Unrepaid, Unrecoverable, or Outstanding Credit Exclusion Unenforceable
Barry Zalma
Feb 8, 2024
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/g4eHV9AZ, se the full video at https://lnkd.in/gfCBRpW7 and at https://lnkd.in/gW3MUvz5 and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4700 posts.
Huntington National Bank (“Huntington”) sued AIG Specialty Insurance Company and National Union Fire Insurance Company of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania (together, “AIG”) alleging breach of contract and bad faith stemming from AIG’s denial of insurance coverage for Huntington’s settlement of a bankruptcy fraudulent transfer proceeding brought by the trustee of a bankrupt company. In granting summary judgment for AIG, the district court held that:
1 Huntington’s claim for insurance coverage was uninsurable under Ohio law,
2 Huntington’s claim was independently excluded under the insurance contract’s exclusion for “unrepaid, unrecoverable, or outstanding credit” and
3 the larger settlement rule did not apply to Huntington’s settlement.
In Huntington National Bank v. AIG Specialty Insurance Co., et al., No. 23-3039, United States Court of Appeals, Sixth Circuit (February 1, 2024) the Sixth Circuit resolved the dispute.
FACTS
AIG issued to Huntington a bankers professional liability insurance (BPL) policy for that provided coverage up to $15 million, after a $10 million retention. Any liability exceeding the primary policy was covered by an excess policy issued by National Union for the same coverage period, which provided $10 million in excess coverage. The parties do not dispute that these policies apply to Huntington’s claim.
The policy covers any actual or alleged Wrongful Act of any Insured in the rendering or failure to render Professional Services. Relevant to the dispute are exclusions specific to Huntington’s performance of “Lending Acts.” The relevant exclusion clarifies that “[t]he Insurer shall not be liable to make any payment for Loss in connection with any Claim or Claims made against any Insured: for the principal and/or interest of any unrepaid, unrecoverable, or outstanding credit.”
The policy was implicated when Huntington unwittingly became the bank for a fraudulent company, Cyberco Holdings, Inc. Cyberco represented that it purchased computer equipment from a vendor, Teleservices. In reality, Teleservices was a paper company that Watson created to perpetuate his fraud.
Huntington’s security department discovered that the FBI was investigating Cyberco, that Watson had been permanently blacklisted by the National Association of Securities Dealers, and that he had confessed to and served time for fraud-related crimes. But the Huntington security department did not share any of this with the team responsible for Cyberco. From May 2004 to October 2004, Cyberco gradually repaid its entire loan, a relief for the Huntington team. Later in 2004, the FBI raided Cyberco’s offices, and Watson committed suicide shortly thereafter.
Following the FBI raid, creditors of Cyberco and Teleservices, both entirely fraudulent companies, discovered that the companies were bankrupt. The trustees of Cyberco and Teleservices filed adversary proceedings against Huntington, claiming that Huntington put its desire to be repaid ahead of its concerns that Watson was committing fraud and, by doing so, perpetuated the Ponzi scheme to its benefit and other lenders’ detriment.
The bankruptcy proceedings were long and complex, including two trials and multiple opinions. Huntington argued it was not liable for any repayments before April 30, 2004, and that its liability was thus limited to the $12,821,897.07 in loan repayments for which the Sixth Circuit had already found Huntington liable. On the other hand, the trustee argued that Huntington had knowledge of the voidability of the transfers it received after November 16, 2003, making $35,968,475, plus interest, the proper recoverable amount. In March 2018, Huntington settled with the trustee for $32,000,000.
THE INSURANCE CLAIM
Throughout the bankruptcy litigation, Huntington sent AIG several requests for coverage. AIG disclaimed coverage, acknowledging that there was “potential coverage” under the policy because the Wrongful Acts alleged arose from Huntington’s performance of banking services to Cyberco, but citing exclusions. AIG refused Huntington’s claims.
Huntington subsequently sued AIG. AIG also moved for summary judgment, asserting that Huntington’s settlement payment was not a “Loss” under the policy and, even if it was, Endorsements 5, 7, and 10 precluded coverage.
The district court granted AIG’s motion for summary judgment on the grounds that Huntington’s claim was uninsurable under Ohio law. The district court also granted summary judgment for AIG on the grounds that Huntington’s claim was independently excluded by Endorsement 7, which bars recovery for “unrepaid, unrecoverable, or outstanding credit.”
ANALYSIS
Under Ohio law, an insurance policy is a contract between the insurer and the insured. It is “well-settled” in Ohio law that, where provisions of a contract of insurance are reasonably susceptible of more than one interpretation, they will be construed strictly against the insurer and liberally in favor of the insured.
Exclusions of coverage must be clear and unambiguous to be enforceable. Where exceptions, qualifications, or exemptions have been added to an insurance contract, there is a general presumption that anything not clearly excluded by such provisions is included in the insured’s coverage.
Under the insurance policy, the definition of “Loss” excludes “civil or criminal fines or penalties imposed by law, punitive or exemplary damages . . . or matters that may be deemed uninsurable under the law pursuant to which this policy shall be construed.”
Huntington’s claim was for $15,000,000 of a $32,000,000 settlement of a bankruptcy fraudulent transfer proceeding. Huntington correctly asserted that there was no showing of intentional malice by the transferee that is required under the fraudulent transfer provisions of the bankruptcy code, meaning that an order to return funds is not a punishment in any sense. Liability under the fraudulent conveyance statutes is not tantamount to the type of culpable conduct that Ohio courts have held precludes insurance recovery. Fraudulent transfer laws are remedial not punitive
The Sixth Circuit concluded that Huntington had no ill will or malice when it made the loan or sought its repayment, obviating any deterrent effect of denying coverage.
AIG’s arguments to the contrary were unavailing. On appeal, AIG cites several authorities in support of its argument that there is a “well-established principle in insurance law that when an insured returns property that it was never legally entitled to acquire, the insured has not sustained a ‘loss’ within the meaning of an insurance policy.”
AIG and the district court made a form-over-substance argument for exclusion. AIG’s interpretation is not unreasonable. However, that its position is one of multiple reasonable interpretations of the text and because the application of the contra proferentem rule in this context conclusively resolves the interpretation of “unrepaid, unrecoverable, or outstanding credit.
The Sixth Circuit reversed the district court’s grant of summary judgment for AIG on the insurability of Huntington’s claim under Ohio law and the exclusion of Huntington’s claim under Endorsement 7.
ZALMA OPINION
Bankruptcy litigation, banking, and fraud upon a bank by a Ponzi schemer who, when caught by the FBI committed suicide, Huntington Ban was sued by creditors of the Ponzi scheme because the bank had its loan repaid and they did not. After lengthy litigation the bank settled the bankruptcy suits only to have its insurer refuse to pay based upon an exclusion that was not sufficiently clear to be enforced. AIG will need to pay its limits to its insured and the excess – that followed form with AIG – will probably find it must pay its limits as well. The Sixth Circuit read the full policy and interpreted it in line with Ohio law as should AIG before it rejected coverage.
(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808
Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01
Go to X @bzalma; Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – http://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g; Go to Newsbreak.com https://lnkd.in/g8azKc34; Go to X @bzalma; the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYkxD.
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Sentence for Stealing from Veterans Administration Reasonably Considers State Insurance Fraud & Arson Convictions
Post 4863
Posted on October 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In United States Of America v. Anthony Curtis Brewer, No. 26-10745, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (October 8, 2026) Anthony Curtis Brewer became the fiduciary for an incapacitated recipient of Department of Veterans Affairs survivor benefits and agreed to use her funds solely for her care and support without commingling them with his own.
The VA determined that he misused $67,232.33 and removed him as fiduciary in 2022. Brewer pleaded guilty to theft of more than $1,000 in government property under 18 U.S.C. § 641. At sentencing, the district court attributed $53,567 in loss to him, producing an advisory Guidelines range of 15 to 21 months.
Citing the victim’s vulnerability, Brewer’s attempts to avoid responsibility, and his other fraudulent conduct — including state convictions for arson and insurance fraud — the court ...
Title Insurance Only Insures Real Property
Posted on October 13, 2026 by Barry Zalma
When a Seller Advised it Could Not Obtain Title to the Home Fraud Can’t be Proved
A Manufactured Home is Personal Property Until it Becomes Real Property
Post 4862
In Dale Johnson and Rose Johnson, Husband and Wife v. Stewart Title Guaranty Co., and Lennar Mortgage, LLC; Low Va Rates, LLC; Sandpoint Title Insurance, Inc.; Village Capital & Investment, LLC; and David Cassel, Engineer Agent; and Unknown Does 1-50, inclusively, No. 53126, Court of Appeals of Idaho (October 9, 2026) Dale and Rose Johnson purchased Idaho real property in 2012 with a manufactured home on it. Their purchase addendum acknowledged that the seller could not obtain title to the home, that evidence of title and an ALTA-7 endorsement might not be available, and that they accepted the home “as is.”
In 2020, after a HELOC application was denied, the Johnsons learned that the home had been wrecked and decertified in 2004 and that its 2006 conversion to real ...
Denial Of Mental Health Diversion And Probation Condition Were Affirmed
Posted on October 9, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4860
In The People v. Nicholas Daniel Stiles, A173483, A173646, California Court of Appeals, First District, Second Division (September 29, 2026) Nicholas Daniel Stiles pleaded no contest to one count of insurance fraud arising from his purchase of automobile insurance after a June 2021 collision, and to grand theft arising from an April 2024 incident at a 7-Eleven.
In both cases, the trial court suspended imposition of sentence and placed him on two years’ probation. Before the pleas, Stiles sought mental health diversion in both matters and filed a written motion seeking substitute appointed counsel. The diversion applications were denied, and the court never held a hearing on the motion.
LAW
Penal Code section 1001.36 permits pretrial mental health diversion when a defendant is eligible and suitable and the proposed treatment will meet the defendant’s specialized needs; denial is reviewed for ...