Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
August 23, 2024
Move From Colorado to Missouri Defeats Coverage

Insured Must Reside at Premises at Time of Loss
Post 4860

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gYgSrXP2, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gqp9Wqxk and at https://lnkd.in/gSi8m6-J and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4850 posts.

Perla Olave owned a house in Thornton, Colorado, that was insured by American Family Mutual Insurance Company, S.I. In late 2017, Ms. Olave began spending a majority of her time in Missouri, and starting in March 2018, she allowed the family of her brother, Jamie Darci Olave-Hernandez, to live in the Thornton house. In September 2020, the house was damaged by fire. Ms. Olave had last stayed there in December 2019, and she had not spent a day in Colorado in 2020.

In Perla Olave; Jamie Darci Olave-Hernandez v. American Family Mutual Insurance Company, S.I., No. 23-1337, United States Court of Appeals, Tenth Circuit (August 15, 2024) the Tenth Circuit resolved the dispute over the meaning of the term “reside.”

BACKGROUND

American Family denied Ms. Olave’s and Mr. Olave-Hernandez’s claims under the insurance policy on the ground that Ms. Olave did not reside in the Thornton house at the time of the fire and had not complied with the policy’s requirement to notify American Family of her change in residence.

Ms. Olave and Mr. Olave-Hernandez (collectively, the Appellants) sued American Family and the district court granted summary judgment to American Family.

The Policy.

In December 2016, Ms. Olave represented in her application that she and her child would be the only residents of the Property, it would be her primary residence, and it would be owner-occupied. American Family renewed the policy in December 2019 (the Policy). The Policy’s Declarations identified Ms. Olave as the named insured and the Property as a “Primary Residence”.

Change in Occupancy.

In January 2018, she enrolled her child in school in Missouri and obtained a business license there. At that point, the Property was vacant. When the Policy was up for renewal in December 2019, Ms. Olave told her insurance agent that her mailing address had changed to Missouri, but that she was still living at the Property and was going back and forth to Missouri for work.

The Claim and Investigation.

The Property was damaged in an electrical fire on September 15, 2020. Ms. Olave was in Missouri.

The last time she had stayed at the Property was some weeks in December 2019; the time before that was in August 2019. But due to the COVID-19 pandemic, she had not spent a single day in Colorado in 2020. She also stated she had a Missouri driver’s license, and her Colorado driver’s license had expired in 2018.

American Family Denied Coverage.

In January 2021, American Family denied coverage because:

1 Ms. Olave’s Colorado vehicle registration for a 2018 Jeep Grand Cherokee expired in 2018;
2 Social media posts by Ms. Olave since 2018 were from Missouri;
3 Ms. Olave was the owner of Frida Microblading Studio located in [the city of] Town and Country Missouri and Ms. Olave maintains her tattoo license with the State of Missouri;
4 A blog focused on Ms. Olave’s business states that Ms. Olave “move[d] to the St. Louis area . . . to ensure that her daughter grew up around extended family;” and
5 Most notable, Ms. Olave registered to vote in Missouri beginning on 2/01/2018 and continuing through the date of loss.

Ms. Olave’s residency at the Property the District Court identified four relevant factors:

1 the subjective or declared intent of the individual,
2 the formality or informality of the relationship between the individual and members of the household,
3 the existence of another place of lodging, and
4 the relative permanence or transient nature of the individual’s residence in the household.

The District Court held that Ms. Olave breached her obligation under the Policy to notify American Family of her change of residence within 30 days.

The District Court granted summary judgment to American Family on the bad faith and statutory delay/denial claims.

DISCUSSION

Under Colorado law, residence denotes a place where a person dwells. It simply requires bodily presence as an inhabitant in a given place. Ms. Olave’s focus on her intent, without regard to her physical presence, is not a reasonable interpretation of “reside” under Colorado law.

The Court Did Not Err In Holding The Misrepresentations Were Material.

A misrepresentation will be considered material if a reasonable insurance company, in determining its course of action, would attach importance to the fact misrepresented.

No reasonable juror could conclude that an insurance company would not attach importance to the alleged reason for Ms. Olave’s travel where the Policy specifies a “work related travel” exception to the requirement to report the Property as “uninhabited” and no reasonable juror could conclude that an insurance company would not attach importance to a statement of ownership of items at the Property in determining whether Ms. Olave truly resided at the Property, as she claimed.

ZALMA OPINION

A homeowners policy is a contract of personal indemnity that requires the person who is the subject of the insurance actually live in the property that is the subject of the insurance. Ms. Olave did not live at the Colorado house and lied to the insurer when she renewed the policy that she lived there as her primary residence. It burned when someone else lived there and she resided in Missouri not Colorado.

(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe or subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gmmzUVBy

Go to X @bzalma; Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg

Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk

00:10:18
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
October 16, 2026

Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs

Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs

Post 4867

In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND

Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.

Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...

post photo preview
October 15, 2026
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter – October 15, 2026

ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM

Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma

THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL

Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.

ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.

It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.

Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme

Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.

RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered

Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...

post photo preview
October 14, 2026
District Court has Wide Discretion in Sentencing

Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions

Post 4863

Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.

The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.

Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals