Zalma on Insurance
Education • Business
Insurance Claims professional presents articles and videos on insurance, insurance Claims and insurance law for insurance Claims adjusters, insurance professionals and insurance lawyers who wish to improve their skills and knowledge. Presented by an internationally recognized expert and author.
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
December 07, 2023
Mold Suit Must Be Defended

Equally Fair Interpretation Favors Insured

Barry Zalma
Dec 7, 2023

Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gFKvHgU8 and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gVcWnJ-i and at https://lnkd.in/gwz3avvh and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4650 posts.

WCPP Risk Purchasing Group, Inc. ("WCPP" ) asserted coverage claims under a Commercial General Liability Policy ("Policy" ) issued by Defendant, Lexington Insurance Company, on behalf of Village of Stoney Run, LLC ("Village of Stoney Run" ) seeking defense and indemnity from an insurer who claimed a mold exclusion defeated coverage.

In WCPP Risk Purchasing Group, Inc. v. Lexington Insurance Company, Civil Action No. CAM-L-1025-22, Superior Court of New Jersey, Law Division, Camden (November 29, 2023) the Superior Court resolved the coverage dispute.

BACKGROUND

The Underlying Action alleges negligence, breach of the warranty of habitability, and breach of contract, asserting injury and damage claims against Village of Stoney Run due to toxic fungus/mold infestation in Pratt's apartment. It is asserted that the mold caused the death of Pratt and damaged her personal property.

Plaintiff purchased the Policy on behalf of Village of Stoney Run as part of a joint purchasing group. WCPP is a risk purchasing group for primarily habitation and commercial real property locations.

The Underlying Action was initiated by Brian Pratt and Dawn Pratt ("Underlying Plaintiffs" ), the co-administrators of the Estate of Darlene Pratt ("Decedent" ) against the Village of Stoney Run, an apartment complex owned by a Bleznak Organization. As part of the action, Underlying Plaintiffs asserted claims of negligence, breach of warranty, and breach of contract arising out of allegations that Plaintiff failed to properly maintain and repair Decedent's apartment at the Village of Stoney Run, resulting in dangerous living conditions, including mold.

Suit in the underlying action was forwarded to Lexington Insurance Company. AIG Claims, Inc. issued a disclaimer of coverage on behalf of AIG Property Casualty, Inc. That policy of insurance disclaimed coverage based upon the fungus/mold exclusion contained in the insurance policy.

ANALYSIS

The court must enforce the clear and unambiguous terms of the policy of insurance. A policy of insurance is ambiguous only where reasonably intelligent persons would differ regarding its meaning. The court places the obligation on the insurance carrier to draft clear and unambiguous contracts. Where the policy language will support two interpretations, only one of which will support a finding of coverage, the court will choose the interpretation favoring the insured and find that coverage exists.

Lexington asserts that the policy of insurance contains a mold exclusion which precludes coverage for the claims in the underlying suit.

"Fungus/Mold

"Bodily injury or property damage or any other loss, cost or expense, including, but not limited to losses, costs or expenses related to, arising from or associated with clean-up, remediation, containment, removal or abatement, caused directly or indirectly, in whole or in part, by:

"Any fungus(i), molds(s), mildew or yeast; or Any spore(s) or toxins created or produced by or emanating from such fungus(i), mold(s), mildew or yeast; or Any substance, vapor, gas, or other emission or organic or inorganic body substance produced by or arising out of any fungus(i), mold(s), mildew or yeast; or Any material, product, building component, building or structure, or any concentration of moisture, water or other liquid within such material, product, building component, building or structure, that contains, harbors, nurtures or acts as a medium for any fungus(i), mold(s), mildew, yeast or spore(s) or toxins emanating therefrom; regardless of any other cause, event, material, product and/or building component that contributed concurrently or in any sequence to that bodily injury or property damage, loss, cost or expense."

The claims in this case arose from water leaks which resulted in the conditions about which plaintiffs decedent in the underlying complaint bases the cause of action. The court concluded that the interpretation of the mold exclusion by plaintiff that the loss was due to the water leaking, not mold per se, is equally reasonable to that interpretation of the defendant insurers.

Under the circumstances it is the interpretation most favorable to the insured which controls. Accordingly, the court concluded that coverage exists for the exposure to mold as a result of water leakage.

ZALMA OPINION

Courts interpret insurance contracts differently than other contracts. If a court finds an ambiguity or, as here, an interpretation of an exclusion by the insured and the insurer are equally reasonable, the interpretation of the insured will be enforced. Paraphrasing George Orwell in his novel Animal Farm, all litigants are equal, some - the insured suing an insurer - are more equal than the insurer.
(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

Subscribe to my substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808

Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01

Follow me on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all...

Daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.

Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – http://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.

Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.

https://lnkd.in/g4Uj5A3Y; Subscribe at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/gV9QJYH; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYkxD.

00:08:19
Interested? Want to learn more about the community?
What else you may like…
Videos
Posts
September 18, 2026
Expert May Only Testify to What Experience Supports

Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.

Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html

In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.

The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.

Law

The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...

00:03:10
September 17, 2026
Convicted on 29 Tax-Refund-Fraud Counts

150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846

Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.

FACTS

In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS

Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.

The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...

00:05:23
September 14, 2026
Court Enforces Fifth Amendment & Refuses to Compel Answers

Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution

Post 5489

Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud

See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr

In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.

Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.

After Great American ...

00:05:14
11 hours ago
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES Post 4868 In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insura

Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations

Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma

Post 4868

CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES

In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.

Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).

She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.

THE LAW

Pleading Standard.

To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...

post photo preview
October 16, 2026

Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs

Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma

To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs

Post 4867

In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND

Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.

Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...

post photo preview
October 15, 2026
Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter – October 15, 2026

ZIFL – Volume 30, Issue 20 Subscribe to ZIFL here https://lnkd.in/gfpn78FM

Posted on October 15, 2026 by Barry Zalma

THE SOURCE FOR THE INSURANCE FRAUD PROFESSIONAL

Zalma’s Insurance Fraud Letter (ZIFL) continues its 30th year of publication dedicated to those involved in reducing the effect of insurance fraud.

ZIFL is published 24 times a year is written by Barry Zalma.

It is provided FREE to anyone who visits the site at https://lnkd.in/gVT5G9s

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America. Obamacare has been a magnet for scammers.

Florida Insurance Agent Pleads Guilty in $300,000 Premium Finance Scheme

Daniel Raney, 41, who managed Raney Insurance and Raney Ventures in Pensacola, was arrested after AFCO Direct.

RIFE WITH FRAUD ALLOWS DEMANDS TO ESTABLISH RESTITUTION

Six Insane Fraud Schemes the Trump Administration Has Uncovered

Stealing from the taxpayer has now become a multi-billion-dollar industry in America – and the ...

post photo preview
See More
Available on mobile and TV devices
google store google store app store app store
google store google store app tv store app tv store amazon store amazon store roku store roku store
Powered by Locals