Contractor Needs Permission of Insurer to be Protected by an Owner-Controlled Insurance Program
Barry Zalma
Dec 5, 2023
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/gZ2xYD6Y and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gFy66VSy and at https://lnkd.in/gxPdArVA and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4650 posts.
Team Industrial Services, Inc. (Team) found it had incurred a $222 million judgment against it in a wrongful-death lawsuit arising out of a steam-turbine failure in June 2018 at a Westar Energy, Inc. (Westar) power plant. Team sought indemnity for the judgment from Westar, Zurich American Insurance Company (Zurich), and two other insurance companies, arguing that it was, or should have been, provided protection by Westar’s Owner-Controlled Insurance Program (OCIP) through insurance policies issued by Zurich and the two other insurers.
In Team Industrial Services, Inc. v. Zurich American Insurance Company; Westar Energy, Inc.; Endurance American Insurance Company; Westchester Fire Insurance Company, and Kelli Most, individually and as personal representative of the estate of Jesse Henson; Cecilia Henson; Dorian Henson, No. 22-3275, United States Court of Appeals, Tenth Circuit (November 29, 2023) resolved the dispute acknowledging that Team’s arguments were well reasoned and creative.
BACKGROUND
In 2010 Westar entered into separate Master Services Agreements (MSAs) with Furmanite and Team to perform work at the Westar power plant and other sites. Team was to perform “pre-heat and stress relieving” services and Furmanite was to perform “valve maintenance” services. Both MSAs state that Furmanite and Team are independent contractors required to procure their own liability insurance and to name Westar as an additional insured on the policies. They both also state that “Contractor shall not assign or transfer any of its rights or obligations . . . under this Contract without previous written consent of [Westar] which consent shall not unreasonably be withheld.” (emphasis added)
In 2013 Westar instituted its OCIP, through which contractors and subcontractors could obtain insurance protection for work performed at covered locations. Westar had discretion to decide which contractors would be eligible to enroll in the OCIP. Eligible contractors had to complete enrollment forms to be considered for participation. During the time relevant to this dispute, insurance was provided by a Zurich policy, whose premiums were paid by Westar. According to Zurich’s policy, an enrolled contractor’s “rights and duties under this policy may not be transferred without [Zurich’s] written consent.” (emphasis added)
With permission from Westar, Furmanite submitted an application seeking enrollment in the OCIP and was enrolled in 2013. Furmanite was required to report payroll hours for each month to the broker, Aon. The payroll hours reported to Aon were used by Zurich to calculate the premium to be paid by Westar for the relevant policy period.
Westar never made Team eligible to enroll in the OCIP. Team never submitted an enrollment application, and it was never enrolled. Team’s parent company acquired Furmanite’s parent company.
Although Team and Furmanite became “sister companies,” they were distinct legal entities and never merged. Team assumed Furmanite’s workload at the power plant. Furmanite’s insurance coverage under the Westar OCIP continued even though its service contract had been retired. Furmanite’s coverage continued, even after it perhaps should have ended.
Team argued to the District Court that it inherited Furmanite’s coverage under the OCIP via Change Order No. 2 and was therefore insured for the work it performed at the power plant. It also asserted alternative theories including reformation, and the doctrine of promissory estoppel against Westar and Zurich.
The District Court ruled that Change Order No. 2 unambiguously retired Furmanite’s MSA and left Team’s MSA as the sole governing document. The court declined to reform the Zurich policy and rejected the promissory-estoppel, breach-of-contract, and breach-of-fiduciary-duty claims.
DISCUSSION
Team ignored that the enrollment in Westar’s OCIP was not automatic. Westar alone could designate which contractors were eligible, and eligible contractors must apply to enroll in the program, and then be accepted by Westar, in order to receive coverage. Also, under the express terms of the Zurich insurance policy, coverage cannot be transferred without Zurich’s consent. Since Team never enrolled nor was it even invited to enroll in Westar’s OCIP, nor did Zurich ever give written approval to a transfer of coverage from Furmanite to Team, coverage did not exist.
The Change Order did not contain a mention of insurance coverage or the OCIP. There is no ambiguity in the language of the change order from which one could infer that Team would thereafter be provided insurance coverage through the Westar OCIP or otherwise. It was clear to the Tenth Circuit that the notice is to go only to contractors already covered by the OCIP, not contractors-like Team-who are not enrolled in the program. In sum, no contractual promise, nor even a hint or suggestion by Westar or Zurich entitled Team to coverage under the OCIP.
