UIM Policy Reduced Limit Reduced by Amount Paid by Other Insurers
Barry Zalma
Feb 6, 2024
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gvaF99v8 and shttps://lnkd.in/gvaF99v8 and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4700 posts.
Post 4729
In an interpleader action involving the insurance coverage for survivors of a tragic auto accident De Smet Insurance Company of South Dakota (De Smet) proposed distribution of the available insurance funds that had been paid into the Court.
In Hallmark Insurance Company, De Smet Insurance Company; and National Casualty Company v. Gail Hoefert and Aaron Hoefert, as personal representatives of The Estate Of Andrew Joseph Hoefert; Gail Hoefert and Kerry Hoefert, as Legal Guardians of B.E.H. minor and C.T.H. minor; et al, No. 4:22-cv-4069, United States District Court, D. South Dakota, Southern Division (January 29, 2024) the court resolved the dispute.
BACKGROUND
The Hoefert Family-Jennifer, Andrew, Jennifer’s daughter, and the two young children of Jennifer and Andrew- were traveling on Interstate-90 in rural Montana. The driver of a Chevrolet Suburban crossed the center line, striking the Hoeferts’ rental car, and killing himself and all occupants of the Hoefert car except the two young children. The latter were seriously injured and are currently under the guardianship of Gail Hoefert and Kerry Hoefert.
Plaintiff Hallmark insured the tortfeasor and filed this interpleader action to determine the liability of the insurance companies toward the survivors. Hallmark tendered $50,000, the amount of coverage in its policy. Two other insurance companies are involved. National Casualty insured the rental car occupied by the Hoefert Family, which carried coverage of $50,000 that has been tendered to the Court. De Smet was the insurance company of the Hoeferts, who had an underinsured motorist (UIM) policy of $500,000. De Smet has tendered $400,000 to the Court in satisfaction of the Hoefert Estates’ claims.
Insurance Contract Provisions Governing Hoefert Estates Claims
The insurance policy De Smet provided to the Hoeferts lists “C. Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury – $250,000 ea person, $500,000 ea accident.” The De Smet policy provided that “The limit of liability shown in the Declarations for each person for Underinsured Motorists Coverage is our maximum limit of liability for all damages, including damages for care, loss of services, or death, arising out of ‘bodily injury’ sustained by any one person in any one accident. Subject to this limit for each person, the limit of liability shown in the Declarations for each accident for Underinsured Motorists Coverage is our maximum limit of liability for all damages for ‘bodily injury’ resulting from any one accident."
ANALYSIS
In addition to their serious physical injuries, the surviving children of the Hoeferts have experienced the tragic loss of their parents and older sister. Apart from the emotional impact, the economic loss has been and will continue to be significant. The court realized that payment of the insurance proceeds at issue in this case will only compensate a part of the total losses.
The disagreement presented was how to calculate the proper payment of the insurance coverage. The Hoeferts’ insurance policy with De Smet provided for $500,000 in underinsured motorist coverage. The policy also provides in Section D OTHER INSURANCE that the maximum amount that will be paid is the “highest limits of underinsured motor vehicle coverage that the ‘insured’ specifically requested under any one policy.”
This means that if a person with a De Smet policy of this type purchased, for example, an umbrella policy from another insurer which included underinsured motorist coverage of $500,000 and thought this was increasing the UIM coverage to one million dollars under both policies, the person would in fact receive no additional UIM coverage because of the language of the De Smet policy.
Because the Estates were compensated $100,000, De Smet claimed, based on the policy wording, that it owes only the amount of what is said to be “uncompensated damages” remaining, amounting to $400,000. The damages for which no compensation will be received clearly exceeds $500,000.
CONCLUSION
De Smet has moved for summary judgment, arguing the issue presented is legal, not factual. De Smet deposited with the court $400,000 that it believed was all it owed. The total amount Hoefert Estates would receive is $500,000. Hoefert Estates argued the calculated its rights differently. The total for the Estates under that argument would be $550,000 taking into account the fact that there are two UIM coverages involved in the case.
South Dakota’s statute authorizing payment of underinsured motorist damages that are uncompensated and the provisions of the insureds’ De Smet policy. Because Hallmark and National together compensated the Estates in the amount of $100,000, De Smet is responsible for only $400,000 under the statute and its policy with the Hoeferts.
ZALMA OPINION
There was no question that the various insurers owed money to the estates. They deposited into court the amounts they believed was owed under the terms of the policy and the statutes of the state of South Dakota. The court read all the policies applied their terms and South Dakota statutory law and concluded that the policies must be enforced as they were written and the estates were only entitled to the highest limit of Underinsured Motorist Coverage available, $500,000.00.
(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808
Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01
Go to X @bzalma; Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – http://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g
Go to X @bzalma; go to videos at Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/gV9QJYH; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYkxD.
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
No Breach of Contract no Bad Faith
Post 4568
Posted on October 23, 2026 by Barry Zalma
A Party Cannot Designate One Witness While Submitting An Undifferentiated Product Of That Witness And An Undesignated Collaborator.
Post 4568
In Dustin Cain; Amanda Cain v. State Farm Fire and Casualty Company, No. 25-60442, United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit (October 16, 2026) Dustin and Amanda Cain sought homeowners’ insurance benefits after a tree fell on their Mississippi home on August 27, 2022. State Farm concluded that the tree caused only a roof puncture and that other damage resulted from excluded long-term conditions. It paid $10,042.90 and later an additional $3,130.08.
The Cains relied on an engineering report and contractor estimate asserting substantially greater damage, sued for breach of contract and related relief, and designated Sean Fee as their sole expert. Fee’s report and a later repair estimate were jointly authored with Jim Irmiter, but neither document identified which opinions, work, or ...
Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection
Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma
John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection
BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD
Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”
In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)
The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
THE LAW
Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.
THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...
Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers
Post 4866
Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.
After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.
Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.
Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...