Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gzHUbjVm, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvNRW6fp and at https://lnkd.in/gpuH7r8i and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4750 posts.
Homeowner Is Found to be a Beneficiary of Forced Placed Insurance
Post 4782
Keith Rath was unhappy with Arch Insurance Company over coverage for damage from the Derecho (windstorm) that hit Cedar Rapids in 2020. Rath’s bank holding a security interest in his home contracted with Arch to obtain a force-placed policy after Rath’s homeowners insurance lapsed. When Rath sued Arch for breach of contract and related claims, Arch argued that he had no right to sue because Rath was not an intended third-party beneficiary of the contract between Arch and the bank.
Keith Rath and Dennis Faltis v. Arch Insurance Company, No. 23-0157, Court of Appeals of Iowa (April 10, 2024) read the full policy and found the language of the policy gave Rath an interest in the proceeds of the insurance policy.
FACTS
The bank is Rath’s lender for a loan secured by his home. At some point, Rath let his homeowners insurance lapse in violation of the terms of the loan agreement.
When the bank learned of the lapse, it notified Rath that the insurance it bought might be “significantly more expensive than the insurance” he could obtain himself and might provide less coverage than such a personal policy. Rath then began paying monthly premiums for this insurance to the bank.
THE INSURANCE CONTRACT
The policy stated that Rath, as the “Borrower,” “has no interest in this policy” yet included an endorsement expressly giving Rath a benefit. That endorsement provides that while Rath “is neither a Named Insured nor an additional named insured under the policy,” he “shall be considered an additional loss payee only as respects amounts of insurance over and above the interests of” the bank in his home. The Court of Appeals concluded that there was no possible purpose for this endorsement besides providing a benefit to Rath.
The policy warns in a general statement on its cover pages that it does not “provide coverage for the Interest or equity of the Borrower.” It later defines the “Named Insured” as “the creditor, lending institution, company, or person holding and/or servicing the Mortgagee Interest on the Described Location.” And it expressly confirms that “[t]he Borrower is not a Named Insured under this policy and no coverage is provided, either directly or indirectly, to the Borrower.” The policy’s default text also defines the Borrower and then makes abundantly clear: “The Borrower has no interest in this policy.”
But that last line was stricken and replaced with text from an Amount-of-Insurance endorsement that the parties added to the policy. So rather than having “no interest in this policy,” under the endorsement: “The Borrower is neither a Named Insured nor an additional named insured under this policy; however, the Borrower shall be considered an additional loss payee only as respects amounts of insurance over and above the interests of the Named Insured in the Described Location.”
THE STORM
In August 2020, a Derecho [A widespread, long-lived wind storm that is associated with a band of rapidly moving showers or thunderstorms. Although a derecho can produce destruction similar to the strength of tornadoes, the damage typically is directed in one direction along a relatively straight swath.] swept across Iowa, hitting Cedar Rapids especially hard. A tree fell on the house and it sustained wind damage. Among other damage, Rath believes most of the roof was damaged, along with siding, windows, and electrical systems. And so, Rath reported the damage to the bank, which made a claim to Arch under the policy. After Arch’s adjuster agreed that “the dwelling sustained damage due to wind and tree impact,” Arch decided that there was a covered loss of $1,222.37 and mailed a check for that amount directly to Rath.
THIS PROCEEDING
About a year after the storm, Rath sued Arch over this dispute. Rath claimed that Arch breached the insurance contract by denying proper payment for his losses and refusing to engage in the appraisal process under the policy. He also brought claims of bad faith and unjust enrichment and sought declaratory and injunctive relief related to his rights under the policy and the appraisal process.
Rath appealed the district court’s grant of summary judgment and dismissal of all his claims.
Interpreting an insurance policy is a legal question. Rath’s main argument that he is an intended third-party beneficiary of the insurance policy relies on the Amount-of-Insurance endorsement. The court of appeals agreed with Rath that the endorsement manifests an unambiguous intent to benefit him. Indeed, the Court of Appeals concluded that there is no other possible intent for contract provisions increasing the coverage above the bank’s interest and giving Rath a right to payment.
