After Paying the Insured More than $637,000 he Sues for More
Barry Zalma
Nov 21, 2023
Read the full article at https://lnkd.in/g-Fbdjn4 and see the full video at https://lnkd.in/gxJwm8Fn and at https://lnkd.in/gHemiJGD and at https://zalma.com/blog plus more than 4650 posts.
Vahagun Safarian appealed from the judgment entered after the trial court granted the summary judgment motion filed by Fire Insurance Exchange (Fire). Safarian sued Fire for breach of contract and related claims after Fire denied in part Safarian's claim for coverage under his homeowner's insurance policy for damage to the foundation of his home resulting from a burst pipe that flooded the soil around the home.
In Vahagun Safarian v. Fire Insurance Exchange, B323862, California Court of Appeals, Second District, Seventh Division (November 14, 2023) Safarian asked the Court of Appeals to provide coverage for damages over the almost $700,000 received for damages due to a water line break and water damages.
FACTUAL BACKGROUND
Fire issued Safarian homeowner's insurance policy effective from June 13, 2017 through June 13, 2018 (Policy). The insured property was Safarian's three-level hillside home on Sunset Drive in Los Angeles (Property).
Paragraph 12, states, "We do not insure loss or damage consisting of, composed of or which is the movement, settling, cracking, bulging, shrinking, heaving, or expanding of any part of covered property, whether natural or otherwise .... [¶] [This] includes by way of example but not limited to foundations, foundation fill material, foundation piers, foundation beams, slabs, pads, patios, walls, floors."
The policy also provided that "This water exclusion applies even if water combines or contributes in any way with any other excluded cause of loss or damage hereunder to cause loss or damage..." And the policy at paragraph (f) specifically excludes foundation damage.
PROPERTY DAMAGE, CLAIM, AND LAWSUIT
Water flooded the exterior of the Property as well. Safarian submitted a claim to Fire for water damage to the Property. Fire ultimately paid Safarian $637,999 in policy benefits, including $313,371 for damage to the Property, with the remainder for damage to personal property and loss of use.
Safarian hired William Musakhanyan, a licensed public adjuster, to handle his claim. Musakhanyan notified Hodson that the Property may have sustained foundation damage as a result of the plumbing breach. On March 12, 2018 a structural engineer retained by Safarian reported, "The water leak also appears to have caused fill soils in the crawl [space] . . . to settle," which in turn caused interior floor tiles to separate and an exterior foundation wall to develop cracks. Musakhanyan transmitted the engineer's report to Hodson, who on April 10 responded by email, "Per our conversation-as you know, Earth movement is not covered."
Fire denied Safarian's claim for foundation damage. Safarian sued .
FIRE'S MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT
Fire argued it paid all covered damages and therefore did not breach the Policy. The trial court found the language of the Policy was undisputed and the trial court found that Safarian failed to meet his burden to prove Fire intentionally relinquished its right to invoke the paragraph (f) foundation damage exclusion, and he could not meet this burden based only on Fire's denial of coverage in light of Fire's reservation of rights in the denial letter. Finally, the court found that because there was no breach of contract, Fire was entitled to summary judgment as to the entire action.
DISCUSSION
In general, interpretation of an insurance policy is a question of law that is decided under settled rules of contract interpretation. The insured has the burden of establishing that a claim, unless specifically excluded, is within basic coverage, while the insurer has the burden of establishing that a specific exclusion applies.
On appeal, Safarian contended the water coverage extension provided coverage for any damage to the Property resulting from a plumbing breach, regardless of whether the damage was an uninsured loss under the Policy's general terms. The Court of Appeal agreed with the trial court that foundation damage is not a covered loss under the Policy, regardless of the cause, and Fire was entitled to judgment as a matter of law.
The dispositive issue here was not, as argued by Safarian, the convergence of a covered peril (flooding from the burst pipe) and an excluded peril (earth movement, water, soil conditions, and settling) because the purported covered peril is not covered at all. The water damage extension for a burst pipe itself has an exclusion in paragraph (f) for foundation damage. Thus, neither peril provides coverage.
Safarian contended that Fire waived its right to enforce the paragraph (f) foundation damage exclusion by failing to assert it during the adjustment of his claim. Waiver is not established merely by evidence that the insurer failed to specify the exclusion in a letter reserving rights. Safarian did not present evidence that Fire intentionally relinquished its right to assert the paragraph (f) foundation damage exclusion. Fire was free to develop one defense without impliedly waiving another.
ZALMA OPINION
No insurance policy covers every possible risk of loss. Fire found coverage for the damage done by the burst pipe and paid the insured what he agreed to concerning damage to the structure and his contents for more than $670,000. He then sought payment for damages due to settlement of the structure and its foundation that was clearly and unambiguously excluded by trying to create coverage without a basis in the policy or in the facts of the claims handling.
(c) 2023 Barry Zalma & ClaimSchool, Inc.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Go to Newsbreak.com https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/1653419?s=01
Follow me on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/comm/mynetwork/discovery-see-all...
Daily articles are published at https://zalma.substack.com.
Go to the podcast Zalma On Insurance at https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/barry-zalma/support; Go to Barry Zalma videos at Rumble.com at https://rumble.com/c/c-262921; Go to Barry Zalma on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCysiZklEtxZsSF9DfC0Expg; Go to the Insurance Claims Library – http://zalma.com/blog/insurance-claims-library.
