Conceal or Misrepresent Material Facts Requires Rescission in Alabama
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gM38mnr3, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/g7hufF7g and at https://lnkd.in/gTtcXzBk and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4750 posts.
Post 4768
Allied World issued general liability policies to Clint Lovette (“Lovette”) and his companies. (collectively “Lovette Defendants”) for the policy periods of March 16, 2018 to March 16, 2019 and March 16, 2019 to March 16, 2020. Allied World sought a judicial determination in its favor that it does not owe the Lovette Defendants a defense or indemnity regarding two cases.
In Allied World Surplus Lines Insurance Company v. Lovette Properties, LLC, et al., No. 2:22-cv-00738-RDP, United States District Court, N.D. Alabama, Southern Division (March 15, 2024) the USDC resolved the disputes.
FACTS
In early September 2017, the Wheelers threatened to sue Lovette Properties to recover all sums paid if the Wheeler project was not completed by the end of 2017. The Wheelers informed Lovette Properties that they were considering all available options for remedying the situation and asserted that their letter “does not constitute a waiver of any of our rights or remedies, all of which are expressly reserved.”
The 2018/2019 Policy
On April 16, 2018, Clint Lovette, on behalf of Lovette Properties, signed and submitted a “Contractor’s Supplemental Application” requesting general liability insurance coverage from Allied World. In the Contractor’s Supplemental Application, Lovette falsely represented: (1) that the Lovette Defendants had no losses, claims, or suits against them in the past 8 years; (2) that no claims or legal actions were pending; (3) that the Lovette Defendants had no knowledge of any pre-existing act, omission, event, condition, or damage to any person or property that might reasonably be expected to give rise to any future claim or legal action against any person or entity identified in the application; (4) that the Lovette Defendants had not been accused of faulty construction in the past 8 years; and (5) that the Lovette Defendants had not been accused of breaching a contract in the past 8 years.
The Wheelers filed an Arbitration Complaint against Lovette seeking recovery of the costs associated with completing the renovation of their house; consequential damages for the cost of repairs to the house; the costs for maintaining another household during construction; damages for mental anguish and emotional distress; and “exemplary damages to the extent permitted by law [and] … the costs of this action, attorneys’ fees, expenses, and interest on the judgment as allowed by law.”
The Adams Case
On April 15, 2020, Allison and Carl Adams (“the Adamses”) sued Lovette. In the Complaint, the Adamses alleged that Lovette Properties abandoned the project before completion and left the house in a manner that did not comply with the applicable building codes and industry standards. The Adams case was tried as a bench trial that entered a judgment for $149,214.23 in favor of the Adamses only on the contractual and negligence claims.
DISCUSSION
Allied World asserted that summary judgment in its favor was proper because the Policies must be rescinded and thus Allied World is relieved of its obligation to defend or indemnify the Lovette Defendants in both the Wheeler arbitration and the Adams case.
Rescission under Alabama Code § 27-14-7
Because of the Lovette Defendants’ misrepresentations, omissions, concealment of facts, and incorrect statements in the 2018 and 2019 Contractor’s Supplemental Applications Alabama statutes prevent recovery under the Policies and an insurer can rescind a policy or deny coverage if, in the application or in negotiations therefor, the insured made misstatements that either (1) were fraudulent (i.e., made intentionally with knowledge); (2) were material to the risk (although innocently made); or (3) affected the insurer’s good faith decision to issue the policy for which the insured applied.
In Alabama, misrepresentation of a material fact made willfully to deceive, or recklessly without knowledge, and acted on by the opposite party, or if made by mistake and innocently and acted on by the opposite party, constitutes legal fraud.
Under the language of Allied World’s policies, even if Lovette’s misrepresentations were innocently made, Allied World has a right to void the policy so long as the misrepresentations were (1) material and (2) relied upon. Based on the record, it is readily apparent that the applications contain misrepresentations.
ALLIED WORLD IS ENTITLED TO RESCIND THE INSURANCE POLICIES
An insurer may void a policy if it can show that:
The insurer in good faith would either not have issued the policy or contract or would not have issued a policy or contract at the premium rate as applied for or would not have issued a policy or contract in as large an amount or would not have provided coverage with respect to the hazard resulting in the loss if the true facts had been made known to the insurer as required either by the application for the policy or contract or otherwise.
The key question is the good faith of the insurer in refusing to issue the policy.
To meet its burden, Allied World offers the affidavit of Preston Starr. In his affidavit, Starr states that, had Lovette given a “YES” answer to any of the questions at issue in this matter, it would have charged a higher premium for the Policy and would never have issued a Policy that provided coverage for any claims out of Lovette’s work done for the Wheelers.
In addition, Starr affirmed that, whenever an applicant discloses a known incident that could arise into a future claim, C&S consistently and repeatedly attaches a “Known Claimant/Incident Exclusion” Form to the policy that documents “the name of the party alleging potential wrongdoing, the date of the alleged loss, and as many specific details as possible, so that if a claim shows up in the future on the policy, Allied World have an exclusion specifically excluding coverage for that claim.
Under Alabama law testimony from an insurance company’s underwriter that is “supported by other uncontradicted evidence in the record” – such as the company’s underwriting guidelines – can be sufficient to establish materiality or that a company in good faith would not have issued the policy as written as a matter of law.
For these reasons, summary judgment in Allied World’s favor is due to be granted, and both Policies are due to be rescinded.
ZALMA OPINION
Alabama law, like that in most states, allows for rescission of a policy when the insured obtains a policy by concealment or misrepresentation about a material fact. Lovette did not advise Allied World of the pending claims which were material to the decision of Allied World to insure or not insure Lovette. Equity required the policies to be declared void from their inception.
(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg.
Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g
Go to X @bzalma; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYk.
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
A Suit Filed Before the Claim Exists is Fatal
Post 4870
Posted on October 20, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly; Somerset Services, Inc.; And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC, and Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC Nos. 2024-CA-1471-MR, 2025-CA-1366-MR, Court of Appeals of Kentucky (October 9, 2026) Louis Briggs was arrested in 2014 after an incident with police and charged with several offenses, including third-degree assault.
Probable cause was found and an indictment was returned, but the charges were eventually dismissed. His attorney, Shaun Wimberly, then filed a federal civil rights suit for Briggs in a United States district court, which also asserted state-law claims. The district court dismissed most of the claims and declined to exercise jurisdiction over the remaining state-law claims. Briggs blamed Wimberly for the result, fired him, and appealed to the Sixth Circuit.
While the federal appeal was pending, Briggs filed a legal malpractice action against Wimberly in the Jefferson Circuit Court. The Sixth ...
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations
Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4868
CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES
In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.
Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).
She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.
THE LAW
Pleading Standard.
To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...
Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs
Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma
To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs
Post 4867
In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND
Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.
Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...