Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
December 29, 2023
Clear Policy Exclusion Defeats Claim

Policy only Applies to Risks Taken by Insurer

Barry Zalma
Dec 29, 2023

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gumUgqus, see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gCtC5Zd9 and at https://lnkd.in/gZTAm7qx and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4699 posts.

See the full video at https://rumble.com/v43u8ht-clear-policy-exclusion-defeats... and at

In multiple consolidated actions appealed the Judgment granting the Motion for Summary Judgment in favor of defendant, The Burlington Insurance Company ("TBIC" ) based upon a clear and unambiguous exclusion.

In Cameron Soule v. Woodward Design + Build, LLC, et. al., Nos. 2022-CA-0352, 2022-CA-0353, 2022-CA-0354, 2022-CA-0355, 2022-CA-0356, Court of Appeals of Louisiana, Fourth Circuit (December 21, 2023) Louisiana resolved the dispute.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

After a July 28, 2017, accident at the Standard Condominium construction project ("Project" ), when a construction elevator/hoist fell, injuring several workers, including multiple plaintiffs. As required by the owner of the Project, Woodward obtained a Contractor Controlled Insurance Program ("CCIP" ) policy or "Wrap-Up" policy from Houston Casualty Company ("HCC" ) for the insurance on the Project.

Eagle's Subcontract with Woodward provided that Eagle agreed to "furnish all labor, equipment, miscellaneous materials, and supervision for MAN/MATERIAL HOIST ERECTION & DISMANTLE," including "[p]reventative maintenance for 12-month rental period." Regarding insurance, Eagle's Subcontract stated, in pertinent part, that Woodward "has arranged for the Project to be insured under a controlled insurance program (the "CCIP" or "Wrap-Up" )."

In connection with the accident, plaintiffs filed suit against various parties and TBIC, Eagle's own commercial general liability ("CGL" ) insurer.

TBIC denied coverage for Eagle, maintaining that its CGL policy contained a"Wrap-Up Exclusion" which precluded coverage to Eagle for all claims arising from the Project. The Wrap-Up Exclusion provided, in pertinent part, that coverage is excluded in "[a]ll locations where you perform or have performed work that is or was to be insured under a consolidated (wrap-up) insurance program as described below." (Emphasis added).

On April 24, 2017, the Administrator sent a letter advising Eagle that it was not covered "under the General Liability Contractor Controlled Insurance Program for the trade of Hoist Rental and Service - the Standard Project."

TBIC maintained that the CCIP policy was intended to cover Eagle under two distinct provisions: 1) as a lessor of equipment under the above mentioned "Additional Insured" endorsement; and 2) as an enrolled contractor, (for Eagle's work pursuant to the Subcontract to erect, dismantle, and provide preventative maintenance for the hoist) under the Wrap-Up endorsement. The latter endorsement provided that Woodward's "enrolled contractors" are insured "only while performing duties related to the project."
Interpretation of Insurance Contracts

An insurance policy is a contract between the parties and should be construed using the general rules of interpretation of contracts set forth in the Civil Code. The judicial responsibility in interpreting insurance contracts is to determine the parties' common intent.

An insurance policy should not be interpreted in an unreasonable or a strained manner so as to enlarge or to restrict its provisions beyond what is reasonably contemplated by its terms or so as to achieve an absurd conclusion.

If after applying the other general rules of construction an ambiguity remains, the ambiguous contractual provision is to be construed against the insurer and in favor of coverage. Under this rule of strict construction, equivocal provisions seeking to narrow an insurer's obligation are strictly construed against the insurer.

ANALYSIS

Woodward's Subcontract with Eagle specifically provides that Woodward arranged for the Project to be insured under the CCIP policy to provide coverage for Eagle's work at the Project site. The CCIP policy was issued by HCC. Notwithstanding the reason why Eagle was ultimately not enrolled, the record demonstrates that Eagle was clearly performing work on the Project that was to be insured under the CCIP policy. Moreover, the plain language of the Wrap-Up Exclusion stated that coverage for Eagle is excluded in "[a]ll locations where you perform or have performed work that is or was to be insured under a consolidated (wrap-up) insurance program . . ."

The TBIC policy Wrap-Up Exclusion clearly and unambiguously precludes coverage for Eagle's work on the Project. Accordingly, the Wrap-Up Exclusion must be enforced as written.

ZALMA OPINION

Courts are required to read the entire policy at issue and interpret the policy as its wording relates to the facts of the incident that resulted in bodily injury to the plaintiffs. The court did so and ignored the creative, yet unconvincing, arguments made by the plaintiffs. The policy excluded the incident.

(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01

Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg;

Go to the Insurance Claims Library – http://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.

00:08:41
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
11 hours ago
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES Post 4868 In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insura

Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations

Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4868

CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES

In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.

Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).

She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.

THE LAW

Pleading Standard.

To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...

post photo preview
October 16, 2026

Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs

Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs

Post 4867

In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND

Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.

Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...

post photo preview
October 15, 2026
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter – October 15, 2026

ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM

Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma

THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL

Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.

ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.

It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.

Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme

Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.

RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered

Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals