Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
October 14, 2024
Perjury by Witness is a Superseding Cause of Injury

Summary Judgment for Lawyers Sued for Malpractice Reversed
Post 4910

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gddZ4P4g, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gpVMqxu7 and at https://lnkd.in/g2nA2HB2 and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4900 posts.

In GMG Insurance Agency v. Margolis Edelstein, No. 213,2023, Supreme Court of Delaware (October 8, 2024) reversed summary judgment in favor of lawyers faced with a claim of professional negligence relating to legal services provided to GMG Insurance Agency.

The Margolis Edelstein (“Margolis”) law firm defended GMG and Howard Wilson, a GMG employee, in a noncompete action brought by Lyons Insurance Agency, Inc. in the Court of Chancery. After GMG failed to prevail fully on its motion for summary judgment in the Court of Chancery, GMG fired Margolis and at the same time also fired Wilson.

On the eve of trial, with GMG represented by new counsel and Wilson represented by separate counsel, Wilson filed an affidavit recanting his prior testimony. Wilson’s new sworn statements were drastically inconsistent with his prior testimony and unfavorable to GMG. GMG, with its defenses obliterated by the perjured statement settled its part of the litigation for $1.2 million.

GMG then sued Margolis. GMG asserted that but for Margolis’s negligent representation in the Court of Chancery, GMG would not have been exposed to the consequences of Wilson’s eleventh-hour change in testimony. The Superior Court granted summary judgment in favor of Margolis.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

The Court of Chancery Litigation

Lyons sued Wilson and GMG seeking injunctive relief and money damages. Lyons claimed that Wilson’s employment with GMG breached his non-compete agreement with Lyons, and that GMG aided and abetted that breach and tortiously interfered with the agreement between Lyons and Wilson. GMG retained Margolis to represent itself and Wilson in the Chancery Litigation.

The Court of Chancery granted summary judgment in favor of GMG on all counts except for Lyons’s tortious interference claim. The court also held that Wilson had breached his non-compete agreement with Lyons.

As predicted Wilson filed an affidavit “disavow[ing] and recant[ing] any prior sworn testimony inconsistent with” his new affidavit (the “Wilson Affidavit”). GMG paid $1.2 million to settle the claims against it in the Chancery Litigation.

ANALYSIS

To prevail on a claim of legal malpractice, a plaintiff must establish the following elements: (i) the employment of the attorney; (ii) the attorney’s neglect of a professional obligation; and (iii) resulting loss. Regarding the last element, “the plaintiff must demonstrate that the underlying action would have been successful but for the attorney’s negligence.”

The Supreme Court found Superior Court erred in three ways.

1 granting summary judgment for Margolis because there are disputes of material fact as to whether Margolis’s representation of GMG in the Chancery Litigation breached the standard of care owed by Delaware attorneys.
2 failing to address GMG’s contention that, but for Margolis’s alleged negligence, GMG would have prevailed on all claims in the Chancery Litigation.
3 concluding as a matter of law that the Wilson Affidavit was a superseding cause that broke the causal chain leading to the settlement of the Chancery Litigation.

The Court of Chancery granted summary judgment in favor of GMG. This ruling alone evidences the competence and diligent representation of GMG by Margolis prior to termination.

GMG also contends that Margolis committed malpractice by simultaneously representing GMG and Wilson in the Chancery Litigation despite a potential conflict of interest. Because the factual record and the reasonable inferences to be drawn from it could support a finding in GMG’s favor on its allegations of negligence, the Superior Court erred in granting summary judgment in favor of Margolis.

The Superior Court Erred In Concluding That The Wilson Affidavit Was A Superseding Cause As A Matter Of Law.

To break the causal chain and make an intervening cause a superseding one, the intervening act or event itself must have been neither anticipated nor reasonably foreseeable by the original tortfeasor. However, evidence did not show Margolis could reasonably foresee twenty months before the execution of the Wilson Affidavit-that Wilson would perjure himself by changing his prior sworn testimony with the Wilson Affidavit. Therefore, the Supreme Court found the Wilson Affidavit was a superseding cause that broke the causal chain leading to the settlement of the Chancery Litigation.

Margolis is not relieved from liability because it could not foresee the precise event that might lead to, or trigger, the adverse litigation result. It was sufficient that it could foresee that GMG remaining as a defendant in the Chancery Litigation could lead to an unhappy ending.

The Superior Court’s erroneous and reversible conclusion that the Wilson Affidavit was, as a matter of law, a superseding cause of GMG’s damages resulted in the Superior Court’s error in granting Margolis Edelstein’s motion for summary judgment.

Adding to the judgment with a concurring opinion Chief Justice SEITZ noted that Wilson’s pre-affidavit testimony, by itself, was most likely perjury in the Court of Chancery litigation and fraud between the parties to that case. But if GMG then used Wilson’s false testimony to prop up its separate legal malpractice action, it qualifies as a fraud on the court and GMG would be converting fraud between the parties into a fraud on the court. On remand, the Superior Court should decide whether this is the case. If so, GMG’s case should be dismissed as a sanction for its misconduct.

ZALMA OPINION

Lawyers, although they try, are neither perfect nor clairvoyant. Lawyers, judges, and every human will err. The trial judges erred and the plaintiff, GMG, tried to use Wilson’s perjury to possibly create a fraud on the court which attempt could result in a dismissal of the case for its misconduct, the case remaining is ripe for an agreed settlement to avoid a terminating sanction.

(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe or Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gmmzUVBy

Go to X @bzalma; Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg

Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk

00:10:49
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
3 hours ago

Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs

Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs

Post 4867

In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND

Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.

Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...

post photo preview
October 15, 2026
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter – October 15, 2026

ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM

Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma

THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL

Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.

ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.

It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.

Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme

Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.

RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered

Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...

post photo preview
October 14, 2026
District Court has Wide Discretion in Sentencing

Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions

Post 4863

Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.

The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.

Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals