Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
June 23, 2025
The Clear Language Of The Insurance Contract Controls

Failure to Name a Party as an Additional Insured Defeats Claim
Post 5104

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gbcTYSNa, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/ggmDyTnT and at https://lnkd.in/gZ-uZPh7, and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 5100 posts.

Contract Interpretation is Based on the Clear and Unambiguous Language of the Policy

In Associated Industries Insurance Company, Inc. v. Sentinel Insurance Company, Ltd., No. 23-CV-10400 (MMG), United States District Court, S.D. New York (June 16, 2025) an insurance coverage dispute arising from a personal injury action in New York State Supreme Court.

The underlying action, Eduardo Molina v. Venchi 2, LLC, et al., concerned injuries allegedly resulting from a construction accident at premises owned by Central Area Equities Associates LLC (CAEA) and leased by Venchi 2 LLC with the USDC required to determine who was entitled to a defense from which insurer.
KEY POINTS

Parties Involved:

CAEA is insured by Associated Industries Insurance Company, Inc. (Plaintiff).
Venchi 2 LLC is insured by Sentinel Insurance Company, Ltd. (Defendant) through its parent entity Venchi U.S. Inc. .

Claims:

Associated sought a summary judgment declaring that Sentinel has a duty to defend and indemnify CAEA in the underlying action, and that Sentinel’s coverage is primary while Associated’s coverage is excess .
Sentinel opposed this and sought a summary judgment for itself, declaring that CAEA does not qualify as an additional insured under the policy held by Venchi U.S., and therefore, Sentinel does not have a duty to defend and indemnify CAEA.

Court’s Decision:

The court denied Associated’s motion for summary judgment and granted Sentinel’s motion for summary judgment.
The court held that CAEA is not entitled to additional-insured coverage under the Sentinel policy, and therefore, Sentinel does not have a duty to defend and indemnify CAEA in the underlying action.

BACKGROUND

On September 20, 2018, Eduardo Molina, a construction worker, allegedly fell from a scaffold while working on a project at 861 Broadway, New York, NY. Molina sued Venchi 2, CAEA, and Transworld Equities, Inc., asserting claims of common law negligence and failure to provide a safe workplace under New York Labor Law and the Industrial Code.

INSURANCE POLICIES

1. Sentinel Policy: Issued to Venchi U.S. for the period October 13, 2017, to October 13, 2018. Venchi U.S. is the only named insured .
2. Associated Policy: Issued to Transworld Equities, Inc. for the period April 16, 2018, to April 16, 2019. CAEA is identified as a named insured .

CONCLUSION

The court concluded that Sentinel does not have a duty to defend and indemnify CAEA in the underlying action, and Sentinel was not required to reimburse Associated for any costs incurred.

DISCUSSION

Under New York law it is well-established that courts determining a dispute over insurance coverage must first look to the language of the policy. The language of the policy is then to be interpreted according to general rules of contract interpretation. An insurance contract is interpreted to give effect to the intent of the parties as expressed in the clear language of the contract.

If a contract is unambiguous, courts are required to give effect to the contract as written and may not consider extrinsic evidence to alter or interpret its meaning. A contract is not ambiguous if the language it uses has a definite and precise meaning, unattended by danger of misconception in the purport of the agreement itself and concerning which there is no reasonable basis for a difference of opinion. Unambiguous provisions of an insurance policy are to be given their plain and ordinary meaning, and the plain and ordinary meaning of words may not be disregarded to find an ambiguity where none exists.

Given the Court’s holding that CAEA is not entitled to additional-insured coverage, the Court further held that:

1. Sentinel does not have a duty to defend and indemnify CAEA in the Underlying Action, which moots Associated’s further request for relief regarding a declaration that Associated’s coverage is excess; and
2. Sentinel is not required to reimburse for costs incurred or that will be incurred in defending and, if necessary, indemnifying CAEA in the Underlying Action.

For the foregoing reasons, the Court granted Sentinel’s motion for summary judgment and denied Associated’s motion for summary judgment was granted.

ZALMA OPINION

A person can only become an “additional insured” on a liability policy if named on the policy itself as an additional insured or by the terms of the contract – even if unnamed – the person or entity is entitled to additional insured rights. The right to a defense did not exist because the court concluded from the clear and unambiguous language of the policy there was no coverage owed by Sentinel to CAEA.

(c) 2025 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe

Go to X @bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk.

00:08:22
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
1 hour ago
Expert Report Must Be Admissible or it Will be Excluded

No Breach of Contract no Bad Faith

Post 4568
Posted on October 23, 2026 by Barry Zalma

A Party Cannot Designate One Witness While Submitting An Undifferentiated Product Of That Witness And An Undesignated Collaborator.

Post 4568

In Dustin Cain; Amanda Cain v. State Farm Fire and Casualty Company, No. 25-60442, United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit (October 16, 2026) Dustin and Amanda Cain sought homeowners’ insurance benefits after a tree fell on their Mississippi home on August 27, 2022. State Farm concluded that the tree caused only a roof puncture and that other damage resulted from excluded long-term conditions. It paid $10,042.90 and later an additional $3,130.08.

The Cains relied on an engineering report and contractor estimate asserting substantially greater damage, sued for breach of contract and related relief, and designated Sean Fee as their sole expert. Fee’s report and a later repair estimate were jointly authored with Jim Irmiter, but neither document identified which opinions, work, or ...

post photo preview
October 22, 2026
John Madden and The US Patent and Trademark Office

Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection

Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma

John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection

BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD

Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”

In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)

The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.

THE LAW

Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.

THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...

post photo preview
October 21, 2026
Supervisory Officials are not Individually Liable

Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers

Post 4866

Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.

After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.

Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.

Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals