Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
July 30, 2025
Insurer Not Negligent in Causing Accident Caused by Its Insured

USDC Bends Over Backwards to Give a Pro Se Plaintiff Some Causes of Action
Post 5157

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g9Q_P2tQ and at https://lnkd.in/g6HPdF9q, and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 5150 posts.

When You Represent Yourself in Litigation You Have a Fool for a Lawyer

Plaintiff Gordon Clark, proceeding pro se, sued Defendant Olga L. Orengo and her auto insurance carrier, The Hanover Insurance Group, Inc. (“Hanover”), related to a motor vehicle collision between Plaintiff and Orengo. Plaintiff alleged that Orengo was at fault for the accident, but Hanover has refused to accept liability. In Gordon Clark v. The Hanover Insurance Group, Inc., No. 3:24-cv-348 (SVN), United States District Court, D. Connecticut (July 22, 2025)

Claims and Motions

Plaintiff has brought eight claims against both Defendants and a ninth claim against Hanover for alleged violations of Plaintiff’s rights under federal and state law. Defendants have both moved to dismiss Plaintiff’s amended complaint in full for failure to state a claim. The court granted Orengo’s motion to dismiss in part and denied it in part, while Hanover’s motion to dismiss has been granted in full.

Factual Background

The incident occurred on the evening of July 22, 2023, when Plaintiff’s vehicle was “T-boned” by Orengo’s vehicle at a highway onramp. Plaintiff alleges that Orengo was found to be at fault by the State Police Officer and issued a written warning for failure to maintain proper lane. Following the accident, Plaintiff experienced significant physical pain and suffering, which he attributed to the collision.

The court’s ruling addresses several legal claims:

Negligence:

The court dismisses the negligence claims against Hanover but finds that Plaintiff has stated claims for negligence and negligence per se against Orengo.

Intentional Infliction of Emotional Distress (IIED):

The court dismissed the IIED claims against both Defendants, finding that the conduct alleged does not rise to the level of extreme and outrageous required to sustain an IIED claim.

Negligent Infliction of Emotional Distress (NIED):

The court dismissed the NIED claims against both Defendants, noting that the claims are duplicative of the negligence claims and failed to state a claim.

Insurance Fraud:

The court dismisses the insurance fraud claims against both Defendants, finding that Plaintiff failed to meet the heightened pleading requirements for actions alleging fraud.

Assumption of Duty:

The court dismissed the assumption of duty claims without leave to replead, as the issue of assumption of duty is usually part of analyzing whether a duty exists to support a breach of contract or tort claim .

Breach of the Implied Covenant of Good Faith and Fair Dealing:

The court dismisses these claims, noting that Plaintiff does not allege that a contract existed between him and Hanover or Orengo.

Malice:

The court dismisses the malice claims, finding that malice is not a legally cognizable tort claim.

Violation of CUTPA:

The court dismissed the CUTPA claims against Hanover, noting that Plaintiff has neither alleged more than one act of insurance misconduct nor asserted a breach of contract claim.

CONCLUSION

The court granted Hanover’s motion to dismiss in full, and granted in part and denies in part Orengo’s motion to dismiss. Plaintiff may file a Second Amended Complaint by August 21, 2025, consistent with the court’s ruling.

DISCUSSION

Beginning with Hanover, Plaintiff does not articulate how Hanover in any way caused the alleged injuries. Plaintiff’s arguments as to negligence focus solely on the collision between Orengo and Plaintiff. Hanover was not a party to the car accident and the amended complaint does not allege that Hanover acted negligently in any manner to cause the collision to occur.

Even if the negligence cause of action against Hanover were based on its alleged denial of liability coverage for the accident, it must still fail. Absent a direct contractual relationship between the injured party bringing the action and the insurance company of the alleged tortfeasor, or a third-party beneficiary relationship, an injured party is precluded from bringing a direct action for negligence against the insurer until judgment is obtained against the tortfeasor. It was undisputed that Plaintiff has no direct contractual relationship with Hanover.

As to Orengo, however, the Court held that Plaintiff has plausibly stated a negligence claim.

Negligence Per Se

Negligence per se effectively engrafts a particular statutory standard onto the standard of care imposed by the duty element of a negligence cause of action. To establish negligence per se, a plaintiff need not prove that the defendant failed to act as an ordinarily prudent person would have acted under the circumstances.

Plaintiff has alleged sufficient facts to support a negligence per se claim.

ZALMA OPINION

Automobile Liability Insurance is a contract that promises to defend and, if necessary, indemnify its insured. When there is no evidence that the insurer was involved in causing the accident there can be no case against the insurer. Pro Se plaintiffs cause this kind of problem for courts by charging torts that don’t exist and suing parties that had no involvement. Giving the Pro Se plaintiff the benefit of the doubt the court allowed an amended complaint so that more judicial time can be taken to deal with incompetent lawyering by a non lawyer.

(c) 2025 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe

Go to X @bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk.

00:09:16
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
2 hours ago
Expert Report Must Be Admissible or it Will be Excluded

No Breach of Contract no Bad Faith

Post 4568
Posted on October 23, 2026 by Barry Zalma

A Party Cannot Designate One Witness While Submitting An Undifferentiated Product Of That Witness And An Undesignated Collaborator.

Post 4568

In Dustin Cain; Amanda Cain v. State Farm Fire and Casualty Company, No. 25-60442, United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit (October 16, 2026) Dustin and Amanda Cain sought homeowners’ insurance benefits after a tree fell on their Mississippi home on August 27, 2022. State Farm concluded that the tree caused only a roof puncture and that other damage resulted from excluded long-term conditions. It paid $10,042.90 and later an additional $3,130.08.

The Cains relied on an engineering report and contractor estimate asserting substantially greater damage, sued for breach of contract and related relief, and designated Sean Fee as their sole expert. Fee’s report and a later repair estimate were jointly authored with Jim Irmiter, but neither document identified which opinions, work, or ...

post photo preview
October 22, 2026
John Madden and The US Patent and Trademark Office

Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection

Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma

John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection

BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD

Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”

In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)

The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.

THE LAW

Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.

THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...

post photo preview
October 21, 2026
Supervisory Officials are not Individually Liable

Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers

Post 4866

Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.

After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.

Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.

Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals