Wrongful Death of an Insured Excluded
Post 4861
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gR-zfHvQ, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gCEzyupg and at https://lnkd.in/gmjB8KYb and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4850 posts.
In B.H., et al v. P.B. and L.B., and Upland Mutual Insurance, No. 126,874, Court of Appeals of Kansas (August 16, 2024) the Court of Appeals resolved a coverage issue.
FACTUAL BACKGROUND
In B.H., Special Administrator of the Estate of C.W.H., a Minor, and B.H., Individually and for and on Behalf of All the Surviving Heirs-at-Law of C.W.H., a Minor v. P.B. and L.B., and Upland Mutual Insurance, No. 126,874, Court of Appeals of Kansas (August 16, 2024) the Court of Appeals needed to resolve a coverage issue when insurer was asked to pay a judgment rendered against its insured.
GARNISHMENT PROCEEDINGS
A garnishment proceeding in Kansas does not create contractual privity between a judgment creditor and the garnishee. A judgment creditor seeking to garnish a judgment debtor’s insurance provider-when the judgment creditor is not in privity of contract with the insurer and is not an intended third-party beneficiary of the insurance policy-may only recover from the insurer to the extent the insured judgment debtor could recover.
FACTUAL BACKGROUND
Mother’s toddler tragically died from drowning in a pond at the child’s foster parents’ home. Mother sought damages from the foster parents, alleging they negligently caused her child’s death. The district court found one of the foster parents- P.B.-80% at fault for her child’s death and awarded Mother damages of $320,000, comprised of $120,000 for the mother’s survivor claim and $200,000 for her wrongful death claim.
P.B. and L.B. were licensed foster parents who received Mother’s child, C.W.H., as a foster placement in December 2015 when C.W.H. was about one month old. In August 2017, when C.W.H. was about 23 months old, he drowned in a tragic accident in a fishpond on the foster parents’ property when only P.B. was home. At the time of C.W.H.’s death, Mother had been working on her reintegration plan and C.W.H. was spending five nights a week with Mother.
The foster parents were insured under a homeowners insurance policy issued by Upland Mutual. The policy contained the following exclusion: “‘bodily injury’ to ‘you’, and if residents of ‘your’ household, ‘your’ relatives and persons under the age of 21 in ‘your’ care or in the care of ‘your’ resident relatives.”
Upland Mutual notified P.B. and L.B. of this refusal to provide coverage and defense, explaining that C.W.H. was under the age of 21 (he was approximately age 22 months old at the date of the incident), was residing in the household and was in P.B and L.B. care. C.W.H. was also an insured under the policy.
After winning that judgment, Mother sued Upland Mutual, P.B.’s homeowners insurer, in the amount of the judgment against P.B. The district court ordered Upland Mutual to pay Mother $200,000, which represents P.B.’s proportional share of fault on her wrongful death claim. The district court agreed with Mother in part, finding no coverage for Mother’s survivor claim but finding the homeowners insurance policy covered Mother’s wrongful death claim because Mother was not an insured under the policy.
DISCUSSION
The only issue on appeal is whether the district court erred in entering a garnishment order against Upland Mutual for Mother’s wrongful death judgment against P.B. When the facts are undisputed the court need not review the district court’s factual findings and can proceed to the second step to review the district court’s conclusions of law .
The District Court Erred in Finding the Foster Parents’ Homeowners Insurance Policy Provided Coverage for the Judgment on Mother’s Wrongful Death Claim
Upland Mutual’s fairly broad coverage provision is limited by a separate provision that states personal liability coverage “does not apply to: a. ‘bodily injury’ to ‘you’, and if residents of ‘your’ household, ‘your’ relatives and persons under the age of 21 in ‘your’ care ….”
The plain and unambiguous policy language excludes from coverage bodily injuries, including death, to persons under the age of 21 that occurred while the injured was in the care of the insured and a resident of their household. The parties did not dispute that C.W.H. resided with the insureds and thus met this definition under either interpretation. Since the exclusion language in the present case is not ambiguous it was applied as written.
It is axiomatic that when the terms of an insurance policy are clear and unambiguous, the court must give effect to the parties’ clear intentions and enforce the contract as made.
Since the policy clearly excluded from coverage damages resulting from C.W.H.’s death because C.W.H. was residing in the insureds’ home, under the insureds’ care, and under the age of 21, the district court’s garnishment order for Mother’s wrongful death judgment was, therefore, reversed.
ZALMA OPINION
The loss of a child is horrible. Judges feel empathy, if not sympathy, to a mother whose child died as a result of a the negligence of others. Judges seldom have empathy for an insurer who refuses to indemnify an insured because of an exclusion. The Trial court ordered the insurer to pay in contravention of a clear and unambiguous exclusion. The Court of Appeals reversed because the exclusion was clear.
THE ART OF ADJUSTING
I will be appearing on the “Art of Adjusting” podcast The link below is a preview of the podcast that will be posted in full next week. https://dropbox.com/scl/fi/ldkfrvc
(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe or Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gmmzUVBy
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg
Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk & https://lnkd.in/gRthzSnT.
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers
Post 4866
Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.
After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.
Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.
Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations
Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4868
CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES
In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.
Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).
She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.
THE LAW
Pleading Standard.
To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...
A Suit Filed Before the Claim Exists is Fatal
Post 4870
Posted on October 20, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly; Somerset Services, Inc.; And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC, and Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC Nos. 2024-CA-1471-MR, 2025-CA-1366-MR, Court of Appeals of Kentucky (October 9, 2026) Louis Briggs was arrested in 2014 after an incident with police and charged with several offenses, including third-degree assault.
Probable cause was found and an indictment was returned, but the charges were eventually dismissed. His attorney, Shaun Wimberly, then filed a federal civil rights suit for Briggs in a United States district court, which also asserted state-law claims. The district court dismissed most of the claims and declined to exercise jurisdiction over the remaining state-law claims. Briggs blamed Wimberly for the result, fired him, and appealed to the Sixth Circuit.
While the federal appeal was pending, Briggs filed a legal malpractice action against Wimberly in the Jefferson Circuit Court. The Sixth ...