Saying that Rath is not a “Named Insured nor an additional named insured” is not the same as saying he is not a third-party beneficiary. By deleting that text-while also increasing the coverage above the bank’s interest and giving Rath a right to payment-the endorsement leaves little doubt that indeed Rath does now have an interest in the policy. He is an intended third-party beneficiary.
The parties fought a preliminary legal skirmish on the limited ground chosen by Arch-whether Rath is a third-party beneficiary under the contract. And because Arch lost that battle, the fight must now go on.
ZALMA OPINION
Poor wording in an insurance policy will often result in strange and confusing court decisions. The court found, because a clause allowed Rath to recover for losses over the interest of the bank made him a third party beneficiary. What the Court of Appeal ignored was that his interest was only available after the full interest of the bank were paid. The loss was only $1,222.37, much less than a mortgage loan. Since the loss was less than the amount of the banks interest, Rath had no right to that money as a third party beneficiary since the loss was less than the interest of the bank.
(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/subscribe
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let
Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gmmzUVBy
Go to X @bzalma; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk.
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Excellence in Claims Handling
Posted on October 29, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Common Problems in a Jewelers’ Block Policy Investigation
If you are not a subscriber you will read from this link until you reach the paywall end of this blog post as the free part of Excellence in Claims Handling. You should consider joining as a paid member to get full access to articles for members only, to our news, analysis, insurance coverage, claims, insurance fraud and insurance webinars, by clicking at the button above.
This is a taste of the latest Excellence in Claims Handling Article for subscribers to my substack. Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gmmzUVBy
The History of the Jewelers’ Block Policy
The ‘jewelers’ block policy’ had its origin about 1920, and since that time the policy and the proposal upon which it is based have become more or less standard.
The Inland-Marine Insurance Bureau, of which appellant is a member, prescribes contracts and proposals for such policies that are ...
Self Insurance is Excess Over Primary Insurance
Post 4572
Posted on October 29, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Employment Plan is Insurance Because it Transferred Risk and Contained Claim, Exclusion, and Priority Provisions.
In Ajay Kolli, & c. et al. v. Kaleida Health, 2026 NY Slip Op 06167, No. 72, New York Court of Appeals (October 22, 2026) Dr. Venkateswara Kolli treated a patient in 2011 while serving as an on-call, per diem physician for Kaleida Health. The patient later sued Dr. Kolli and Kaleida for medical malpractice.
In 2011, decedent Dr. Venkateswara Kolli treated a patient as part of his duties pursuant to an on-call, per diem physician employment agreement with defendant Kaleida Health. The patient subsequently sued Dr. Kolli and Kaleida. Dr. Kolli sought indemnity from his primary medical malpractice insurer, MLMIC Insurance Company (MLMIC), as well as his excess insurer Healthcare Professionals Insurance Company (HPIC).
The underlying medical malpractice action settled after Dr. Kolli’s death. Kaleida, MLMIC, and ...
RICO Suit Against Law Firm & Health Care Pros Fails
Posted on October 28, 2026 by Barry Zalma
UBER AND FEDEX FIGHT FRAUD
Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO) is Designed to Defeat Fraud Perpetrators
In Uber Technologies, Inc., et al. v. Simon & Simon P.C., et al., Civil Action No. 25-5365, United States District Court, E.D. Pennsylvania (October 13, 2026) Uber Technologies, Inc. and Federal Express Corporation sued attorney Marc Simon, his firm Simon & Simon, P.C., and several medical professionals and practices under the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO).
They allege the defendants orchestrated a scheme to generate and litigate fraudulent personal injury claims arising from motor vehicle accidents involving Uber and FedEx drivers. Uber and FedEx incurred defense costs and paid settlements on some claims. The court earlier denied a motion to dismiss, finding proximate causation adequately pleaded. Fact discovery is set to close December 21, 2026.
Discovery showed Uber’s...