Assignment of Claim Only Works if Over Deductible
Post 4845
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gyiPNYPD, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/ggbRm_Ar and at https://lnkd.in/gPCX_aHK and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4800 posts.
In February 2019, Lauryn Frazier, a minor, was involved in a motor vehicle accident. Frazier was a dependent resident relative insured under a policy issued by USAA Casualty Insurance Company (“USAA”) which provided personal injury protection (“PIP”) benefits and medical payment coverage. Emergency Physicians, Inc. (“Emergency Physicians”) provided emergency services and care to Frazier as a result of the accident and charged $753 for its services. USAA applied the bill to the policy’s $1,000 deductible, indicating in an Explanation of Reimbursement form that the bill was subsumed by the deductible.
In USAA Casualty Insurance Company v. Emergency Physicians, Inc. d/b/a Emergency Resources Group, as assignee of Lauryn Frazier, No. 5D2023-0746, Florida Court of Appeals, Fifth District (July 26, 2024) resolved the dispute.
FACTS
Emergency Physicians, as assignee of Lauryn Frazier, sued USAA for PIP benefits. USAA admitted coverage for the accident but alleged that Emergency Physicians’ bill fell below the policy deductible and as such, was the full and complete responsibility of the insured/claimant.
Emergency Physicians asserted that USAA’s declaration page cannot be relied upon as evidence that Adams elected a deductible, and thus, because the deductible form was not executed, there was no evidence of a knowing $1,000 deductible election. The court was required to determine whether USAA properly reduced its payment of PIP benefits by imposing the $1,000 deductible.
The trial court entered its order granting Emergency Physicians’ motion for summary judgment and denying USAA’s motion for summary judgment. The court found that pursuant to the statute, an insurer must offer the option of electing a PIP deductible to the named insured at the time the initial application is taken and prior to each annual renewal, and pursuant to deposition testimony, the deductible form was not provided to the named insured prior to the policy renewing. Therefore, the court concluded, USAA did not comply with the statute.
ANALYSIS
In its motion for rehearing, USAA argued that deposition and affidavit testimony and the insurance contract were more than sufficient evidence to support its assertion that a deductible applied in this case and that Emergency Physicians provided no evidence to contradict the sworn testimony attesting to the accuracy and authenticity of the applicable insurance contract.
The Court of Appeals agreed with USAA that the trial court’s findings are contrary to the record evidence. USAA employees testified that the declarations page reflected Adams’ choices.
USAA testified that it sent the policy issue packet, which included the deductible form, when Adams first purchased her policy and a similar renewal packet was sent at every renewal period. Accordingly, the trial court’s findings were not supported by the record.
The affidavits and deposition testimony were sufficient to show that Adams elected a deductible. Moreover, the declaration page, which the trial court previously found to be part of the policy, clearly indicates that a PIP deductible applied.
Accordingly, because USAA provided sufficient evidence that Adams elected a deductible and because a deductible form is not required, the trial court erred in granting Emergency Physicians’ motion for summary judgment. Moreover, because Emergency Physicians did not contradict USAA’s deposition and affidavit testimony, there are no genuine issues of material fact.
The Court of Appeals reversed the order granting Emergency Physicians’ motion for summary judgment and remanded the case for entry of final summary judgment in favor of USAA.
ZALMA OPINION
This case went through motions for summary judgment and an appeal over less than $1,000, the amount of the deductible chosen by the insured when the policy was acquired. Clearly both parties expended more money on lawyers and court time than the amount in dispute. USAA established that the insured selected a deductible and was, therefore, personally responsible for the first $1,000 of medical bills. Since the bill was less than the deductible USAA had no obligation to pay. Neither side won.
(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe or subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gmmzUVBy
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/account/content?type=all; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg
Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
No Breach of Contract no Bad Faith
Post 4568
Posted on October 23, 2026 by Barry Zalma
A Party Cannot Designate One Witness While Submitting An Undifferentiated Product Of That Witness And An Undesignated Collaborator.
Post 4568
In Dustin Cain; Amanda Cain v. State Farm Fire and Casualty Company, No. 25-60442, United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit (October 16, 2026) Dustin and Amanda Cain sought homeowners’ insurance benefits after a tree fell on their Mississippi home on August 27, 2022. State Farm concluded that the tree caused only a roof puncture and that other damage resulted from excluded long-term conditions. It paid $10,042.90 and later an additional $3,130.08.
The Cains relied on an engineering report and contractor estimate asserting substantially greater damage, sued for breach of contract and related relief, and designated Sean Fee as their sole expert. Fee’s report and a later repair estimate were jointly authored with Jim Irmiter, but neither document identified which opinions, work, or ...
Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection
Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma
John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection
BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD
Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”
In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)
The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
THE LAW
Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.
THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...
Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers
Post 4866
Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.
After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.
Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.
Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...