Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
April 16, 2025
Judgment for Insurer Because Suit Filed Late

Private Limitation of Action Provision Defeats Suit Against Insurer
Post 5049

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gUFvU7-h and at https://lnkd.in/gH4KgkRd and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 5000 posts.

This case involves a contractual statute of limitations in an insurance policy. Sidney and Shatika Davis (together, “Davis”) argue the trial court erroneously granted summary judgment in favor of Homeowners of America Insurance Company (“HAIC”).

In Sidney Davis And Shatika Davis v. Homeowners Of America Insurance Company, No. 05-24-00035-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fifth District, Dallas (April 7, 2025) because: (i) the contractual limitations period was valid (ii) the limitations was not tolled, (iii) HAIC did not breach the contract by failing to pay the amounts claimed, and (iv) HAIC addressed the fraud claim in its summary judgment motion.

BACKGROUND

HAIC issued an insurance policy for the Davis property (the “Property”). The Policy includes a contractual limitations period that requires suit to be filed by the earlier of two years and one day from the date the claim is accepted or rejected by HAIC or three years and one day from the date of the loss.

HAIC’s independent adjuster (the “IA”) met with the Davis contractor to inspect the Property. The inspection revealed hail damage to the roof, gutters/downspouts, and a storage shed. No interior damage was claimed or found. Additionally, inspection of the attic revealed foam insulation in the attic on the underside of the roof decking and framing. The foam insulation was intact, fully adhered, and undamaged and Davis did not claim that the foam insulation was damaged by the storm.

HAIC accepted the Claim on November 20, 2017 based on the IA’s findings which estimated $19,662.75 for storm damage repairs to the roof, gutters/downspouts, and shed. HAIC issued payment on the Claim in the amount of $6,612.75.

On March 1, 2018, HAIC issued a supplemental payment of $11,591.53 on the Claim. In issuing the supplemental payment, HAIC made clear that the payment was based on the contractor’s higher estimate and its position on coverage for foam insulation remained unchanged.

Davis attempted to invoke appraisal sometime between March 14, 2018, and April 27, 2018. There is no evidence that either party followed through or attempted to timely pursue, engage in, or complete the appraisal process in 2018 or 2019.

In an August 5, 2020 e-mail to Davis’s counsel, HAIC declined to reopen the Claim for further action because the appraisal request was made outside the two-years-and-one-day period required by the Policy for filing suit.

Davis sued HAIC on August 5, 2020, asserting claims for breach of contract, anticipatory breach, violations of the Insurance Code and Deceptive Trade Practices Act (“DTPA”), breach of the duty of good faith and fair dealing, fraud, and conspiracy. The court entered an order granting HAIC’s summary judgment motion on limitations in its entirety and dismissing the case with prejudice.

ANALYSIS

The Contractual Limitations Period

Davis argued the contractual limitations period is invalid because it has the effect of imposing a limitations period of less than two years as proscribed by the Texas code.

Generally, the limitations period for a breach of contract cause of action is four years after the day the cause of action accrues. In the context of insurance policies, insurance provisions that limit the time within which to file a suit to two years and a day are valid and binding.

The two-year period expired before the three-year period, and therefore, the two years and a day provision applied. Moreover, even if the three-year period applied, Davis’s August 5, 2020 suit was not timely filed.
Did the Supplemental Payment or the Appraisal Process Toll Limitations?

Appraisal under an insurance policy involves a contractual process by which the insurer and the insured select third parties to determine the amount of a claimed loss when the insurer and the insured cannot agree what the amount of loss.

In the present case, the November 20, 2017 letter was an unambiguous denial of coverage for foam insulation.

An insurer’s consideration of additional information from the insured after denying coverage does not alter the finality of an otherwise unambiguous decision to deny coverage.

Although Davis adduced no evidence to controvert HAIC’s denial of his claim for foam insulation on November 20, 2017, he suggests that limitations began to run when HAIC made the supplemental payment on March 1, 2018. The supplemental payment, however, did not include payment for the foam insulation and HAIC made clear that its position on that aspect of the Claim remained unchanged. The supplemental payment did not restart the limitations period and even if the limitations period began to run on March 1, 2018, Davis would have been required to file suit by March 2, 2020, and his August 5, 2020 petition is still untimely.

The nature of the appraisal process is such that it would typically not come into play until a claim is denied. With the claim denied there would be no disputed amount to appraise.

CONDITION PRECEDENT

A condition precedent in a contract is an event which must occur or an act that must be performed before a right can accrue to enforce an obligation. A cause of action for breach of contract does not accrue until all conditions precedent to the parties’ right to file suit have been satisfied. Therefore, the insurer’s interpretation of the Policy to require performance of the condition precedent before a cause of action accrues is not unreasonable.

The evidence shows that the Policy condition requiring demand for appraisal was met. The undisputed evidence established that, at best, the appraisal process was demanded but never commenced.

THE FRAUD CLAIM.

HAIC specifically identified fraud as one of Davis’s claims, and throughout the motion argued that the Policy’s limitations period applied to all of Davis’s claims. Since the breach of contract claim was time barred by the Policy’s two years and a day limitations period the extra-contractual claims were also time barred.

The judgment of the trial court was AFFIRMED.

ZALMA OPINION

As the court clearly stated an insurance policy is a contract. Failure to comply with a policy condition – file suit within two years and one day – is clear, unambiguous and enforceable. HAIC established that the suit was filed more than two years and one day after the claim was unambiguously denied for amounts greater than that already paid. Every policyholder and policy holder lawyer that wishes to sue an insurer must read and understand the policy and when it has a private limitation of action provision must file suit before the limitation provision expires.

(c) 2025 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe

Go to X @bzalma; Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg

Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk

00:10:32
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
17 hours ago
Supervisory Officials are not Individually Liable

Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers

Post 4866

Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.

After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.

Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.

Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...

post photo preview
October 19, 2026
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES Post 4868 In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insura

Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations

Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4868

CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES

In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.

Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).

She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.

THE LAW

Pleading Standard.

To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...

post photo preview
October 20, 2026
Suit Must be Ripe When Filed

A Suit Filed Before the Claim Exists is Fatal

Post 4870

Posted on October 20, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly; Somerset Services, Inc.; And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC, and Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC Nos. 2024-CA-1471-MR, 2025-CA-1366-MR, Court of Appeals of Kentucky (October 9, 2026) Louis Briggs was arrested in 2014 after an incident with police and charged with several offenses, including third-degree assault.

Probable cause was found and an indictment was returned, but the charges were eventually dismissed. His attorney, Shaun Wimberly, then filed a federal civil rights suit for Briggs in a United States district court, which also asserted state-law claims. The district court dismissed most of the claims and declined to exercise jurisdiction over the remaining state-law claims. Briggs blamed Wimberly for the result, fired him, and appealed to the Sixth Circuit.

While the federal appeal was pending, Briggs filed a legal malpractice action against Wimberly in the Jefferson Circuit Court. The Sixth ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals