiss Plaintiffs’ operative amended complaint.
FACTS ALLEGED
The “relevant coverage provision” is referred to as the “Time Element” provision, which addresses certain economic losses resulting from physical damage or loss to insured property. Specifically, that provision states that:
“[t]his Policy insures Time Element loss, as set forth in the Time Element Coverages, directly resulting from direct physical loss or physical damage insured by this Policy occurring during the Period of Insurance to Property Insured by this Policy” (emphasis added by the court).
According to the complaint, Beazley breached this coverage obligation by failing to pay Plaintiffs for the Time Element losses that directly resulted from the Covid-19 Governmental Orders or were caused by the Covid-19 Governmental Orders.
ANALYSIS
Plaintiffs’ claim of coverage is foreclosed by the California Court of Appeal’s decision, Inns by the Sea v. California Mut. Ins. Co., 286 Cal.Rptr.3d 576 (Ct. App. 2021) and the Ninth Circuit’s decision Ryman v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 505 F.3d 993, 995 (9th Cir. 2007).
The decision in the Inns by the Sea case addressed the interpretation of analogous policy language providing coverage for a suspension of operations “caused by direct physical loss of or damage to property at [the insured’s] premises,” and it did so in the context of comparable alleged losses based “on the situation created by the [Covid-19 Governmental] Orders.” 286 Cal.Rptr.3d at 582, 590 (second emphasis added). The court rejected such coverage as a matter of law.
Inns by the Sea held that, under well-settled California insurance law, the “mere loss of use of physical property to generate business income, without any other physical impact on the property, does not give rise to coverage for direct physical loss.” (emphasis added).
Even assuming that the alleged physical presence of the virus on the insured’s premises might be thought to give rise to a physical impact or to direct physical damage, there still was no coverage.
The relevant coverage language required that the alleged loss be “caused by” the claimed direct physical damage, but the insured’s own allegations confirmed “the lack of causal connection between the alleged physical presence of the virus on [the insured’s] premises and the suspension of [its] operations.” Even if the insured “had thoroughly sterilized its premises to remove any trace of the virus,” the insured “would still have continued to incur a suspension of operations because the Orders would still have been in effect and the normal functioning of society still would have been curtailed.”
The complaint expressly alleges that the losses “directly result[ed] from the Covid-19 Governmental Orders” or were “caused by the Covid-19 Governmental Orders.” The plaintiffs, because there was no way they could, did not allege direct physical damage to their property. Consequently, under Inns by the Sea, the claimed losses did not “directly result[] from direct . . . physical damage . . . to Property,” as required by the relevant policy language.
Because Plaintiffs’ asserted losses do not fall within the scope of the insurance policy, the district court correctly granted Defendant’s motion to dismiss.
ZALMA OPINION
When even the notoriously liberal Ninth Circuit refuses to ignore the clear and unambiguous language of a policy of insurance that requires there be direct physical damage to property to recover under a time element coverage (business interruption) cover because of orders of the state shutting the business, it is time for lawyers and litigants to stop trying. They might want to consider that their losses are due to a taking of their property by the state in violation of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the U.S. Constitution.
(c) 2022 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Barry Zalma, Esq., CFE, now limits his practice to service as an insurance consultant specializing in insurance coverage, insurance claims handling, insurance bad faith and insurance fraud almost equally for insurers and policyholders. He practiced law in California for more than 44 years as an insurance coverage and claims handling lawyer and more than 54 years in the insurance business. He is available at http://www.zalma.com and [email protected].
Subscribe to Zalma on Insurance at locals.com https://zalmaoninsurance.local.com/subscribe.
Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at https://barryzalma.substack.com/welcome.
Write to Mr. Zalma at [email protected]; http://www.zalma.com; http://zalma.com/blog; daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.
Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://anchor.fm/barry-zalma; Follow Mr. Zalma on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library/
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers
Post 4866
Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.
After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.
Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.
Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations
Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4868
CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES
In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.
Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).
She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.
THE LAW
Pleading Standard.
To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...
A Suit Filed Before the Claim Exists is Fatal
Post 4870
Posted on October 20, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly; Somerset Services, Inc.; And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC, and Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC Nos. 2024-CA-1471-MR, 2025-CA-1366-MR, Court of Appeals of Kentucky (October 9, 2026) Louis Briggs was arrested in 2014 after an incident with police and charged with several offenses, including third-degree assault.
Probable cause was found and an indictment was returned, but the charges were eventually dismissed. His attorney, Shaun Wimberly, then filed a federal civil rights suit for Briggs in a United States district court, which also asserted state-law claims. The district court dismissed most of the claims and declined to exercise jurisdiction over the remaining state-law claims. Briggs blamed Wimberly for the result, fired him, and appealed to the Sixth Circuit.
While the federal appeal was pending, Briggs filed a legal malpractice action against Wimberly in the Jefferson Circuit Court. The Sixth ...