Since Zurich was necessarily one of the parties to the insurance contract, reformation would require proof that Zurich intended to insure Team. Team provided no argument, much less evidence, that Zurich intended to name Team as an insured.
The Zurich policy explicitly protects Zurich from such claims by requiring any transfer of coverage to be approved by Zurich in writing.
Finally, Team raises a perfunctory claim of promissory estoppel. Since there was no allegation that Westar knew about the reporting it could hardly have expected to induce Team’s reliance. Nor was there any evidence of a promise by Zurich to provide insurance coverage to Team.
The Tenth Circuit affirmed the judgment.
ZALMA OPINION
When Team’s parent company acquired Furmanites parent company and took over the work originally done by Furmanite it assumed that it was covered under the OCIP but did nothing to confirm the fact, proving that breaking he word “assume” up into its component part and will cost Team $222 million. Insurance, even a contract as complex as an OCIP, must be fulfilled and to gain the coverage Westar needed to allow them to apply, Team needed to file an application with Zurich and Zurich had to agree. None of those things happened and Team had no coverage.
(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to Excellence in Claims Handling at locals.com at https://zalmaoninsurance.locals.com/subscribe or at substack at https://barryzalma.substack.com/publish/post/107007808
Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01
Follow me on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all...
Daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.
Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – http://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to substack at https://lnkd.in/gcZKhG6g; Go to Rumble videorhttps://lnkd.in/gV9QJYH; Go to ewsbreak.com https://lnkd.in/g8azKc34; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – https://lnkd.in/gwEYkxD.
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
A Suit Filed Before the Claim Exists is Fatal
Post 4870
Posted on October 20, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly; Somerset Services, Inc.; And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC, and Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC Nos. 2024-CA-1471-MR, 2025-CA-1366-MR, Court of Appeals of Kentucky (October 9, 2026) Louis Briggs was arrested in 2014 after an incident with police and charged with several offenses, including third-degree assault.
Probable cause was found and an indictment was returned, but the charges were eventually dismissed. His attorney, Shaun Wimberly, then filed a federal civil rights suit for Briggs in a United States district court, which also asserted state-law claims. The district court dismissed most of the claims and declined to exercise jurisdiction over the remaining state-law claims. Briggs blamed Wimberly for the result, fired him, and appealed to the Sixth Circuit.
While the federal appeal was pending, Briggs filed a legal malpractice action against Wimberly in the Jefferson Circuit Court. The Sixth ...
Plaintiff’s Reading of the Policy is Plaintiff’s Reasonable Allegations
Posted on October 19, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Post 4868
CLASS ACTION THAT STATES A SIMPLE CLEAR AND PLAUSIBLE CAUSE OF ACTION SURVIVES
In Sheila Marino v. Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, No. 2:25-cv-02200-JNW, United States District Court, W.D. Washington, Seattle (October 13, 2026) defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company’s (“FNWL”) moved to dismiss Plaintiff Sheila Marino’s putative class action involving flexible universal life insurance.
Marino filed a putative class action in King County Superior Court alleging: (1) breach of contract, (2) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) violation of the Washington Consumer Protection Act (CPA).
She pleaded two theories: an “overcharge” theory and an “underpayment of interest” theory asked the Court to take judicial notice of historical Federal Funds Effective Rates.
THE LAW
Pleading Standard.
To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a ...
Alleged Defamatory Statements Must be Of and Concerning Plaintiffs
Posted on October 16, 2026 by Barry Zalma
To Prove Defamation the Statement Must be Of and Concerning the Plaintiffs
Post 4867
In Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu v. United Services Automobile Association, No. 04-25-00519-CV, Court of Appeals of Texas, Fourth District, San Antonio (October 14, 2026) Michael Moloney and Sergio Cantu appealed from the trial court’s granting of a traditional motion for summary judgment in favor of United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) on their defamation claim.
BACKGROUND
Moloney and Cantu sued USAA for defamation, alleging that they are the principals of Informed Roofing & Restoration, LLC (“Informed Roofing”), which is primarily engaged in the residential roofing repair and replacement business, and that an employee or agent of USAA had made false and defamatory statements to the San Antonio Police Department (“SAPD”) concerning them.
Specifically, Moloney and Cantu alleged that an employee of ...