Please tell your friends and colleagues about this blog and the videos and let them subscribe to the blog and the videos.
Subscribe to my substack at https://lnkd.in/gcDhsSJ8 videos at Rumble.com at https://lnkd.in/gV9QJYH
Insurance Expert May Not Testify to Speculative and Contains Unsupported Conclusions.
Posted on September 18, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at and at https://rumble.com/v7fmifw-expert-may-only-testify-to-what-experience-supports.html
In Michele A. Over, and The Estate Of Paul R. Over v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, and State Farm Fire And Casualty Company, Civil Action No. 23-cv-02243-PAB-STV, United States District Court, D. Colorado (September 14, 2026) Michele and Paul Over sued State Farm Fire and State Farm Auto over hail-damage and stolen-vehicle claims.
The operative dispute concerned State Farm Auto’s motion to exclude or limit opinions from plaintiffs’ insurance-industry expert, Aaron Castillo. Castillo.
Law
The proponent of expert testimony must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that an expert is qualified and that the opinions are helpful, sufficiently grounded, and reliably derived and applied. Experience-based opinions must explain how the...
150 Months in Prison for Tax Fraud
Post 4846
Posted on September 17, 2026 by Barry Zalma
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/g8rh3JBX and https://lnkd.in/gmkdy-9C, In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
In United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, United States Of America v. Thomas Addaquay, Nos. 25-10609, 25-10611, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit (September 9, 2026) the Eleventh Circuit affirmed all challenged convictions, the 150-month aggregate sentence, and the challenged $4,123,474.55 restitution award.
FACTS
Thomas Addaquay controlled United Consolidated Accounting and Business Services (UC), nominally a check-cashing business.
The government proved a three-stage tax-refund scheme that converted the resulting refund checks into usable funds through ...
Major Fraud Perpetrator Asserts Fifth Amendment Privilege to Avoid Prosecution
Post 5489
Posted on September 14, 2026 by Barry Zalma
Fraudster Refuses to Answer Questions About His Alleged Fraud
See the full video at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr and at https://lnkd.in/gvicAMDr
In Great American Insurance Co. v. Gemstone Property Management, LLC, et al., No. 23-cv-9100 (LJL), United States District Court, S.D. New York (September 8, 2026) Great American Insurance Company alleged that it was defrauded through a scheme in which Subin Associates, LLP recruited individuals to stage construction-site injuries, arranged unnecessary medical treatment and litigation funding, and pursued fraudulent personal-injury claims.
Luis Manuel Garcia Salcedo, resulted in a $6 million settlement. Non-party Jose Hernandez allegedly worked as an assistant manager at Subin, operated Hernandez Associates, and owned litigation-funding companies that shared office space with Subin and provided services to its clients.
After Great American ...
Blockchain Fraud Detection Loses Protection
Posted on October 22, 2026 by Barry Zalma
John Earl Madden (April 10, 1936 – December 28, 2021) was an American Professional Football Coach and Sports Commentator in the National Football League Seeking Patent & Trademark Protection
BLOCKCHAIN FRAUD
Mr. Madden was more than football. He was working to establish a program called “Fraud Protection Systems, Methods, and Computer Programs for Blockchain Financial Transactions.”
In Ex parte John Madden, Appeal 2026-001497, Application 18/495,506, Technology Center 3600, United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (October 14, 2026)
The Examiner rejected claims several numbered claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
THE LAW
Section 101 makes patentable any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.Laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are implicitly excluded.
THE PATENT TRIAL AND ...
Sovereign Immunity Defeats Suit Against Police Officers
Post 4866
Posted on October 21, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Chad Lightfoot, et al. v. Progressive Direct Insurance Company, et al., Civil Action No. 26-434, United States District Court, E.D. Louisiana (October 9, 2026) Chad Lightfoot was involved in an Orleans Parish automobile accident in 2011 and filed claims with several insurers, including Progressive.
After a related civil dispute, Progressive counsel allegedly submitted a false affidavit stating that Lightfoot had fraudulently received a $50,000 payment. A New Orleans police detective relied on the affidavit to obtain an arrest warrant, and Louisiana State Police Lieutenant Alan Arcana allegedly reported that Lightfoot had received the payment. Lightfoot was arrested in 2015 and charged with theft, insurance fraud, and perjury.
Plaintiffs alleged that no record of the payment existed and that the criminal charges were dismissed on October 15, 2024.
Lightfoot and Geralyn Hawkins filed suit in October 2025 and ...
A Suit Filed Before the Claim Exists is Fatal
Post 4870
Posted on October 20, 2026 by Barry Zalma
In Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly; Somerset Services, Inc.; And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC, and Louis Briggs v. Shaun Wimberly And Wimberly & Associates, PLLC Nos. 2024-CA-1471-MR, 2025-CA-1366-MR, Court of Appeals of Kentucky (October 9, 2026) Louis Briggs was arrested in 2014 after an incident with police and charged with several offenses, including third-degree assault.
Probable cause was found and an indictment was returned, but the charges were eventually dismissed. His attorney, Shaun Wimberly, then filed a federal civil rights suit for Briggs in a United States district court, which also asserted state-law claims. The district court dismissed most of the claims and declined to exercise jurisdiction over the remaining state-law claims. Briggs blamed Wimberly for the result, fired him, and appealed to the Sixth Circuit.
While the federal appeal was pending, Briggs filed a legal malpractice action against Wimberly in the Jefferson Circuit Court. The Sixth ...