Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
December 22, 2023
Where There is a Will – There are Relatives

Named Beneficiary Must be Paid Death Benefit

Barry Zalma
Dec 22, 2023

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/g7V-HV_v and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/g25Q8_3C and at https://lnkd.in/gt_VGTb6 and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4690 posts.

Della Lopez, Fred Lopez, Shella Gill, and Paul Imrie (collectively “Plaintiffs”) appealed from the trial court’s Order, arguing the trial court erred by granting summary judgment in favor of The Prudential Insurance Company of America (“Prudential”) and abused its discretion by denying Plaintiffs’ Motion to Compel.

In Della Lopez, Fred Lopez, Shella Gill and Paul Imrie v. The Prudential Insurance Company Of America, No. COA23-427, Court of Appeals of North Carolina (December 19, 2023) the Court of Appeals resolved the dispute of relatives of a decedent’s fight over life insurance benefits.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Following her husband’s death, Sherry elected to purchase a Policy from Prudential and continued to make the premium payments. To effectuate purchase of the Policy, Sherry completed and signed an Optional Group Universal Life Enrollment Form (the “Beneficiary Designation”) on 25 April 2007, naming her half-sister, Diana Imrie (“Diana”), as her sole beneficiary and Diana’s children as contingent beneficiaries.

After her husband’s death in 2007, Sherry moved in with Diana and her then-husband Paul Imrie (“Paul”) in North Carolina. Diana and Paul divorced in December 2014, and Sherry continued to live with Diana in North Carolina until March 2016.

Sherry believed Diana took the money because Diana was a joint signatory on the account and had access to the funds. Following this discovery, Sherry wanted to cancel the Policy with Prudential because she could no longer make the monthly payments, and “Diana was the sole beneficiary.”

The Prudential representative advised Della she would send a “Cancel Coverage Form” via email. Della did not complete and return this form. Without the return of this form, the cancellation of the Policy did not go into effect.

In 2016, Sherry attempted to commit suicide by overdosing on her heart medication. On 22 March 2016, Sherry died due to complications from her suicide attempt.

On 10 May 2016, Diana emailed Prudential with a copy of the Beneficiary Designation form Sherry had signed in April 2007. After Prudential received the Beneficiary Designation from Diana Prudential was asked to verify whether the Beneficiary Designation should be accepted by Prudential. Prudential paid Diana $54,000, the full amount of the Policy.

On 5 May 2017, after Paul and Della emailed Prudential alleging Diana was aware the Policy had been canceled and therefore fraudulently claimed she was the beneficiary of the purportedly canceled Policy. As a result of Paul and Della’s multiple emails and the transcription of the cancelation call, the matter was referred to Prudential’s Corporate Investigations Division (“CID”).

CID Investigator Peter Friscia (“Friscia”) was assigned to investigate any alleged fraud regarding the payment of the Policy to Diana and the cancelation call made by Della. Following interviews with Della, Paul, and Diana, Friscia concluded there was no evidence to substantiate any fraud by Diana, but Della’s impersonation of Sherry did constitute fraud.

Based on Friscia’s report, Prudential referred the case to the Georgia Department of Insurance (the “GDOI”) for further investigation. Prudential’s referral stated that Della was suspected of committing insurance fraud due to her impersonation of Sherry on the cancellation call. The referral further stated Paul “aided and abetted” Della in her attempt to cancel the Policy.

Plaintiffs filed a Complaint in Gaston County District Court requesting a declaratory judgment as to their rights under the Policy. In the Complaint, the Sibling-Plaintiffs alleged Prudential was required to pay out the Policy to the surviving siblings in equal shares, and the payout to Diana was wrongful because she was not the beneficiary on file.

On 21 December 2022, Judge Bell granted both of Prudential’s partial motions for summary judgment.

ANALYSIS

First, the Sibling-Plaintiffs argued that the trial court erred but there was no uncertainty as to the respective legal rights of the parties in the Policy. The evidence in the Record showed Diana submitted a Beneficiary Designation, signed by Sherry, noting Diana as the sole beneficiary of the Policy. Prudential confirmed the information in the Beneficiary Designation and concluded the claim by Diana was valid.

Moreover, the Sibling-Plaintiffs’ own evidence shows they likewise believed Diana was the beneficiary of the Policy.

The Sibling-Plaintiffs have failed because the evidence shows Diana was the beneficiary of the Policy and the judgment was affirmed.

ZALMA OPINION

Because the decedent had fallen out with her sister and wanted to cancel the policy to keep her from benefiting from the decedent’s death, she asked her other sister to cancel the policy. The sister failed to do so and the person the decedent did not want to receive the benefits of the policy got the money. The rest of the family tried to make the decedent’s wishes be honored but could not do so because of the incompetence of the attempt to cancel the policy. Relatives should never get involved in the life insurance held by others.

(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01

Follow me on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all...

Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – http://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g

Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/gV9QJYH; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYkxD.

00:09:13
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
20 hours ago
Supervisory Officials are not Individually Liable

Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers

Post 4866

Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.

After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.

Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.

Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...

post photo preview
October 19, 2026
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES Post 4868 In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insura

Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations

Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4868

CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES

In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.

Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).

She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.

THE LAW

Pleading Standard.

To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...

post photo preview
October 20, 2026
Suit Must be Ripe When Filed

A Suit Filed Before the Claim Exists is Fatal

Post 4870

Posted on October 20, 2026 by Barry Zalma

In Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly; Somerset Services, Inc.; And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC, and Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC Nos. 2024-CA-1471-MR, 2025-CA-1366-MR, Court of Appeals of Kentucky (October 9, 2026) Louis Briggs was arrested in 2014 after an incident with police and charged with several offenses, including third-degree assault.

Probable cause was found and an indictment was returned, but the charges were eventually dismissed. His attorney, Shaun Wimberly, then filed a federal civil rights suit for Briggs in a United States district court, which also asserted state-law claims. The district court dismissed most of the claims and declined to exercise jurisdiction over the remaining state-law claims. Briggs blamed Wimberly for the result, fired him, and appealed to the Sixth Circuit.

While the federal appeal was pending, Briggs filed a legal malpractice action against Wimberly in the Jefferson Circuit Court. The Sixth ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals