Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
May 28, 2025
Court Refuses to Assist an Insured to Defraud Insurer

It is the Obligation of an Insured to Prove his Claim
Post 5084

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gA_JbKCA and at https://lnkd.in/gdCQcUYJ and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 5050 posts.

Theft Claim Insufficient to Allow Total Gutting of Structure

Posted on May 28, 2025 by Barry Zalma

In Seviiri Bunjo v. State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, No. 1-24-1010, 2025 IL App (1st) 241010-U, Court of Appeals of Illinois, First District, First Division (May 19, 2025), an attempt to gain payment to remodel building failed when the insurer refused to pay for non-covered claims.

Seviiri Bunjo sued for declaratory judgment against State Farm Fire and Casualty Company (State Farm) after a break-in at his property in Chicago on May 31, 2019. Bunjo sought additional insurance proceeds for incident-related losses and lost rental income. The circuit court granted summary judgment in favor of State Farm, finding that Bunjo failed to show the damages estimate was inaccurate or that State Farm violated the terms of the insurance policy.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

The court found that Bunjo’s contractor, Sean Rogers, provided an estimate for a full gut rehab of the property rather than just for damages from the break-in. Additionally, Bunjo’s public adjuster, Vito Misceo, admitted that he could not accurately assess the damages because the property had already been gutted.

Regarding lost rental income, the court noted that Bunjo was under a court order prohibiting him from renting, using, leasing, or occupying the property at the time of the break-in. Therefore, State Farm was not obligated to pay for lost rents or additional living expenses.

In summary, the appellate court affirmed the circuit court’s decision to grant summary judgment in favor of State Farm, finding no merit in Bunjo’s arguments. The circuit court properly entered summary judgment in favor of the insurer where the insured failed to show the damages estimate was inaccurate or that the insurer violated the terms of the insurance policy.

State Farm met its initial burden of production by establishing that plaintiff lacks sufficient evidence to prove his claim. This shifted the burden of proof to plaintiff and the court found that “plaintiff *** failed to bring forward any additional evidence regarding the extent of the initial Incident-related losses,” and therefore, “there is no genuine issue of material fact on the extent of initial losses.”

ANALYSIS

Summary judgment should be granted when, as here, the pleadings, admissions on file, depositions and any affidavits, construed strictly against the moving party, reveal no genuine issue of material fact so that the movant is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.

Because an insurance policy is a contract, the court applies general rules of contract interpretation to the policy. If the words employed in the contract are clear and unambiguous, as is the case here, they must be given their plain, ordinary and popular meaning

Plaintiff was planning to do a full gut rehab of the Property before the break-in occurred. What’s more, plaintiff failed to include appropriate citations to his arguments on these issues on appeal. As a result, the appellate court affirmed the circuit court’s judgment, concluding that Bunjo did not present sufficient evidence to prove his claim.

ZALMA OPINION

Insurance is a contract that is designed to indemnify an insured for losses due to an insured against anYfortuitous event. In this case a burglary did some damage to the structure but did not destroy the structure or make it impossible to repair. Rather than seek repair only of the damage caused by the thieves Bunjo sought to have State Farm pay for what he planned before the loss, a full gutting of the property and reconstruction. The court felt it sufficient to dismiss the suit but, in my opinion, the trial court or the appellate court should have reported Bunjo to the Department of Justice for attempted insurance fraud.

(c) 2025 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe

Go to X @bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk.

00:06:53
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
11 hours ago
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES Post 4868 In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insura

Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations

Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4868

CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES

In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.

Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).

She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.

THE LAW

Pleading Standard.

To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...

post photo preview
October 16, 2026

Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs

Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs

Post 4867

In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND

Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.

Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...

post photo preview
October 15, 2026
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter – October 15, 2026

ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM

Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma

THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL

Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.

ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.

It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.

Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme

Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.

RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered

Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals