CONCURRENT CAUSE REQUIRES SEGREGATION OF COVERED FROM NON COVERED LOSSES
Barry Zalma
Jan 10, 2024
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gvpEHXi4 and sSee the full video at https://lnkd.in/gW5GBZpN and at https://lnkd.in/gsb8vKER and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4700 posts.
Post 4707
Landmark Partners, Inc. (Landmark) sued Western World Insurance (Insurance) after it denied Landmark’s claim under an insurance policy. Landmark asserted claims for breach of contract, statutory violations, breach of common-law duties, and attorney’s fees and statutory interest. Relying in part on the testimony of Landmark’s own expert, Insurance moved for summary judgment on the ground that the concurrent causation doctrine defeated Landmark’s contractual claim, which in turn defeated Landmark’s other claims. The trial court granted summary judgment for Insurance, and Landmark appealed.
In Landmark Partners, Inc. v. Western World Insurance, No. 02-23-00116-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Second District, Fort Worth (December 28, 2023) the Court of Appeals applied the concurrent cause doctrine to resolve the dispute.
BACKGROUND
Landmark’s policy with Insurance covered damage to Landmark’s commercial property, but only for damage that commenced during the policy period, which began on February 4, 2020. The policy included coverage for hail and wind damage but no coverage for rain damage to the property’s interior unless the rain entered the building through damage caused by a covered event. After a storm on May 7, 2020, Landmark filed a claim with Insurance, requesting that Insurance provide coverage for damage to Landmark’s building, which Landmark alleged had been caused by the storm.
Insurance sent a contract field adjuster to inspect the property. That adjuster reported no signs of hail damage on the property’s roofing materials. Landmark hired a public adjuster who disagreed and put in proof for more than one million. Insurance then retained an engineer, Jarrod Burns, who did find some hail damage, particularly to some mechanical units on the roof, but he determined that the damage had been caused before the policy took effect. Insurance denied the claim.
Landmark sued Insurance for failing to provide coverage.
Insurance filed a motion for summary judgment based on the concurrent causation doctrine, which applies “when covered and excluded events combine to cause an insured’s loss.” If both covered and uncovered events combine to cause a loss, and the covered and uncovered events are inseparable, then causation is concurrent, the insurance policy’s exclusion applies, and the insurer owes no coverage for the loss.
Covered damage to the property could not be segregated from non-covered damage. The trial court signed a final judgment granting summary judgment for Insurance. Landmark appealed.
DISCUSSION
Because an insurer has no obligation to pay for damage caused by an event not covered under the policy, if covered and non-covered events combine to cause the damage, the insured must segregate between the damage attributable to the covered event and the damage attributable to other causes. Thus, Landmark would have to show at trial one of three circumstances:
1 that the damage had only one cause, which was covered by the policy;
2 that the damage had multiple independent causes, one of which was covered; or
3 although covered and non-covered events combined to cause the damage, Landmark had segregated between the covered damage and non-covered damage.
Landmark had the burden to show that the damage for which it sought coverage resulted from the May 2020 storm or another covered event. If Insurance’s summary judgment evidence established as a matter of law that segregation was impossible, Insurance was entitled to judgment unless Landmark responded with evidence raising a fact issue.
Because Insurance’s summary judgment evidence established that any damage caused by the May 2020 storm could not be segregated from the damage caused by previous storms that were not covered, Insurance demonstrated that it had no obligation to pay under the policy, thereby negating Landmark’s breach-of-contract claim.
Landmark failed to segregate between covered and non-covered damage or even raise the possibility that segregation could be done. Even under Landmark’s evidence, the covered and non-covered causes of property damage could not be separated.
Because Landmark’s evidence did not raise a fact issue sufficient to defeat summary judgment on Landmark’s contract claim, the Court of Appeal found no breach of contract.
EXTRACONTRACTUAL CLAIMS
In addition to its contract claim, Landmark alleged violations of Texas Insurance and breach of the common law duty of good faith and fair dealing in the context of processing and payment of insurance claims.
The Texas Supreme Court has explained, an insured cannot recover any damages based on an insurer’s statutory violation unless the insured establishes a right to receive benefits under the policy or an injury independent of a right to benefits.
As for Landmark’s common-law bad-faith claim, that, too, was negated by the summary judgment evidence.
Having overruled Landmark’s five issues, the Court of Appeals affirmed the trial court’s judgment.
ZALMA OPINION
Without a right to the benefits of a policy of insurance there can be no right to bad faith tort damages. Landmark failed to establish a right to the benefits of the contract of insurance because it could not segregate covered damages from damages that preceded the policy. No coverage no right to claim bad faith damages for improper claims handling.
(c) 2024 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808
Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01
Go to X @bzalma; Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – http://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Go to X @bzalma; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/gV9QJYH; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://lnkd.in/g2hGv88; Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g;
Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYkxD.
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Administrative Review Permits the Agency to Apply its Expertise
Post 4574
In Erwin Jordan Castro Valdez v. Warden, Otay Mesa Detention Center, No. 26-cv-06147-BAS-JLB, United States District Court, S.D. California (October 30, 2026) Castro Valdez, a Cuban national paroled into the United States, was arrested on June 23, 2026, for alleged insurance fraud, grand theft, and making a false report to law enforcement. In his first habeas action, the district court ordered a bond hearing within fourteen days to determine whether the changed circumstances justified revoking his parole.
An Immigration Judge subsequently denied bond because of his pending state criminal case. Castro Valdez filed a second petition under 28 U.S.C. § 2241, challenging that determination and requesting immediate release without first appealing to the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA).
LAW
According to the supplied text, § 2241 does not expressly require administrative exhaustion, but courts impose exhaustion as a prudential requirement. ...
Insured’s Ordered to Pay Insurer for Fraud by the Insureds
Post 4573
Posted on November 3, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In The Prudential Insurance Company Of America v. Carol Gardina and George Gardina, No. 6:23-cv-1125-JSS-DCI, United States District Court, M.D. Florida, Orlando Division (October 22, 2026).
THE JURY TRIAL AND VERDICT
Plaintiff sued Defendants for numerous causes of action stemming from its allegations that Defendants fraudulently collected benefits under their long-term care insurance policies. Plaintiff's case proceeded to a nine-day jury trial, after which the jury found Defendants liable for fraudulent misrepresentation, fraudulent concealment, and civil conspiracy.
The jury also found Defendant Carol Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $1,930,129 in compensatory damages and Defendant George Gardina liable to Plaintiff for $12,496 in compensatory damages and $20 in punitive damages. Thereafter, the court entered judgment in Plaintiff's favor and awarded Plaintiff $1,930,129 in compensatory damages from...
ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 21
Posted on November 2, 2026 by Barry Zalma
THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud. ZIFL is published 24 times a year by ClaimSchool and is written by Barry Zalma. It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at http://zalma.com/zalmas-insurance-fraud-letter-2/
DOJ, ATF, Law Enforcement Partners Conclude Operation Show Me Justice
435 Dangerous Offenders Arrested, 166 Illegal Firearms Seized, 81 Kg Illicit Drugs off the streets in St. Louis
The Department of Justice, BATF, U.S. Marshals Service (USMS), US Attorney Missouri announced the ...