Insurer Files Interpleader to Allow Claim Payment to Proper Competing Claims Against Funds
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gVDaU3if, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gDtNFGMa and at https://lnkd.in/gygD-rBU, and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4750 posts.
Post 4773
In an interpleader action arising out of a jury trial in Hanover Am. Ins. Co. v Tattooed Millionaire Entertainment, LLC, No. 2:16-cv-02817-JPM-tmp (W.D. Tenn. 2016) (“Hanover I”). In Hanover I, a jury trial was held on “insurance claims submitted to Hanover [by Defendants in the instant case] in connection with a 2015 arson fire and alleged theft at the House of Blues recording studio located on Rayner Street in Memphis, Tennessee.”
In Hanover American Insurance Company v. Tattooed Millionaire Entertainment, LLC, Christopher C. Brown, and John Falls, No. 2:20-cv-02834-JPM-cgc, United States District Court, W.D. Tennessee, Western Division (April 4, 2024) the USDC distributed the available funds.
PUBLIC POLICY CAN BAN PAYMENT
The Hanover I jury held that:
1. Christopher C. Brown (“Brown”) and Tattooed Millionaire Entertainment, LLC (“TME”) were indistinguishable; and
2. Brown/TME made material misrepresentations with the intent to deceive and committed unlawful insurance acts during the claims process, and thus Hanover was entitled to recover the advance payments made to Brown/TME.
3. The Hanover I jury also held that Falls did not make material misrepresentations or commit unlawful insurance acts, and thus awarded him the maximum amount covered by his policy: $2.5 million in Business Personal Property (“BPP”) and an additional $250,000 in Business Income (“BI”).
After the jury trial concluded, the USDC granted Hanover’s Rule 50(b) motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict and entered an amended judgment denying Falls’ recovery. The Sixth Circuit, however, reversed the post-trial ruling and remanded with instructions to reinstate the jury verdict as to Falls, which the USDC did.
INTERPLEADER & DECLARATORY RELIEF ACTION
In the current action: “Hanover II,” Hanover filed its Complaint for interpleader and declaratory relief. Hanover claims that the $2.5 million BPP insurance awarded to Falls is subject to multiple competing claims. Hanover’s Declaratory Relief Complaint seeks a declaration that the $2.5 million BPP award is null and void as a matter of Tennessee public policy. It also pleads in the alternative that the Court must resolve the various competing claims to the BPP insurance proceeds and declare to whom, and in what amount, those funds should be paid.
Stipulated to Facts
Prior to trial the Parties stipulated to the following facts during pre-trial conference:
The public-policy argument, an ancient equity maxim that no one should benefit from his own wrongdoing does not mean that Falls takes nothing of the $2,500,000 BPP award.
The Court’s Previous Rulings
The Court ruled on several Summary Judgment motions and held that claim preclusion prevents Hanover from asserting claims or arguments against Falls regarding his interests in BPP but does not prevent Hanover from pursuing claims and arguments against TME/Brown. The Court also dismissed TME/Brown’s counterclaim for conversion against Hanover.
ANALYSIS
The key determination in this case is whether and what type of interest did Falls have regarding the BPP. As the Sixth Circuit already noted “Falls had a property interest in the ‘gear,’ in the form of his leasehold with unlimited renewal options. Leaseholds have been held to be insurable interests.”
Public Policy Question
Because the jury in Hanover I found Brown/TME to be interchangeable and Brown himself admitted to fraud in connection with Studio B, awarding Brown/TME any of the BPP profits would go against long standing public policy of not benefiting the wrongdoer for his own wrongdoing. Therefore, the Court held that Brown is not entitled to any of the BPP profits.
Summary of Court Findings
The Court found:
1 Hanover is precluded from arguing against Falls’ recovery;
2 Falls’ lease for Studio B and equipment therein did not terminate with the fire;
3 Loss Payable Clause modifies the language of the Schedule in Fall’s insurance contract, requiring Hanover to pay BPP jointly to Falls and Brown/TME as interests may require;
4 Falls is entitled to recover $2,066,217.30 for the destroyed/missing BPP;
5 The decision in the State Court Action is not binding on this Court;
6 Brown/TME are not entitled to recover any part of BPP, as such recovery would violate longstanding Tennessee public policy; and
Intervenor’s claim is moot, given that Brown/TME are unable to recover any of the BPP.
CONCLUSION
The Court ORDERED as follows:
1 Hanover SHALL pay John Falls $2,066,217.30 of the BPP;
2 Hanover SHALL NOT pay or credit the remaining $433,782.70 to Brown/TME; and
3 Intervenors’ claim is DISMISSED WITH PREJUDICE.
ZALMA OPINION
Insurance disputes are often difficult to resolve as established by this case that started with a jury verdict, a judgment notwithstanding the verdict, an appeal reversing the USDC, an interpleader action to determine who was on first and could recover more than $2 million, who shall not recover because of public policy and whether any competing claims could recover anything, and Hanover was able to keep$433,782.70 because no one was entitled to the funds. It took many years to resolve and we can only hope this is the end of a case where an insurer is required to pay an innocent person when the named insured was found to have committed fraud in an arson-for-profit scheme.
(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg.
Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk.
Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g; Go to X @bzalma; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk.
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions
Post 4863
Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.
The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.
Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...
Title Insurance Only Insures Real Property
Posted on October 13, 2026 by Barry Zalma
When a Seller Advised it Could Not Obtain Title to the Home Fraud Can’t be Proved
A Manufactured Home is Personal Property Until it Becomes Real Property
Post 4862
In Dale Johnson and Rose Johnson, Husband and Wife v. Stewart Title Guaranty Co., and Lennar Mortgage, LLC; Low Va Rates, LLC; Sandpoint Title Insurance, Inc.; Village Capital & Investment, LLC; and David Cassel, Engineer Agent; and Unknown Does 1-50, inclusively, No. 53126, Court of Appeals of Idaho (October 9, 2026) Dale and Rose Johnson purchased Idaho real property in 2012 with a manufactured home on it. Their purchase addendum acknowledged that the seller could not obtain title to the home, that evidence of title and an ALTA-7 endorsement might not be available, and that they accepted the home “as is.”
In 2020, after a HELOC application was denied, the Johnsons learned that the home had been wrecked and decertified in 2004 and that its 2006 conversion to real ...
Denial Of Mental Health Diversion And Probation Condition Were Affirmed
Posted on October 9, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4860
In The People v. Nicholas Daniel Stiles, A173483, A173646, California Court of Appeals, First District, Second Division (September 29, 2026) Nicholas Daniel Stiles pleaded no contest to one count of insurance fraud arising from his purchase of automobile insurance after a June 2021 collision, and to grand theft arising from an April 2024 incident at a 7-Eleven.
In both cases, the trial court suspended imposition of sentence and placed him on two years’ probation. Before the pleas, Stiles sought mental health diversion in both matters and filed a written motion seeking substitute appointed counsel. The diversion applications were denied, and the court never held a hearing on the motion.
LAW
Penal Code section 1001.36 permits pretrial mental health diversion when a defendant is eligible and suitable and the proposed treatment will meet the defendant’s specialized needs; denial is reviewed for ...