Ignorance of UM Coverage for Pedestrian Hit by Car is Inexcusable
Post 5107
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gyX8BgrF, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gPejDHQV and at https://lnkd.in/gkPqNw4Y and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 5100 posts.
Dennis Malcolm Patterson was struck by an automobile while crossing the street, he sued the driver who hit him and sought uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage from his own insurer, United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”). USAA filed a motion to dismiss, arguing that Patterson failed to comply with the policy provision requiring prompt notification. Following a hearing, the trial court granted the motion and Patterson appealed.
In Patterson v. United Services Automobile Association, No. A25A0259, Court of Appeals of Georgia, Fifth Division (June 20, 2025) the trial court’s judgment was affirmed.
Key Points:
Trial Court’s Decision:
It treated the court’s order as a denial of summary judgment
Incident Details:
Patterson was injured on May 17, 2019, when a car driven by Abhay Kumar Singh ran a stop sign and hit him. Patterson hired an attorney on February 17, 2021, and forwarded the police report to a USAA adjuster on March 5, 2021 .
USAA’s Denial:
USAA denied coverage, arguing that Patterson failed to comply with the policy’s provisions requiring prompt notice .
Policy Provisions:
The policy required insureds to notify the insurer promptly of how, when, and where an accident or loss happened. Patterson’s 21-month delay in notifying USAA was deemed a failure to provide prompt notice .
Court’s Conclusion:
The Court of Appeals found Patterson’s delay unreasonable as a matter of law and affirmed the trial court’s order .
DISCUSSION
The trial court found that the policy provision requiring insureds to notify the insurer “promptly of how, when, and where an accident or loss happened” was a condition precedent to coverage. Patterson’s 21-month delay in notifying USAA meant that he failed “as a matter of law” to provide prompt notice.
The trial court also determined that Patterson’s ignorance of the fact that a pedestrian can benefit from his own uninsured motorist coverage is not an excuse that creates a jury issue.
A notice provision expressly made a condition precedent to coverage is valid and must be complied with. Where an insured has not demonstrated justification for failure to give notice according to the terms of the policy, then the insurer is not obligated to provide either a defense or coverage.
An insured may be able to present justification for delay in giving notice, and whether that justification was sufficient is generally a fact-based inquiry for a jury.
Georgia law is replete with cases finding that an insured’s reasons for delay are unreasonable as a matter of law. Patterson’s appeal falls into this category. Its courts have held that mere ignorance of coverage, without other justification for delay, presents no jury question.
If an insured does not read or otherwise make himself aware of the policy provisions, the Court of Appeals concluded that any ambiguity in the unread policy cannot have been a reason for his delay in providing prompt notification. It is well settled that the general rule is that an insured has an obligation to read and examine his insurance policy to determine the nature of the coverage therein.
The Court of Appeals explained that there was no evidence – indeed, not even an assertion – that Patterson’s ignorance of the terms of the insurance policy was due to any fraud or overreaching on the part of the insurer or its agents. The law requires more than just ignorance, or even misplaced confidence, to avoid the terms of a valid contract.
The Court of Appeals concluded that Patterson’s delay unreasonable as a matter of law. The trial court’s order properly dismissed his claim.
ZALMA OPINION
Since law in most states required insurance companies to write their insurance policies in “easy to read language” there is no way to claim the policy was difficult or impossible to read. States like Georgia require an insured to read the policy and find that if the insured is ignorant of the conditions of the policy is not an excuse for failing to comply with conditions precedent. A 21 month delay in giving notice defeats coverage and is unreasonable as a matter of law.
(c) 2025 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk.
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations
Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4868
CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES
In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.
Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).
She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.
THE LAW
Pleading Standard.
To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...
Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection
Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma
John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection
BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD
Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”
In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)
The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
THE LAW
Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.
THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...
Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers
Post 4866
Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.
After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.
Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.
Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...